We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“THIS IS THE PERFECT FAMILY BEACH HOUSE”
other travellers have booked this property
Tapeka del Mar beachfront Sleeps 2-13 Unobstructed views ON an all tide swimming beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tapeka del Mar beachfront Sleeps 2-13 Unobstructed views ON an all tide swimming beach
Superb outdoor living and dining with million dollar views Sandy ALL TIDE swimming beach and diving pontoon in front
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Tapeka del Mar beachfront Sleeps 2-13 Unobstructed views ON an all tide swimming beach
Superb outdoor living and dining with million dollar views
Sandy ALL TIDE swimming beach and diving pontoon in front
Sit down and enjoy the view - glass doors open the living room onto the deck
4 Kayaks, dinghy, mooring and diving pontoon
View from the master bedroom. Direct access to covered verandah, deck and beach
King master with ensuite bathroom, TV, safe, phone and sea views
Modern heated bathrooms
Front bedroom with Queen and Single bed. Sea views and direct outdoor access
Side bedroom - Queen and King Single. Ceiling fan. Verandah access
Rear family bedroom with refrigerator, TV, DVD, sound system - sleeps 5
Relaxing nautical theme with a Cape Cod feel
Onkyo Bose home theatre, DVD, Apple TV and outdoor speakers
Side and family bedrooms. Ample off street parking
Tapeka Beach in front of the del Mar and Tapeka Point - gateway to the Bay of Islands
Tapeka Beach and Point with the Islands beyond
Relax on the deck or the beach
Lots of room inside and out
View from the beach in front past the diving pontoon
Swim with Dolphins off the beach and watch passing Orca whales
Filleting station for the days catch - plus beer fridge and bait freezer
Concrete all tide boat launching ramp 100m away
Volleyball on the reserve opposite
Nearby Roberton Island anchorage and lagoon - the closest to Tapeka Del Mar
Yacht on the deep water guest mooring
Histortic Russell village, restaurants, attractions and boat trips 2 minutes away
Christ Church Russell - oldest in NZ with history back to the whalers and early settlers
Waitangi Treaty grounds and Maori meeting house
Russell Wharf where the passenger ferry to Paihia and Island boat trips depart
Tall ship R Tucker Thomson day sailing from Russell wharf
Please read our TripAdvisor reviews and BOOK NOW
The ultimate Kiwi beach Vacation Rental BOOK NOW!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Russell, Bay of Islands, Northland Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mikeandbr...
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
“THIS IS THE PERFECT FAMILY BEACH HOUSE”
Reviewed 12 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

You won't find a better spot. On the beach, but also a huge private grass lawn and patio. Kayaks to paddle the bay. A swim platform out in the water. Indoors: spacious, comfortable, modern, clean. AppleTV even! Great kitchen to prepare meals. Laundry was great. Plenty of bedrooms.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“Very relaxing, tranquil and clean accommodation in an spectacular location.”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Our stay at Tapeka Del Mar was amazing. We were an extended family of 7 and were very comfortable staying in this accommodation. Absolutely everything we could ever have wanted was provided for us and the views were incredible. Sitting on the front veranda taking in the sunsets was a highlight and having direct access to walk on the beach an added bonus. We hope to be back one day and would recommend this holiday option to anyone looking to visit the gorgeous Bay of Islands.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tapeka del Mar was simply awesome”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Our visit to Russell, staying at Tapeka del Mar was excellent.

The accommodation was big, very well maintained and situated right on the beach. There were 7 of us staying and we were all very comfortable in the accommodation. The property is very well stocked and the furniture and fixtures and fittings were more akin to being at home rather than a rental property.

There was a huge deck for us to relax in the evening and sip our drinks as we watched the most glorious sunsets. The children could also play on the trampoline on the large grassed area between the decking and the beach.

There is plenty to explore around Tapeka as well. I went hiking round the various local trails for a good 5 hours or so one morning, up to Flagstaff as well as discovering hidden coves.

A little further afield were the town of Russell (lots of interesting history) and just across the water Paihia. We loved being able to forget about what time it was, just enjoying the beautiful scenery and discovering hidden gems as we explored. We had access to kayaks and so we ventured out on the ocean one day, even though it was NZ winter. I would certainly recommend Tapeka Del Mar for a long weekend (or even longer) to relax and enjoy the beauty and tranquillity that Bay of Islands has to offer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting on the deck watching the sun set
Liked least: Nothing = all was excellent
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2016
We are so pleased your family enjoyed the time at Tapeka del Mar despite it being mid winter. The feedback is appreciated and we hope you can return - perhaps during the summer months when the all tide swimming and diving pontoon bring on another dimension
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
c-man27
Oxford
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfection in every sense.”
Reviewed 23 June 2016 for a stay in November 2015

My family and I stayed at Tapeka del Mar for 5 nights in November 2015. After touring both South and North islands for a month, this was our last stop in New Zealand before travelling back home to the UK. I booked the property by contacting the owner through the website. Clive was really friendly and prompt with his communication and very accommodating with regard to payment and our booking.

We drove from Rotorua (7hrs) and arrived late at night. Shortly after our arrival, Clive called to make sure we had arrived safely and that everything was in order - a really nice touch. The house is located just outside Russell, along windy roads (look out for Kiwi) and is set literally a stones throw from a beautiful beach and cove, to the point it almost feels as though it is your own private bay. The house has so many rooms, it would be perfect for a large family holiday. The living/dining area is open plan and has windows that stretch the full length of the house giving you plenty of light. Outside, there is a large decking area, supplied with comfy chairs and a lawn that slopes to the beach. One of our most favourite memories was during breakfast and watching our son run off the decking and chase the gulls whilst wearing his pyjamas!

The house is incredibly well stocked...kayaks, fishing rods, BBQ, numerous beds and a complete stereo/music system which plays outside too!

During our stay we were blessed with amazing weather which meant many days spent on the beach and in the kayaks. I even used the fishing rod and caught a fish (a Porai) just off the big rock (to the left of the property) and cooked it for my family on the BBQ. Our 5 nights in the Bay of Islands felt more like its own separate holiday than part of our New Zealand tour.

The house was more expensive than everything else we paid for in terms of accommodation during our stay in New Zealand, but it was worth every penny. If we didn't live in the UK, I would be back every year! It was quite possibly, the best 5 day 'mini-break' we have ever had.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2016
Thank you for the detailed review. We are thrilled your family made the most of the location and facilities and found it value for money. As you discovered it has very unique attributes not found in your typical holiday house. We hope BREXIT provides a future opportunity for you to return
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chaflanag...
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
“Our favourite place literally in the world!”
Reviewed 28 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

First stayed here 10 years ago on our first trip to NZ so when mum and dad came out to visit me here I had to take them back! It really is an unbeatable spot. Private lawn that leads straight to the beach, so quiet and stunning at night time. Only a couple of mins drive to the small town of Russell for food supplies (great for the bbq!!) or things to do. House is in immaculate condition with great things to do. (Board games, sound system, dvd's etc) There really is nothing you can fault with the place. You can't beat waking up to the view of Tapeka point and all the boats and the beach... This place really does hold a special place in our heart! Can wait to visit you guys again soon. Worth every penny!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Dec 2015
Thank you so much for the unprompted review. It was fantastic to be able to greet you and your UK based parents in person. We are pleased you all approve of the various improvements we have made since your stay 10 years ago. It is touching you cherish it as much as we do. We look forward to your next stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica T
1 review
“Perfection”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Tapeka Del Mar was just marvellous. The location can't be beaten, right on the beach; and the house was immaculately clean and spacious. We had an amazing time, and I'm already looking forward to returning...can't recommend this property enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the property overlooking the water
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty P
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
“The Ultimate Tapeka Point Experience”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This holiday home is a magnificent way to experience Tapeka point. Breathtaking outlook, beautifully equipped, comfortable beds, plenty of land for the kids to play cricket and the separate living quarters for the teenagers worked beautifully. Just over the hill to the historic and quaint Russell. To top it off the weather was amazing and we were able to experience the hole in the rock, deep water cove wreck dive, amazing island beaches, snorkeling, kayaking and fishing. The boat ramp is a stones throw away and the Bay of Islands is a magical playground for boating. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2015
Pleased to hear the house worked so well for a large family group. Thank you for the comments and adding photos from your stay. Perfect weather is always a bonus as is having your own boat to experience all the Bay of Islands has to offer. We welcome your return
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$195
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing