We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Pure perfection in paradise”
other travellers have booked this property
Tapeka del Mar beachfront Sleeps 2-13 Unobstructed views ON an all tide swimming beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tapeka del Mar beachfront Sleeps 2-13 Unobstructed views ON an all tide swimming beach
Superb outdoor living and dining with million dollar views Sandy ALL TIDE swimming beach and diving pontoon in front
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Tapeka del Mar beachfront Sleeps 2-13 Unobstructed views ON an all tide swimming beach
Superb outdoor living and dining with million dollar views
Sandy ALL TIDE swimming beach and diving pontoon in front
Sit down and enjoy the view - glass doors open the living room onto the deck
4 Kayaks, dinghy, mooring and diving pontoon
View from the master bedroom. Direct access to covered verandah, deck and beach
King master with ensuite bathroom, TV, safe, phone and sea views
Modern heated bathrooms
Front bedroom with Queen and Single bed. Sea views and direct outdoor access
Side bedroom - Queen and King Single. Ceiling fan. Verandah access
Rear family bedroom with refrigerator, TV, DVD, sound system - sleeps 5
Relaxing nautical theme with a Cape Cod feel
Onkyo Bose home theatre, DVD, Apple TV and outdoor speakers
Side and family bedrooms. Ample off street parking
Tapeka Beach in front of the del Mar and Tapeka Point - gateway to the Bay of Islands
Tapeka Beach and Point with the Islands beyond
Relax on the deck or the beach
Lots of room inside and out
View from the beach in front past the diving pontoon
Swim with Dolphins off the beach and watch passing Orca whales
Filleting station for the days catch - plus beer fridge and bait freezer
Concrete all tide boat launching ramp 100m away
Volleyball on the reserve opposite
Nearby Roberton Island anchorage and lagoon - the closest to Tapeka Del Mar
Yacht on the deep water guest mooring
Histortic Russell village, restaurants, attractions and boat trips 2 minutes away
Christ Church Russell - oldest in NZ with history back to the whalers and early settlers
Waitangi Treaty grounds and Maori meeting house
Russell Wharf where the passenger ferry to Paihia and Island boat trips depart
Tall ship R Tucker Thomson day sailing from Russell wharf
Please read our TripAdvisor reviews and BOOK NOW
The ultimate Kiwi beach Vacation Rental BOOK NOW!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Russell, Bay of Islands, Northland Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MTGuest5
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pure perfection in paradise”
Reviewed November 8, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

I booked Tapeka Del Mar Beach House for the October long weekend. Some friends of ours did the Annual Coastal Classic Yacht Race from Auckland to Russell and we needed somewhere that was very close to Russell and could accommodate a large group (including WAGs and children of various age groups).

This house is absolute perfection, extremely comfortable in a tranquil location and well provisioned - I will be sure to book it again. It was in the prefect location to sit on the deck and watch the crew head towards the finish line and then close enough to Russell that the WAGs of the crew could head into Russell to meet them as they crossed the finish line. The house has uninterrupted views and access directly to the water and the crew were able to moor their boat just offshore once the race was done and join us at the house.

With such a large group we found the location, views, space and set up of the house exceeded our expectations. The kitchen, large BBQ and deck ensured that meal times were never a drama with trying to feed so many people.

Everything exceeded our expectations - from the well equipped kitchen, large screen TV, Internet Access, Sound System with outdoor speakers onto the large deck, the amazing views, comfortable beds (linen was also supplied which was great), modern bathroom facilities (including an ensuite in master bedroom), ample car parking space, large outdoor dining table, plenty of chairs, games and lots of outdoor space for the kids to run around in and not to forget the safe beach for the kids which was great as we could watch them from the deck.

The close proximity to Russell also allowed us the option of dining out at one of the many cafes and restaurants had we not felt like eating in. Russell itself is a beautiful village with many great shops and art galleries to meander through. We also noted on our way home that there is a winery close by – next time we will be sure to visit this and explore the area a little more.

This house is pure paradise and a great destination in any weather and at any time of the year. What a find! Thank you for such a great weekend – we will be sure to tell others about this piece of paradise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was perfection
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a review. It is great to see all of the facilities put to good use. Given the large group of guests the house was left in excellent condition. We look forward to having you stay again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shiralee...
Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A peace of paradise!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Our stay at Tapeka Del Mar was fantastic. The holiday home was beautiful and the outlook from the huge deck was stunning!! There was always boats to watch and we even had a visit from a pod of dolphins on the Saturday, dancing in the sea right in front of our holiday home. The owners should be congratulated on keeping the property in prisitne condition and the kitchen was superb. Thank you for wonderful weekend. I highly recommend this property in this little world of paradise!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the lounge and the huge deck
Liked least: there was nothing I didn't like. The property was fantastic
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheree S
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Fabulous!”
Reviewed July 24, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We stayed at Tapeka Del Mar for a few days in the July school holidays with our five children (16, 15, 14, 13 & 11) and our dog, Rango. Even though it rained most of the time, we had a really wonderful family holiday. There were lots of DVDs and games, and the teenagers even did a jigsaw puzzle (never seen them do that before!). Such a beautiful outlook and setting. Must be stunning in the summertime. My husband and I went out for a meal at the Duke of Marlborough - totally recommend this restaurant. Husband reckons it was the best pork he has ever had. Three fish were caught from the dingy, just out in the harbour ... and in only 30 minutes! Clive was an exceptional holiday "landlord" and phoned us on arrival to make sure we were settled in okay. Really appreciated his thoughtfulness. We will most definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and views
Liked least: The rain
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2012
Thank you for submitting a review. We are pleased you had a good time despite wet weather. Summer does add another dimension and you are welcome back any time to experience it
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings
Reviewed March 18, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chris C
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“Can't beat Snapper on the BBQ”
Reviewed February 23, 2012 for a stay in January 2012

Wow, what a location right on the beach with a large flat lawn for a spot of touch football.
Nothing like sitting on the deck listening to a little "Adele" with a glass of Sav. Blanc in your hand watching the sun go down over the water, awesome. Clean & tidy with a well-appointed Kitchen. The beds were comfortable & the showers held good pressure. The large bedroom / rumpus room out the back was a great space for our son & daughter to hangout. We struck excellent weather, so plenty of swims & Kayaking prevailed.
With a handy boat ramp we managed to catch two excellent feeds of fish.
(difficult launching at low tide - not a biggy) Tried a couple of inexpensive restaurants in Russell, but let’s face it you can't beat fresh snapper on the BBQ!
Can't wait till next year............ we'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beach Front with easy access to the water
Liked least: Nothing really - can't think of anything
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2012
Thank you for the feedback. You clearly made the most of it and we look forward to having you back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McRae2011
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excelent!”
Reviewed February 23, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

We stayed at Tapeka del Mar for 6 days, 14 of us in total (8 adults, 4 kids under 6, and 2 babies). The location is just perfect, the house was impeccable, and we all fit perfectly in the house.
We spent every evening sitting on the deck and looking at the sun set in front of us. The garden before the beach was great for the kids to play and run. The trampoline was used constantly!
We used the kayaks and dingy constantly. We went out fishing with the kids several times.
The only comment I have is that the "upstairs" bedroom needs a bathroom.

This place is heaven!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkes Bay
Reviewed February 19, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing