We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barb B”
Review of Palms Nelson

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palms Nelson
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Bay of Plenty
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Barb B”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

This motel was just lovely. Very clean, modern and up to date furniture and accessories.
Close to town and very helpful with where to go etc. Would stay here again. We had one large unit for 3 and 1 studio for 1 person. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank redheadbayofplenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    60
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
32
77
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed here as part of a trip to NZ from the UK in February. We had a couple of nights in Nelson visiting friends and relaxing and stayed at the Palms.

The service was excellent and they happily accomodated a shift around in rooms to that we could be next door to our parents. They were full at the time, so I suspect this was easier said than done!!

The rooms themselves were comfortable and clean and the location is close enough that you are only a five minute walk into town.

All in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiTrekkerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We were 2 couples spending a week in Nelson, so we were very happy with the 2 bed room apartment at the Palms Motel, we found it hard to find other 2 bed accommodation options.

It was a bit expensive for a motel, but when you consider it comfortably accommodated the 4 of us it made it good value for money.

The location was great, easy walk into the town centre of Nelson, and on a quiet side road. It was opposite a supermarket which was convenient.

The apartment itself was comfortable, with limited small kitchen, but enough for a few nights (2 ring hob, microwave, no oven).

There was also a washing machine.

Bathroom was spacious with large spa bath, and shower was hot and powerful.

One bedroom was a double bed, the other 2 twin beds. The beds were very comfortable, and there were extra pillows / duvets etc.

Hanging space was limited, it was easier to live out of our suitcases.

The lady on reception was very friendly and helpful.

The internet was $30 for 5 days, $40 for 7 days which i thought was reasonable. It wasn't much cheaper for shorter usages, so it would seem expensive for people with shorter stays.

We would stay here again, particularly with 4 people to share the costs.

We paid $250 a night, so $125 per couple, over the April Easter bank holiday weekend.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antibes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My husband and I plus three teenagers stayed here in March for two nights. We loved it, near shops & restaurants. Very clean & comfortable. The only downfall..we would like to have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Book in advance, we had to take two studios as the two bedroom units were booked out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at Palms Motel for three nights recently whilst in Nelson for an AGM. We had an excellent stay here. Nothing was too much trouble for our host Cheryl. The rooms are very spacious, clean and comfortable. Although we didn't have time to use the pool it looked very inviting! The Motel is within walking distance to the main shops and attractions and across the road from a large supermarket.

Room Tip: Most if not all of the upstairs rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sirda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Just as you enter Nelson, on the corner of Paru Paru Road, The Palms is ideally placed for the traveller. Directly across the road is a large supermarket and the Motel itself is an excellent choice. The build is new, the rooms nicely decorated, with comfortable beds and spotless linen, and to top it all there is a small pool and BBQ Area. We thoroughly enjoyed a two night stay here, and made good use of Nelson's restaurants and also Tahunanui Beach.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms 24-29 get the evening sun on their balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2012

My first time to Nelson and this place was lovely, very clean with cooking facilities... Pool was smaller than in the picture but still very nice... Had to pay extra for Wi Fi access but was only about $20 for my 4 days... Would recommend to anyone visiting Nelson as it also walking distance from main shipping district..

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SexiLexi27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson hotels
0.5 km away
The Sails Nelson
The Sails Nelson
#1 of 41 in Nelson
669 reviews
0.4 km away
Delorenzos Studio Apartments
0.2 km away
Trailways Hotel Nelson
Trailways Hotel Nelson
#8 of 41 in Nelson
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Century Park Motor Lodge
0.8 km away
Harbourside Lodge
Harbourside Lodge
#5 of 41 in Nelson
146 reviews
0.7 km away
Palazzo Motor Lodge
Palazzo Motor Lodge
#6 of 41 in Nelson
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palms Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palms Nelson

Property: Palms Nelson
Address: 5 Paru Paru Road | Cnr Halifax and Rutherford Sts., Nelson, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Nelson
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nelson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Palms Nelson 4.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Nelson, New Zealand.The Palms Motel offers you modern, luxury apartments, with a choice of studio, executive or family suite accommodation.Set in landscaped grounds and located close to all local amenities, the Palms Motel gives the holidaymaker or business person the ideal home away from home. 28 Luxury Units/Apartments22 x Studio units: Floor area - 29 sq. metres each4 x 1 Bedroom luxury suites: Floor area - 36 sq. metres each2 x 2 Bedroom family units: Floor area - 73 sq. metres each Room Amenities:• Spa Baths (in 1 bdrm & 2 bdrm suites) • Sky TV • Kitchens in all Units • King & Queen size beds • Electric Blankets • Iron/ironing boards in all units • Satin-jet showers with massage • Hair dryers • Double glazed windows • Direct dial phones with modem access. Wireless internet available throughout complex • Recliner chairs and large flat screen LCD TVs in all units (in the lounge and for your convenience a smaller flat screen TV is located the bedroom)The fully fenced salt-swimming-pool is solar heated in summer and features a safe toddler’s pool. Also in the pool area is a large electric barbecue and dining area to use at your leisure. There is a guest laundry, plenty of off road parking and we are adjacent to many recreational facilities, for example there is a Supermarket directly across the street, along with Nelson Public Library and the famous Nelson Saturday Market is just 2 minutes walking distance. We are located just 100m from Nelson’s central shopping area with an abundance of choice for cafes restaurants and shopping. Tahuna Beach is just 5 minutes’ drive away.Your Host Cheryl has more than 20 years’ experience in the hospitality industry and understands travel and holiday needs intimately. Her aim is to make your stay comfortable and memorable for all the right reasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Palms Nelson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palms Hotel Nelson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing