We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveller rating
202
153
27
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
202
153
27
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerthe main roadfree wifilounge chairsone night stopoverhelpful ownerswould stay here againroom was spotlesstown centrecomfortable bedslocal areasky channelsdouble bedroad noisegreat place to staypancake rollsian
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 388 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2017 via mobile

Don't think I'll stay here again. Much better motels to choose from. This would be a absolute resort if I stayed here again. Older man on counter is no good at customer service. A smile would go along way. Wasn't cleaned very well. On the upside it is handy to supermarket, restaurants, petrol stations etc. But is on a main road and trying to sleep at night you get loud cars and sirens going past. Can definitely find nicer motels for cheaper.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank 546sherrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gables84, Owner at Gables Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2017

Hi Sherri, you were greeted politely and pleasantly when you checked in, the unit was spotless upon arrival and was serviced daily and, given the car you were driving, we are surprised by your comment about traffic noise. You forgot to mention that when you booked, and also when you checked in, you told us there were two guests in your party, when, in fact, there were four of you. Upon learning you would need to pay extra for your undeclared children, you complained you would not have enough money to feed them. So I gave you a choice: (1) you could pay a reduced rate for the children; or (2) I could cancel your booking without penalty and refund you in full (you had asked to pay in advance) so you could stay elsewhere. It was quiet in town that weekend so you would have had no problem finding another motel. You opted to stay and pay the reduced rate but were clearly not happy at having been caught out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2017

We had a family bereavement and needed last minute family accommodation in Greymouth. The hosts of the Gables were simply first class; in fact the duty manager was a caretaker host! We managed to secure a family unit, and were thoughtfully granted early access. The unit was spacious, wonderfully clean, and would perfectly suit a family of 4. Set to the back of the motel complex, the unit was quiet. There was no road noise, or noise from other guests. The motel is centrally located, and close to restaurants and the town CBD. We will stay here again should an opportunity arise, and highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudithC007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 16, 2017

This is a quality motel style accommodation that was very well presented. The apartment style room had two bedrooms and a living/ kitchen area. The place was very lean and well kept. The manager was very friendly and helpful allowing us to book in a little early. We were in a back corner apartment away from the main road so it was quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 04MJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 18, 2017

Great place to stay if you a clean, tidy and well equipped room is needed. Friendly and very helpful host also. This was the second time my partner has stayed here and both of us were very pleased we chose this motel.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 909robj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2017

This well-presented motel was clean and comfortable with a well fitted accommodation. There was ample area inside but by no means spacious and it included hotplates as well as a microwave. It had 2 lounge chairs, a large bed which was comfortable. A good bathroom although toilet was a tight fit.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews