We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
73
42
8
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
42
8
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the kitchen hot water bottles double room shared bathroom place to stay new zealand tea and coffee main road friendly owners short stay lovely place kerry neil hostel backpackers ocean town
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 127 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018

What a lovely hostel! So far on my trip around New Zealand it was the best hostel because Kelly and Neil welcomed me so much to their hostel and had always have a minute to talk to you.
The kitchen has really good equipment. You can pick herbs in the garden. From the living room the view to the ocean is stunning. And you will see many different birds in the garden and on the beach. And even in the Hostel: All rooms are decorated with creative bird walldrawings!
Check out for the Wild West Wilderness Coast Track. It is perfect bike trail in the sourounding of Hokitika.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank eli_unterwegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirdsongHokitikaYHA, Owner at Birdsong Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

You really made the most of exploring the area by bicycle, getting close to nature. It was a pleasure to host you and we will welcome you back one day! Lastnight we had our first frost and the fire was roaring. Today we are blessed with hot sun and perfect blue sky, and the fantails are loving it out in the hostel garden! See you next time : )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2018

We are an active retired couple, and we do mostly day hiking. We enjoyed Birdsong very much! Our room was small, but clean and comfortable. The kitchen area was nice, clean and well stocked. I loved the water view from the dining room, and the hostel has a friendly, relaxing feel. The host even brought the guests a cake to enjoy, which we greatly appreciated. Please note that the hostel is on a main road, so we had more traffic noise than birdsong! Still we highly recommend this friendly and convenient hostel. We hope to visit again.

Room tip: Choose room in back away from traffic
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Janet_D_11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirdsongHokitikaYHA, Owner at Birdsong Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2018

That's lovely to read that you enjoyed it here at our small hostel. On your next visit, brave the off-season in winter and you will be rewarded with a quieter house almost entirely to yourself, calmer traffic, and the Tuis and Bellbirds will be present in the winter garden. Thank you for sharing your experience and providing feedback. See you next time with a plate of scones!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 8, 2018

What a lovely place - so welcoming. I felt the owners had thought of everything: the manager was super helpful with recommendations for exploring, my room was clean and cosy with a radiator for cold nights, and the kitchen was really well stocked.

Found true kiwi hospitality here.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluecastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirdsongHokitikaYHA, Owner at Birdsong Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2018

That is really kind of you to notice. Having spent time traveling ourselves, we know the importance of a great kitchen and have enjoyed welcoming guests here for the past 14 years. Thanks for the great feedback which motivates us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 4, 2018 via mobile

We chose to stay here after it being recommended to us by other people who had stayed a few days before. We were really glad we did, and we quickly chose to booked a 2nd night!

We chose a triple room for us, which had a shared bathroom. It’s the first time we’d stayed in a more hostel-type place on our trip, and we found it great. We had a lovely welcome, and were put in the penguin room. The whole place is decorated really nicely, and the kitchen / lounge / dining room were great, which was particularly useful as we were there during bad weather which meant we had to use all facilities as most of the town was shut down due to the power cuts.

Great place, and choice of different rooms to hopefully meet most needs.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirdsongHokitikaYHA, Owner at Birdsong Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2018

A pleasure to host you and hope you can re-visit one day in sunny weather! Many thanks for your review, Kerry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 29, 2018 via mobile

I must say, this place must be one of the cleanness hostel! The host is very welcoming and friendly make us feel very comfortable. We've booked private room with an ensuite, the room is large and comfy have all facilities you need even the oven! The bed is a bit too soft but I'm all good with that, the only thing stopping this review to get 5⭐️ is there's no fan in the room, I think if it is not standard there should be fan for rent or something like that. Otherwise this place is a gem and I think it worth every dollars we've spent

Date of stay: January 2018
Thank Benze69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BirdsongHokitikaYHA, Owner at Birdsong Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2018

Many thanks for all the positive comments. I appreciate your feedback regarding the fan...I will keep a look out for one as we've had unusually warm weather right through since November this year...great for all you holiday-makers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews