We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Old World Charmer”
Ounuwhao Guestlodge sits along-side a reserve and opposite the sea
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ounuwhao Guestlodge sits along-side a reserve and opposite the sea
Ounuwhao from the reserve alongside Ounuwhao view from the sea in Matauwhi Bay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
Ounuwhao Guestlodge sits along-side a reserve and opposite the sea
Ounuwhao from the reserve alongside
Ounuwhao view from the sea in Matauwhi Bay
Guestlodge, wrap-around verandahs with views to the sea
Townsend Room: with queen bed and ensuite bathroom, both claw-foot bath and large shower.
Knight room in the main guestlodge with queen bed opening onto the front verandah and conservatory
Ounuwhao Guestlodge, Guest room with ensuite bathroom
Dining room with Breakfast around the farmhouse table
Breakfast @ OUNUWHAO: 'Ham & Egg Cups'
Garden Suite: with s/king bed and seperate entrance and verandah over-looking the cottage gardens
Kauri Wash-stand feature in the garden suite, also with spa bath and shower over
COTTAGE view to the sea with pretty gardens
COTTAGE lounge/dining room woth kitchen in b/ground
COTTAGE Master bedroom with king bed and double ensuite bathroom
COTTAGE, twin bedroom or s/king also with ots own bathroom
COTTAGE, double ensuite bathroom also with sunken bath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Russell, Bay of Islands, Northland Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Magnolia4...
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Old World Charmer”
Reviewed January 19, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

We stayed at the Garden Suite (cottage) at this B&B for 3 nights, and found it comfortable and enjoyed sitting on the verandah and eating alfresco in its small private garden. The larger surrounding garden was charming, and fresh cut flowers through out the house added appeal. Marilyn was a a creative cook and her breakfasts featured home made bread and muffins, and some interesting egg dishes. On arrival we were warmly greeted and offered a cool drink and cake.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The breakfasts
Liked least: The busy road leading into Russell.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janice J
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay”
Reviewed March 4, 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 5 nights staying in the garden suite of this fantastic B&B, situated 10 minutes stroll from Russell. I can honestly say it was one of the best B&Bs we have stayed in, if not the best.
The room was immaculate and had everything that you needed and more.The breakfasts were to die for, not the place to stay if you want to lose weight!!
Marilyn's patchwork quilts were truely inspirational. I would reccommend this B&B to anyone without hesitation. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hospitality, friendliness and the breakfasts!
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NCook77
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great, homely feeling place with lots of space"”
Reviewed February 2, 2012 for a stay in January 2012

We stayed in the cottage and my parents stayed in the garden suite. The cottage was spacious which was great because it rained almost the whole time we were there and our 18 month old had lots of room to explore. We put breakables out of his reach and he loved being there. The rooms were lovely as was the bathroom. The decor is dated but this didn't bother me.All in all it was a great family holiday. My parents loved the garden suite and the breakfast that came included. Great value for money in Russell.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Reviewed May 24, 2011 for a stay in January 2009

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
jd14bayeu...
Nonant, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2018 for a stay in January 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing