We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Coleraine(Greymouth)
US$93
US$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paroa Hotel(Greymouth)
US$94
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greymouth Seaside Top 10 Holiday Park(Greymouth)(Great Value!)
US$42
US$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aachen Place Motel(Greymouth)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$64/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Sundowner Motel(Greymouth)
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Apostles View Motel(Greymouth)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveller rating
200
153
27
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
200
153
27
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerthe main roadfree wifirecreation hotelone nightspa bathsmall kitchenettelocal attractionshelpful ownerswould stay here againtown centreroom was spotlessenjoyed our stayguest laundryshort walkgreat roomcomfortable beds
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 386 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2017 via mobile

The Gables Motor Lodge is a small motel not too far from central Greymouth (although a pretty long walk). Luckily it is very near a nice pub/restaurant and a supermarket so no need to go back to town if you are just there for the night. Rooms also have a kitchenette and there is a barbecue for guests' use. Our room was very clean but seemed not to have any air-conditioning. It was quite humid during our stay and it made the room quite uncomfortable. Two other issues - the shower is over a spa-like tub and is quite difficult to get in and out of (you need to be aware of this if you are not so mobile) and the internet connectivity was very poor in our room. There is a guest laundry which is a plus.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Darlene3501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gables84, Owner at Gables Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2017

Hi Darlene, thanks for your review. In response to your issues: (1) As we explained to you when you checked in, our wireless internet modem had “died” and, unfortunately, it was not possible to get a replacement over the holiday weekend. As a temporary measure, we had set up an older wireless modem to give coverage for the motel; (2) In our experience, guests with mobility issues do not usually book a spa unit (shower over spa bath). Nevertheless, there is a grab bar beside each spa bath so guests can get safely in and out; (3) You are quite right in stating that we do not have air con. Only one motel in Greymouth does. We do, however, provide fans on request for guests who need one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 2, 2017

Recommend this place to stop off - good location, facilities (except wifi glitches, though manager was on hand to help), cleanliness. Great service at checkin - manager pointing out what we needed to know.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 22, 2017

Really nice location with everything you need for a pleasant stay. We had one superior room with spa bath tub for one night.
Located directly at the main street. Our room was away from the street and very quiet. We believe this might be with most room. Quality of the room and service from the reception were both good. Pleasant premesis.

Room Tip: Superiour room, worth the extra dollarsin our opinion
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Micha089trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 21, 2017

We stayed one night here before a long trip down to Wanaka. We received a very friendly greeting and good information about the local area and the areas we were going to visit. The room was very clean and very comfortable. The BBQ area was very pleasant and the BBQ grill was excellent! Shower pressure was good. The bathroom had a heated light fitting as well as a heated towel rail that was much appreciated. Can recommend and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frank G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 19, 2017

Gables Motor Lodge is a very neat and clean place. The beds were comfortable, the amenities were just nice for our stay. The staff was very helpful. They helped us with dinner reservation and the places to visit in Greymouth. We were about 10 minutes drive to the city centre and walking distance to some good restaurants. We were a total of 3 familires and enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: December 2016
Thank SandeepGupta18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews