We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (243)
Filter reviews
243 results
Traveller rating
125
92
17
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
92
17
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spa bath the main road state highway road noise great place to stay light sleeper overnight stop whale watching full kitchen swimming pool stayed nights would stay again room was spacious town centre continental breakfast south island motel
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 243 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2017

The motel located about 10 minutes walking distance from the town area. We like the view of beautiful snow cover mountain from motel. The owners are friendly and helpful. The room in good condition and clean with comfortable bed. stable wifi and strong shower water pressure. Many parking space on site. The room with full kitchen but not allow to cook seafood and curry. I think it is acceptable because seafood and curry have strong smell. We were stayed near the main road just in front of the reception office, but didn't feel noisy. recommend to stay this motel.

Stayed: April 2017
1  Thank sheacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 21, 2017

The lodge is situated a short walk from Town and has ample parking. Bedding and towels were good quality and clean. The kitchenette was clean and well equipped. The kitchen blind was dirty.
The main issue for me was the smell of stale urine which seemed to be embedded in the fabric of the room. I did mention this and could have asked to move room but did not wish to spend time moving possessions at the time. The owners are great and I now wish I had moved. The seating isn't the most comfortable being bucket chairs but were bearable for the short amount of time spent in the room. My advice would be to avoid room 8 until it is thoroughly cleaned which I am sure the owners will wish to do.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms at the back.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rowever15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBH, Owner at Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2017

Dear Guest.
We as owners and three of our cleaning staff checked twice for the odour in the room you had mentioned to us. None of us could detect any unpleasant smells.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 12, 2017

We finally arrived at this lodge 7.5 hours after leaving Picton, due to the diversions still in force after the November 2016 earthquake. It was a welcoming sight! Lovely big room, spotless kitchenette and bathroom, and a welcome pack of tea, coffee etc. Clean bed linen, comfy beds, what more can you want. Parking right outside our room was a boon in bringing the cases in and out. The owners were very friendly and happy to chat about the town and how it survived the earthquake.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 653AnnFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2017

Modern, tidy and nice place. Enough room for 3 people (deluxe twin or triple studio with spa bath). Nice and big spa bath. I would gladly stay there again!

Check-out time 10 is way too early. But this seems to be standard in NZ. The pool is smaller than what you would think of watching the photos, but yet big enough for a little swim.

Room Tip: Notice that your room might be upstairs.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JohannaVantaalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2017 via mobile

I read good reviews here and on Booking. Have no idea why. Dated, unpleasant, basic. The pool is a freezing puddle - the photo is very misleading. Bedrooms too small to open a suitcase. Uncomfortable beds and chairs, no view but other people's cars in front. Window can hardly be opened in one room, the other with no windows. Price is high for what you get - a basic old motel. Kaikoura is beautiful. Stay elsewhere.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank sharon_avi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBH, Owner at Kaikoura Gateway Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2017

This response and the other on 3rd of March were expected from you. We must mention the extra cleaning charge was imposed because the unit was left in a very messy state and was un-rentable for 48 hours after your departure due to the lingering & offensive cooking odours. To retaliate with negative reviews is a shame.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews