We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, large units.”
Review of Alpine View Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alpine View Motel
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good value, large units.”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

This is Glynis from Kapiti 4 Seasons Tours, we have stayed here before but its now under new management...We used nine units for our group a few days ago, April 10th after taking new scenic train to Kaikoura (fantastic trip, the new train was amazing),Motel is good value for money... nice kiwi hosts and very handy to shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: Maybe room 4... (one of our single ladies had a huge room) Great for a couple. As tour operators we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwiconnection2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review, 25 January 2013
Sorry Glynis in taking so long in replying to your kind positive review as it is appreciated. Your comments re value for money is also greatly appreciated as you travel the country with groups so are an idea person to review our accommodation costing. Again many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    24
    16
    8
    4
See reviews for
14
38
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We booked here because our favourite was fully booked. Adequate for an overnight stay, but wouldn't like to stay longer. Spacious room (although it was for a disabled person), a fair distance from the town centre and on the main road, so a little noisy. The manager was very friendly.

Room Tip: The further from the road the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaryJSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Hi, Thank you for your helpful and nice comments. Since we have been at Alpine View we have done up the living /bedding areas with almost everything and we have started on the bathrooms so hopefully next time you come we will have done some more :). Regards Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed here overnight en route to Christchurch. Many of the other motels in Kaikoura were full so we had limited choice. The room was a good size but was a bit dated. The manager failed to mention when taking our booking that the room he assigned us had a railway line right behind it as we soon discovered with the thundering noise of passing trains and were indeed woken up by one just after 6 am! We have paid less for much better rooms in other parts of New Zealand.

Room Tip: Avoid booking a room at the rear of the property due to the proximity of the railway line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theelectriceric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

A much larger than average room, spotlessly clean, well maintained and equipped. Extremely comfortable with a good kitchette. We would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: The larger apartment is worth the extra 10 nzd
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suesteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We will return
The managers were extremely helpful and friendly and the motel unit was exceptionally clean and well appointed for a NZ motel
Lots of space even for the 3 of us
No one should criticize this motel as it is more than fair value and has everything one would need including free Internet

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandspitretreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Many thanks for this great review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We made this stopover after driving from Nelson before going back to Christchurch. The place is very well maintained, the room was clean and comfortable. Very nice view of the alps from the backyard and from the roadside. Within walking distance to grocery shopping. Owners are very friendly and helpful. Beautiful scenery along the esplanade not far away. Owners were enhancing the place. We did have a good stay and rested well before heading home.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJenny J, Owner at Alpine View Motel, responded to this review, 1 December 2011
Thank you for your review. It is greatly appreciated and we look forward to you coming back. We got 3rd in the commercial garden section (Nov ,2011) which we hope will enhancing the property. Once again many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Very Friendly hosts and situated off the main road into Kaikoura from Blenheim. The unit was very clean and well appointed at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Geoham69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kaikoura hotels
2.5 km away
The White Morph Heritage Collection
0.3 km away
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
Lobster Inn Motor Lodge
#16 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
1.1 km away
Mediterranean Motel Kaikoura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Blue Seas Motel
Blue Seas Motel
#15 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
2.2 km away
Bella Vista Motel Kaikoura
3.7 km away
Admiral Court Motel
Admiral Court Motel
#8 of 20 in Kaikoura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine View Motel

Property: Alpine View Motel
Address: 146 Beach Road | State Highway 1, Kaikoura 7300, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Kaikoura
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in Kaikoura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alpine View Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We warmly welcome you to Alpine View Motel situated in a lovely garden setting situated next to the beach with our very own beach access ― ideal for a lovely evening walk or if you want to try your hand at surf casting. Our desire is to ensure your stay is both comfortable and memorable. All 12 apartments are ground-floor, with parking outside your door. We have a range of apartments from studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom family apartments. All are fully self-contained and serviced daily. All are spacious and away from the road in a lawn and garden setting.We proudly received 3rd Place in (November's 2011) the Commercial Section of the Kaikoura Garden Competition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alpine View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing