We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A unique stay which hit all the right spots”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Hapuku Carriages

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kaikoura, Canterbury Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
peter_fus...
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“A unique stay which hit all the right spots”
Reviewed April 4, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Was looking for accommodation for an overnight stay in Kaikoura and found the Hapuku Carriages web site. I was keen for a different experiece re staying in a rail carriage - wife was a bit dubious. After lunch in Kaikoura Hapuku Carriages easy to find - well sign posted about 5 min drive north of Kaikoura. Upon arrival Mike showed around his lovingly restored carriage - as soon as wife saw it she loved it. Had all the ammenities required for a short stay - all to a high quality. After settling in a short walk to the beach followed where a pod of dolphins put on a display for us - magic. Back to the carriage for a rest - a few trains passing close by added to the nistalgia of the location. Even though close they are not a nuisance. Was back to Kaikoura for dinner - Mikes recommendation was spot on. Next morning was breakfast in Mike & Susie-lee's home, full breakfast was spot on. Great hospitality - if you want a quiet location for a break and also want to stay in a room that different to the norm - Hapuku Carriages is a must. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The uniqueness of staying in a rail carriage And over all hospitality
Liked least: Not taking my fishing gear.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2015
Hi Guys was great having you stay its always great when the Dolphins put on a display for our guests great meeting you's look forward to having you stay again Thanks Mike & Susie-lee
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcCruic...
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“What a gem!”
Reviewed February 28, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

My wife took me here for a weekend away. I'm usually the type to look for the room with the biggest TV when I book a room, so I wasn't sure when we pulled up!

Honestly, I loved it. It's so nicely done, down to the littlest details. It's so obvious that the owners take genuine pride in this place.

The carriage is incredible, the breakfast was insane, and they are genuinely nice people.

Perfect.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2015
Hi Marc
Glad you guys enjoyed your stay was great meeting you's. Go the warriors
Hope you loved your flying lesson
Thanks Mike & Susie-lee
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haven M
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“unique high quality boutique accommodation in an amazing setting!”
Reviewed January 8, 2015 for a stay in April 2013

I stayed here nearly two years ago now but it 100% sticks in my mind. The railway carriage is obviously a huge passion project for the owner and the small details really made the difference. Very spacious and tidy with high quality features and loads of little touches that really added to the experience. Hapuku is just 5 mins from the main shops in Kaikoura but feels so remote - such a special place right across the road from the beach with only half a dozen houses nearby - it felt like it was your own private beach. BRAVA - a little piece of paradise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, unique high quality boutique accommodation. outdoor bath
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2015
Thanks it was great having you stay maybe you will get back sometime as its always great to catch up with guests again
Thanks Mike & Susie-lee
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merv02
Gisborne, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed January 4, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

An absolute delight for any train enthusiast. I am not a train enthusiast but We were blown away by my random selection for accommodation. In the country with roosters and wild life, the bath under the moon was a treat. The accommodation, a lovingly restored railway carriage was better than I remember when I used to travel in them. So authentic.
Host hospitality/ service was delightful. Recommended, added to our travel memories.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The classy carriage and the ambiance
Liked least: No sign at gate identifying property, but was at end of the road.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2015
We love having people stay meeting new people is the best part .Hope you had a great holiday.
Thanks Mike & Susie-lee
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing