We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
157
39
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
157
39
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews anchor restaurant overlooking the marina cooked breakfast breakfast room great continental breakfast port area complimentary breakfasts boat marina nice restaurant next door an industrial estate watch the boats courtyard room great night sleep small refrigerator comfy bed glass door easter eggs
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 201 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Rooms are very clean and a good size. Quite place to stay within walking distance of the city. Continental breakfast was very good and hot cross buns for good Friday we an added bonus. Managers were very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms good and you can book a marina view room.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark7771957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJElbe, Owner at Harbourside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Harbourside Lodge. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at Easter and hope that you enjoyed the rest of your travels in NZ. Thanks again Cathy and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018

A fantastic find! Away from the hustle and bustle but also close to the Nelson centre (within easy walking distance).
Room was spotlessly clean and spacious; overlooking the Marina (which was not noisy by the way). Loved having a real live plant in my room, and plants were nicely placed around the Accommodation area. It is a nice touch that says to me that this is a 'home away from home' and that the care for guests is important. Lovely views over the Marina and surrounding area. A continental breakfast is included in the price and it was nice, as a Solo traveler, to share a communal space with others, plus the Host, over a meal to start the day. Good variety of choices too.
The Anchor Restaurant and Bar were right next door (and again - it was quiet) so easy to walk for a superb choice of meals, They delivered directly to my room as well with no extra charge.
Happy to recommend the Harbourside and it would be my first choice again on any future visit to Nelson.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Jeanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJElbe, Owner at Harbourside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Thank you for your lovely review of Harbourside Lodge, we appreciate you sharing your experience with others.
It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to make your stay a good one. We hope that you may visit us again someday. Safe travels and happy holidays, Cathy and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018

The Harbourside lodge is in the industrial part of the port, but has a pleasant view of the yacht/boat marina on one side.
Fantastic hosts - friendly, and offered excellent advice for our queries about what to do and where to eat.
Spotlessly clean, and great beds (we are pretty fussy about beds). Slightly dated decor the only thing preventing a fifth star - don't be put off though - the rest makes up for it.
Surprisingly short and scenic walk into town, around the marina and estuary. When I booked I was a little nervous about the Lodge being too far from the city centre, but I needn't have worried.
A more than sufficient continental breakfast is included in the price (cereals, toast, spreads, tea, coffee), or cooked options at a very reasonable cost can be added - cooked by the host on the spot.
A fantastic stay thanks.
Excellent value.

Room Tip: Boat marina view rooms are great.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NZAlec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJElbe, Owner at Harbourside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate you sharing your feedback. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here in Nelson. We hope you enjoy the rest of your holiday, safe travels Cathy and David. P.S. We are redecorating all 14 units this June.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

We've had a wonderful stay at the Harbourside Lodge. It's just like the pictures, we have had a lovely view out over the marina. The room has everything we need, is clean and the large king (?) bed a treat.

The owners are friendly and knowledgeable with heaps of ideas on how to fill your day. We even had Easter eggs left on the bed on Easter Sunday!

Would highly recommend - it's just a short stroll into town and lovely to wake up and enjoy a coffee overlooking the marina before heading out for the day. Looking forward to coming back!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Emsy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJElbe, Owner at Harbourside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2018

Thank you for your lovely review of Harbourside Lodge. So pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay over the Easter weekend and the Super king bed. We look forward to seeing you again next time you visit Nelson. Safe travels Cathy and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2018

We had a room on the second floor facing the harbor. It was a perfect place to sit on the balcony, watch the boats, and drink our wine.

We arrived before our room was ready and it was suggested we walk to town and see the Saturday market. What an excellent idea. It took us 20 or so minutes to get to the market. The market was in full swing with many food sellers and home made crafts. Since this was the beginning of our trip around the South Island, I didn't want to make any purchases. I wish I had. Especially the dolls made our of wool! So imaginative and sweet. We found a place to seat and had lunch. I chose a lamb and salad wrap. The lamb was delicious and there was lots of salad in the wrap to make it extra healthy!

We walked back to the Lodge and our room was ready, it was just as I thought, very clean, with the nicest view and a table and 2 chairs to sit outside on the balcony. The bathroom was huge, with all the necessities, nice soaps, shampoo and cream. The bed had little candies on it, a fudge candy, very tasty!

The pub next door, The Anchor, was busy on a sunny late afternoon, we planned to go there for dinner. We enjoyed our wine on the balcony and watched a fishing boat come in and clean their fish from the days catch.

We walked to the Anchor, sat outside and enjoyed a very good meal.

The next morning, we had continental breakfast. There was much to choose from, cereals, yogurts, fruits, toasts and jam. A hot breakfast was offered for a price, however we felt we had plenty to eat.

I throughly enjoyed my stay at the Harbourside Lodge. The hosts are very helpful and friendly, the lodge is clean and I enjoyed my view and balcony.

HIghly recommended!

Room Tip: View of the harbor!
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jet803329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CJElbe, Owner at Harbourside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and share your experience on Nelson with others.
It is lovely to hear that your enjoyed the local Market with all its food stalls and crafts, it really does have something for everyone to enjoy.
We hope your travels continued to be as wonderful. kind regards Cathy and David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews