We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gables Motor Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Paroa Hotel(Greymouth)
US$95
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greymouth Seaside Top 10 Holiday Park(Greymouth)(Great Value!)
US$43
US$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$90
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Global Village Backpackers(Greymouth)(Great Value!)
US$45
US$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Duke Hostel(Greymouth)(Great Value!)
US$30
US$28
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
Coleraine(Greymouth)
US$95
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$90/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sundowner Motel(Greymouth)
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$75
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$84/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (386)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveller rating
200
153
27
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
200
153
27
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerthe main roadfree wifirecreation hotelone nightspa bathsmall kitchenettelocal attractionshelpful ownerswould stay here againtown centreroom was spotlessgreat restaurantnew zealandenjoyed our stayguest laundryrental car
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 386 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2017

I stayed for one night whilst on business in the town. The owner who checked me in was very polite and helpful and proved free internet vouchers and my choice of milk for tea and coffee. The room was very clean and sufficiently spacious for a short stay. The bathroom had a spa bath (which I didn’t use) with shower over. The toilet is set separately within the bathroom for privacy with its own door, though it is a bit of a squeeze to open and shut but is not a problem. The bed was super comfortable and there are extra pillows in the wardrobe. There is a reasonable size tv with most Sky tv channels to watch. There is small kitchenette with some facilities for cooking, though a notice asks guests not to cook anything with strong smells which may be limiting for some. The motel is just along one of the main roads to town and easily accessible. A pleasant and comfortable stay and to be recommended for all types of traveller.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Jacki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2017 via mobile

Don't think I'll stay here again. Much better motels to choose from. This would be a absolute resort if I stayed here again. Older man on counter is no good at customer service. A smile would go along way. Wasn't cleaned very well. On the upside it is handy to supermarket, restaurants, petrol stations etc. But is on a main road and trying to sleep at night you get loud cars and sirens going past. Can definitely find nicer motels for cheaper.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank 546sherrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gables84, Owner at Gables Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2017

Hi Sherri, you were greeted politely and pleasantly when you checked in, the unit was spotless upon arrival and was serviced daily and, given the car you were driving, we are surprised by your comment about traffic noise. You forgot to mention that when you booked, and also when you checked in, you told us there were two guests in your party, when, in fact, there were four of you. Upon learning you would need to pay extra for your undeclared children, you complained you would not have enough money to feed them. So I gave you a choice: (1) you could pay a reduced rate for the children; or (2) I could cancel your booking without penalty and refund you in full (you had asked to pay in advance) so you could stay elsewhere. It was quiet in town that weekend so you would have had no problem finding another motel. You opted to stay and pay the reduced rate but were clearly not happy at having been caught out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2017

We had a family bereavement and needed last minute family accommodation in Greymouth. The hosts of the Gables were simply first class; in fact the duty manager was a caretaker host! We managed to secure a family unit, and were thoughtfully granted early access. The unit was spacious, wonderfully clean, and would perfectly suit a family of 4. Set to the back of the motel complex, the unit was quiet. There was no road noise, or noise from other guests. The motel is centrally located, and close to restaurants and the town CBD. We will stay here again should an opportunity arise, and highly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudithC007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 16, 2017

This is a quality motel style accommodation that was very well presented. The apartment style room had two bedrooms and a living/ kitchen area. The place was very lean and well kept. The manager was very friendly and helpful allowing us to book in a little early. We were in a back corner apartment away from the main road so it was quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 04MJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 18, 2017

Great place to stay if you a clean, tidy and well equipped room is needed. Friendly and very helpful host also. This was the second time my partner has stayed here and both of us were very pleased we chose this motel.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 909robj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews