We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
12
26
15
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
26
15
6
8
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 67 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2016

We finished up in a double bedroom unit - mistake in booking maybe but not what we had expected. The second bedroom was that small that it was impossible to open the wardrobe door - a bed in the way. The unit just felt dated and very tired and needed some TLC to drag it into the 21st century. Light bulb in the spare room did not work, broken wall plug in the living area unable to be fixed due to lack of sparkies (earthquake priorities - understandable I guess). A sign in the kitchen suggests that the unit requires customers to wash their own crockery etc but for the price we paid I am not so sure. Also the first three cups we got out of the cupboard were unusable - too dirty.
Tiny shower, unheated bathroom (but good heater in the unit). No view at all but only about 10 minutes walk from town. Friendly owners.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2016 via mobile

Not flash but spotlessly clean and a comfy bed. Our room had a lovely wee view of the sunrise over the sea. The free wifi was a plus. The kitchen is basic (microwave, kettle) with cheerful and plentiful crockery etc. Easy drive to a selection of takeaways.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank LisonH6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2016 via mobile

Units were very clean and a good size for a family. The one we were in was a little scruffy but ok for a night or two. Lovely location to go across the road and watch the sun rise in the morning. Nice bar at the end of the road. Friendly staff.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 29, 2016

we thought this was a good location because it was across from the beach and close to the restaurants and boat rides. the hotel was homey and clean. it was a little rundown in places like the carpet and flooring, but the price was unbeatable, so it made up for it. the wifi was free and there was a full kitchen.

Room Tip: the back rooms would be better because they are set back from the road and traffic
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2016

This motel was located probably half way between the shops and the end of the road where you can start the Kaikoura Peninsula walk. The beach is opposite. We had two units booked with a double and single in each one. One was slightly different to the other eg. one had fridge/freezer. Both were very clean with nice crisp linen and white towels. They looked as if they might have been repainted recently. We sat outside in a small BBQ area and cooked tea although we had to take our chairs as they weren't any at the table. Not a biggy however. Also there was no lighting so we turned the laundry light on to give us light. Even a couple of candles on the table would have helped. Friendly staff. Reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews