We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ambleside Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
The Sails Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boutique Motel Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmoral Motel(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Delorenzos Studio Apartments(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbourside Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aloha Lodge(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$64/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$102
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beaches Nelson(Nelson)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$75
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$40
US$39
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (197)
Filter reviews
197 results
Traveller rating
186
11
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
11
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblueberry pancakessuperb hospitalitylavender roomnew zealandextensive listpaul janetguest loungecozy roomhoneymoon suitesouth islandlinden leavesperfect hostsbreakfast choicesabel tasmanhot tubfresh fruitother guests
Filter
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 197 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2012

In February 2012 we travelled from Vancouver, Canada to New Zealand for a 4 week vacation. Nelson was our second stop on the South Island, and we stayed at Ambleside B & B for a total of 3 nights. What a fantastic experience - 5-star treatment from the pick-up at the airport to the last breakfast in the lovely garden!! Robyn and Kees are warm, friendly people and perfect hosts. The breakfasts were exceptional, and all the fruit is from the garden. All their recommendations of what to see and do in the region were very useful.

We highly recommend this B & B. It is a welcoming place and so much more than a place to stay and eat - it is an opportunity to meet two remarkable people (Robyn and Kees).

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margot S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeesRob, Owner at Ambleside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2012

Thank you so much for your very kind comments. Hosting is such a pleasure when we have such lovely guests such as these. it is our absolute pleasure to be able to do everything possible to make the stay a memorable one. Thank you so much for the wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Relatively expensive for a B&B, but Kees and Robyn go all out to make it well worth the price. I was given the "Lavender Room", and it was very comfortable (and beautifully colour-coordinated!). All rooms have en suite bathrooms, all very clean and well appointed. There's a guest lounge, where everyone tends to gather in the evening for some interesting and lively conversation - with the hosts joining in. Tea, coffee and snacks and fruit are always available, and you are offered beer and wine. Breakfast is served outside in warm weather, at one large table with a 'lazy susan' so everyone can help themselves. And what a breakfast! Robyn asks you in the evening what you'd like the next day. There's everything you could think of, all beautifully cooked, including Kees's home-made blueberry pancakes, and his pastries.
The best thing about it all is the warmth with which Kees and Robyn welcome you, and they're full of suggestions about where to go and what to do. The result is a very friendly atmosphere.
I hope to come again and I'll stay longer next time!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chopper48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Robyn and Kees are exceptional hosts. We arrived in Nelson and despite being early, Kees was very happy to pick us up from the airport. We were instantly made welcome with a drink and baking.Our room was clean comfortable and quiet with en-suite. The separate guest lounge is a bonus with snacks and coffee etc available at all times. We were very surprised in the evening to be treated to wine, cheese, biscuits, fruit and port. The breakfast was excellent (cooked and continental)- one of the best we have experienced on our travels, the presentation was perfect, the taste wonderful and the food ample. The location is within walking distance to the beach and restaurants. I would certainly recommend Ambleside B&B.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeesRob, Owner at Ambleside Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful and very kind words! We try to make our breakfasts our point of difference and with all the wonderful reviews we have about them, it seems like we are doing just that.
We pride ourselves on the service we offer and always striving to improve and do our very best.
Thank you for the amazing review - we are always grateful for the positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We did appreciate our 3 nights-stay at Ambleside with Robyn & Kees who are exquisite host.
Their knowledge of the region will help anyone to get to love the place and want to settle down there. The homemade breakfast is absolutely fantastic, and even if you don't have anything scheduled, you can just sit in the garden and relax in the sunniest place of New Zealand. Have fun and enjoy !

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwi-vanille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Our 6-night stay with Robyn an Kees at Ambleside was a real highlight of our recent trip to NZ. Nothing is too much trouble for them. The accommodation was just beautiful; the breakfasts to die for; the hosts - exceptional! We could not recommend them highly enough. It's not just 'B&B' there; they offer so much more and are on hand to help whenever needed.

Room Tip: All are lovely; we had the Cream Room.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews