We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments
Nearby Hotels
Arrow Motel Apartments(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palms Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amber Court Motel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Trailways Hotel Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$111
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloha Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmoral Motel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palazzo Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tuscany Gardens Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$90
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Crest Motor Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (991)
Filter reviews
991 results
Traveller rating
453
375
100
40
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
453
375
100
40
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsenglish villagehonest lawyervillage greenbedroom cottageold englishonsite restaurantgas fireclose to the airportenglish stylewashing machinethe cottagesgreat pubhotel roomminute drivelounge areanew zealandlarge bathroom
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 991 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well this was very different from anywhere else we have stayed! The 'village' idea is a good one and the whole place looks very pretty. Our little 'cottage' was a great size with fabulous bedroom and bathroom but the downstairs area was not quote so good. The main problem is the 'kitchen' area where the appliances did not work well at all. The washing machine danced around and despite the dishwasher being 'fed' the correct dishwasher powder (hotel provided) it made lots of noise and finally 'fused'. May we suggest this is because it is a poor make? The whole kitchen needs massively updating. We had a lounge area and a very pretty little garden. It is meant to look like an English cottage but, contrary to popular belief, English cottages are not all painted in dark colours with dark beams etc., A little cheering up is needed though we really liked it in the main. The restaurant is great and we had a good dinner and a lovely chat with Tommy who was so lovely.

Room Tip: Have a meal in the restaurant.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UK2Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear UK2Travellers

Thanks for your review/feedack following your recent stay at the hotel.

I'm delighted that you rather enjoyed the English village character of the hotel, we're certainly a little out of the ordinary as far as hotels go!

Oh dear, those maintenance issues you mention - I do hope you filled in one of our maintenance matters needing attention cards that we place into all our rooms so that our maintenance team can attend to faulty appliances. That "dancing" washing machine sounds like it needs attention.

On a brighter note, it was great to read you enjoyed the pretty gardens and enjoyed a good dinner in our restaurant and were well looked after by Tommy.

Once again, thanks for your review. We hope you enjoyed your visit to the beautiful Nelson/Tasman region.

Warm regards
Nick, on behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed one night before the start of our cycle trip.
Our rooms were one bedroom apartments that slept 2. Cooking facilities with all the usuals. Pans. Cooking utensils. Crockery. Glasses. Small fridge. Cook top.
Very clean. Very comfortable. Great pillows
We did not eat here but did enjoy a wine on the front deck of the bar area. Very pleasant.
Totally recommend

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Margaret P

Thanks so much for your review/feedback following your recent visit on your cycle trip; it was terrific to read you enjoyed your well equipped accommodation which you found very clean and comfortable (thanks for the mention of the great pillows - always a bonus when staying away from home).

Thanks for the endorsement/recommendation.

Warm regards
Nick, on behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco

PS... next time you'll have to try a meal in our restaurant, The Monaco Kitchen - you won't regret it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Comfortable apartment out of the main city. Good value for money. The restaurant there is amazing. The also have a full kitchen and you can have food to cook for breakfast which is a great idea. The only improvement I can think of is that their TVs are too small.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi there Laura C

Thanks for your review, it was great to read that you found the hotel "good value for money" and that you enjoyed an "amazing" meal in our restaurant. Hey thanks for that feedback on the "cook your own breakfast" packs - we thought that a pretty clever idea, and it's been highly successful. Your suggestion for improvement has been noted, and I've passed it on to the hotel owner and managements - the televisions do look a bit dated when compared to 'big screen' televisions which are pretty much the norm these days.

Once again, thanks for your review/feedback, we hope to see you back again in the #extraordinary #NelsonTasman region sometime soon.

Warm regards
Nick, on behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic location, always love staying at Monaco resort. Monaco Kitchen is also very good for breakfast an dinner (didn’t like the honest lawyer across the road). Rooms are very spacious and quiet. One surprise was having to write credit card details down when checking in. Not sure if necessary / secure? Thanks

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank Flick313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi there Flick313

Thanks for your review/feedback, it was terrific to read that you enjoyed another great stay with us.

Thanks for the mention of your enjoyment dining with us at The Monaco Kitchen, we're delighted you enjoyed the generous proportions of your accommodation.

I'm not sure why you were asked to write down the details of your credit card as normally we would enter these directly into our reservation system. However, I can assure you that once the details were entered into our reservation system, that piece of paper would have been destroyed in our fancy shredder machine that is PCI compliant (Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard compliant). Your credit card details (and those of all our guests) are safe and secure with us.

Warm regards
Nick, on behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed here during the arrival of cyclone Gita so probably did not see the place at it’s best.
That said the cottages were very roomy and the accommodation was of a good standard. The whole place is set up like a quaint English village which is very different to anything else we stayed in during our trip round New Zealand.
Although quite a way out of Nelson and near the airport this hotel was peaceful and probably had lovely views and sunsets in better weather, it served it’s purpose very well and we wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again if we were in the area.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand_Mercure_Nelson, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Hi there Linda S

Thanks for your review/feedback - staying during former tropical Cyclone Gita was most definitely not the best time to see the Nelson/Tasman region at it's best, but hopefully we managed to enjoy the best of a bad situation and that you felt well looked after, safe and secure.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the special English village character of the hotel and that you found your cottage accommodation of a good size and standard.

Should you be visiting Nelson again, we'd be delighted to see you back again - hopefully in better weather than your recent stay!

Warm regards
Nick, on behalf of the entire team at the Grand Mercure Nelson Monaco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews