We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Getaway in Hervey Bay”
Review of Akama Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Akama Resort
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Hervey Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2012

My wife, two kids and I visited Akama Resort for two nights in 2011. We were blown away with the size of the apartment. Each apartment is like a penthouse. It was perfect base for our family. I would highly recommend this resort if you are looking for a modern, large apartment in a great location for a single night or longer holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NathanJSpicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2012

Hi NathanJSpicer,
Thank you for your review.
One of the biggest surprises guests seem to get when they open the door is the size of our apartments, gone are the days of staying in a small cramped unit. For a little extra $$$ you get a whole lot more.
Hope to see you and the family again one day.
Kind regards
Matt & pia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2012

My partner & I wanted somewhere to relax and enjoy a quiet Xmas & New year whilst visiting my immediate family who all live in Hervey Bay. We stayed in a 2brm ocean view apartment on the 4th floor from Xmas eve 2011 until 2nd Jan 2012 ... we didn't want to leave!

We loved the layout of the apartment with both bedrooms having their own bathrooms and separate to each other plus the large open plan kitchen/living area. All our meals and late afternoons were spent on the large private balcony overlooking the pool area. The best thing was waking up every morning to the view from here ... the ocean and nearby Fraser Island.

One of the surprising things was that the pool & BBQ area were always available and never over-crowded (even on Xmas Day & New Years Eve). We really enjoyed the intimacy of a small resort and the location is great - a few minutes walk to the beach and the Boat Club.

Apartments are sound proof, air-conditioned (not that we used it with the ocean breeze coming in through the open bi-fold doors) and extremely clean. Secure undercover parking gave us peace of mind.

Even though there is no Restaurant on-site we had a lovely meal next door at the Ramada Hotel at Smokey Joe's Cafe Bar & Grill.

What really sold me though on booking Akama Resort was the on-site Managers Matt & Pia who kindly showed me through a 2brm apartment and the rest of the complex when I was up in Hervey Bay in early Oct visiting my Mum. They were so friendly and extremely helpful I booked immediately for our Xmas break. Thank you - we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trish J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akama, Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

Hi Trish J,
Thank you very much for your kind words. We remember when you and your mum came in and had a nice chat. We think most guests are surprised by the size and cleanliness of our apartments and this is what keeps them coming back. We like to class ourselves as a small Boutique resort and even when we are full it is always still peaceful and quiet. Look forward to seeing you back again, don’t forget to keep an eye on our website for super cheap off season rates and specials.
Kind regards
Matt & Pia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We had six adults plus a baby in one of the 3 bedroom apartments for a week including Christmas. We had a fantastic week. The apartments are well equipped, very large and very clean. The balconies are huge and have a bbq. The coffee machine was great for everyone except the 2 of us who needed decaf pods. Owners pls have decaf pods available as well as regular for those of us who can't have caffeinated coffee! My only other negative comments -and I note other reviewers have mentioned one of these as well - are the unsuitability of the blinds in the bedrooms for the Qld summer sun and an issue with towels. Because Qld does not have daylight saving, it gets light here at 4am, and it is not a gentle light it is brillant sunlight. The blinds do virtually nothing to stop it and one of the blinds was actually fitted backwards so gaped out from the window badly. I also found that because we were staying for a whole week and the rooms are not serviced, there are not enough towels and hand towels in these large apartments. The towels are quite small and thin and with 4 adults using the main bathroom we definitely needed some more handtowels and also a couple of spare body towels. But even with these comments, it is a terrific place to stay and although I had limited contact with the staff, when I did they were friendly. I would highly recommend this as the best place to stay in Hervey Bay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luabandit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akama, Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

Hello luabandit
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review.
So nice to read that you all had a great time while you were with us – yes, the size of the apartments makes them an ideal place to spend a holiday with the whole family. Pleased to hear that you liked the coffee machines and we will take into consideration your comments regarding the availability of decaf pods. As previously stated in our responses to past reviews the blinds are made of a block-out fabric but as you have mentioned with the sun rising so early in our part of the world it can be quite bright of a morning – we have no control over this but we do have control over the way the blinds are rolled and on this occasion you are correct the blinds were rolled in reverse and this was not detected prior to your arrival – we would have immediately rectified this issue if we had been aware of it at the time. Apologies for this oversight. We do offer a mid stay service on all reservations over 7 days, I am not sure why you did not receive this service and would like to apologise if you were missed. All our apartments have fully equipped laundries with washing machine, clothes dryer, clothes airer and laundry powder - we find most guests run their towels through during their stay but we would have happily given you more linen if we had been made aware of your problem. Our linen is hired through a third party, we pay for top range but do not always receive it. We are very pleased to hear that you would recommend us as the best place to stay in Hervey Bay and we hope this means you will visit again. We look forward to welcoming you back and thank you once again for the great review.
Kind Regards,
Matt & Pia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

My family 4 adults and 2 grand children spent 5 days here and were very happy, clean rooms,
with the rooms being nice and quiet.
Well stocked kitchen and our babies loved being so close to the pool we had no problems with privacy.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamela j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Hi Pamela j,Thank you for your review. Cleanliness and customer service is at the top of our list and it’s really appreciated when lovely guests like you take note. We like people to feel like Akama is their home away from home and a well stocked kitchen for those budding Masterchefs for some is a priority. Thanks for coming to stay and hope to see you again
Kind Regards

Matt & Pia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

My family stayed there in January 2012 as well as my sister and her husband and we all thought Akama Resort was fantastic. We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartments. The apartments were not only huge with a large balcony to sit outside and eat, but were absolutely spotless. The pool was great, there was a secure undercover parking and BBQ facility near the pool area. Akama resort is located next to the Marina which is a lovely area to stay. But best of all were the staff. They were so friendly and so helpful. They booked all our tours, car hire and bike hire. They showed us everywhere to visit and were always so friendly. Nothing was a problem for them. We would highly recommend you stay here. It was so good that whenever we left to go out, all we heard from our daughter was "When are going back to the hotel?”. Amanda and David

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Hi Amanda.s,


You were the most wonderful people and it was a complete pleasure to have you stay with us. We just love seeing the resort filled with holiday makers enjoying family time. You sure got to see the very best of Hervey Bay and all its natural attractions, the only thing missing was the whales. Hope the remainder of your holidays was enjoyed as much as Hervey Bay and would love to see you back here one day soon. (Whale season)

Kind Regards

Matt & Pia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

It's pretty good. However, to even think that there are 25 good hotels in Australia is absurd. Australia is lacking in service. Compare any of the chain hotels (Shangri La, for example) in Sydney to its equivalent in any souetheast Asian country and it becomes obvious why Australian hotels are always going to be 2d rate. The "casual" service is sometimes friendly but almost always sloppy and often careless.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank roemanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akama, Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2012

Hi Roemanner,
Thank you for taking the time to review what i think is all Australian hotels. Trip advisor is the worlds largest independent travel review site where you, the public are able to review most things in the world ie restaurants, accommodation, tours etc .Once a year they conduct a (Travellers choice the best top 25). It is categorized into 37 countries and a Top 25 is selected within each of these countries. People like yourself voted for Australia’s top 25 and we were extremely proud and humbled to have won 2012 within Australia. We would like to think that our customer service is second to none while keeping with the much loved down to earth and friendly Australian way. This is one thing I’m sure that attracts people from all over the world to Australia and I am extremely sorry that Australian hotels do not compare in your opinion.

If you decide to travel to Queensland again we would love for you to spend some time in our region to see some of our best natural attractions. Our whales who visit the bay every July - October are the friendliest in the world and 4 wheel driving on Fraser Island (the world's largest sand island) is an experience not to miss.
Kind Regards
Matt & Pia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Stayed on sixth floor, views were amazing, room was excellent and management very helpful. Found beach only 5 minutes walk away and only short walk around water front to restaurants on esplanade. Great location

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamejen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akama, General Manager at Akama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

Hi hamejen,
Wow – what a great review – so thrilled to hear that you had such a great time and that you were so pleased with your accommodation. Our location is so convenient with the clubs and restaurants all so close by and yes, you are right the views over the Great Sandy Straits are beautiful. We hope you get the opportunity to stay with us again, it would be a pleasure to welcome you back. Thank you again for the review – much appreciated.
Kind regards,
Matt & Pia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hervey Bay
0.3 km away
Mantra Hervey Bay
Mantra Hervey Bay
#9 of 23 in Hervey Bay
2,042 reviews
1.5 km away
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
Grange Resort Hervey Bay
#11 of 23 in Hervey Bay
164 reviews
2.7 km away
Hervey Bay Colonial Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Oceans Resort & Spa Hervey Bay
0.1 km away
Ramada Hervey Bay
Ramada Hervey Bay
#7 of 23 in Hervey Bay
601 reviews
13.0 km away
Kingfisher Bay Resort
Kingfisher Bay Resort
#1 of 3 in Fraser Island
5,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akama Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akama Resort

Address: 625 Esplanade | Urangan, Hervey Bay, Queensland 4655, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Fraser Coast > Hervey Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hervey Bay
#1 Family Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Luxury Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 Spa Hotel in Hervey Bay
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hervey Bay
Price Range: $158 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Akama Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5-star AAA rated self catering resort is ideally situated next to the marina at Urangan, overlooking Fraser Island and the Great Sandy Straits. Guests enjoy Fraser Island tours and great opportunities for whale-watching. The property offers free WiFi access, free covered parking with lift access to all levels. Akama Resort provides a variety of spacious, modern 1, 2, 3 bedroom-penthouses and apartments that offer panoramic views of the Marina and Fraser Island from private, sunny balconies. All apartments are accessible via an elevator. Nearby attractions include small local markets, an 18 km long bike path along Charlton Esplanade, and cafés, pubs and clubs along Hervey Bay Marina. Guests can enjoy a 35-minute flight to the Lady Elliot Island, relax at Shelly Beach, or go sailing across the Great Sandy Strait while watching dolphins, dugongs, and turtles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Akama Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akama Hotel Hervey Bay
Akama Resort Hervey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing