We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
14
5
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
5
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect place to staycity centretvsleepbackpackersnzaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 21 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2017 via mobile

What a great place to stay. I was expecting something close to a backpackers, but instead this place is much closer to a hotel. The bathrooms & showers were clean, and maintained throughout the day by dedicated staff. The shower is on a 7 minute timer which is more than enough.
We stayed during easter, and in the morning they put chocolates outside the door of each room which was magical & made our day (:
There were also bikes for us to use which was really helpful!
Loved using the pool table & the communal lounge was huge.
Would happily stay here again - I was sad to leave!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Travellerbriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 16, 2017

We had a double room with a very comfortable bed, linen very clean. Bathrooms and toilets spotless, kitchens have everything you need. Owners are trying very hard to save power, water, and recycle rubbish. Easy access to town.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 20, 2017

I actually booked this hostel based solely on TripAdvisor reviews and got really disappointed - no offense, maybe its just me as majority of the reviews were excellent. But I guess we have different opinions.

The hostel seems like a hospital converted into a villa - feels and looks like a hospital. The rooms and sheets were clean, though. But the overall atmosphere really didn't do it for me. It was rather gloomy and a lil bit creepy. The walls are paper thin. You hear everything, really. No wonder they provide free orange ear plugs.

Things could've been better if the shared toilets were clean - but seriously they were not. It looks like it needed a really good scrubbing. And not only that, it has the worst shower! They've put in a 5 min timer. That means you have to be very very quick, otherwise there will be no water and you have to stand there cold, wet and wait for another 5 min before you can resume! I've been to different Top 10 Holiday Parks and some of them have a 15 min shower for $50c - I would gladly pay for it just to have a decent shower.

For $80 a night, go somewhere else near the central city, somewhere in Trafalgar Street and have a good night sleep. I wont be back even if I get a free night.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LilMsTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 20, 2017

Very good lodge. Most friendly and helpfull staff I have met so far in Australia and New Zealand. The beautiful outsite (with cosy lights in the evening) of the building welcomes you and the very friendly staff makes you feel like home. We rented proper bikes for only 10 dollars and did a beautiful bike tour to Rabbit Island. All facilities are nice and clean. The wifi actually worked in the room with highspeed (was even able to watch movies). Would highly recommend this place! Very good value for money!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 6, 2017

I just stayed here for 4 nights
Jan 30-Feb 3 2017.
Was excellent quiet calm place to stay!
They have bike rentals $20/day or $10/half day with helmet and lock and the cycling trail is close by and about 10 min into town.
Best if you have a car but i think some busses run.
Perfect place if you want to do Abel Tasman which i did 2 days and is only about 1 hour drive away.
The family that owns this place is really nice and really care about the guests and they are literally personally cleaning all day every day! I saw the lady on her hands and knees scrubbing the stairs!
There are 3 kitchens so PLENTY of space and never crowded to cook. There is also a small lounge with tv on the upper level which i think most don't realize. You can wash clothes for $2 and can buy some soap for $1 from them
I got a single private room and was perfect for me, had closet, desk/shelves area.
The one night I heard the guy snoring in room next door but they leave ear plugs in every room just in case.
They also leave tea/coffee packets in each room.
The place is more of the level of a hotel not a hostel.

There are 3 bathrooms and 2 showers on the upstairs level i was staying. Never had to wait.

The ONLY thing that could be improved is the showers are set on a 5 min timer..
As a female i take pretty quick showers but its really hard to shampoo, conditioner, body wash your body and shave in 5 minutes... i almost didn't get the conditioner out in time before the water shut off... If it does you have to stand there and wait 5/6 minutes before you can take another 5 minute shower.
just increasing this to 7/8 minutes would be helpful!
So just be aware of this, but not a major issue.

Wonderful place, would highly recommend staying here!
Parking is free as well.
Oh the website says internet for a fee but you actually get 200mb per device free/24 hours, and if you want to stream movies (not sure why you would travel to watch movies though..) then its just $5 unlimited/24 hours.
I didn't actually have to pay at all during the 5 days i was there and had plenty to check email and make few wifi calls etc...

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank neelynp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews