We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy appartment with stunning views and excellent...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Du Fresne

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Du Fresne in centre front of picture
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Villa Du Fresne in centre front of picture
Villa from front lawn
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Russell, Bay of Islands, Northland Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Stijn107
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy appartment with stunning views and excellent hosts”
Reviewed January 23, 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Villa du Fresne has been the prefect place to stay with our son (12 months). We enjoyed the stunning view on the bay of islands, and the beach is only a two minutes stroll away. Maureen and Ron have been prefect hosts, very well equipped kitchen. It has been every thing we hoped for and more, defintely would reccommend it to friends and we hope to be back ourselves as well.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Mar 2016
Thank you for your honest review and it was so lovely to have you stay at Villa Du Fresne and hope to see you back some time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mike C
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“superb in every way”
Reviewed March 28, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Retired I, my wife and our female cousin adored our six days. More a boutique hotel than a holiday let; each morning, starting with our personal sunrise we enjoyed the stunning views from the cliff top where the ocean offered a fresh interest every moment - including large and small boats and sighting of dolphins and the adjacent islands. Here you can stumble to the pebble beach immediately beneath or find an excellent sandy beach just around the corner. Russell is a decent walk but short drive away.
Our hosts Maureen and Ron were unobtrusive but nothing was too much trouble proving very supportive particularly helping to fix up ongoing travel arrangements and we left good friends. The property is beautiful, comfortable and totally flexible - either as two separate apartments or as one spacious dwelling for the three of us; it would be difficult to find a better stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: no issues
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeslieSK
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Spectacular direct view of the ocean, comfortable accommodations and fantastic hosts.”
Reviewed January 16, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

My husband and I stayed with friends in January 2015 and were amazed at the spectacular direct view of the ocean. It was wonderful to open the floor to ceiling glass doors after a sound night's sleep and enjoy the summer breeze and sunshine. Our hosts were gracious and always available to answer any questions. Only wish we could have stayed longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accommodation and hosts
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary M
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Heavenly Villa Du Fresne is my idea of Paradise.”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

My husband and I arrived on 30 January and had the most wonderful four night stay in this idyllic apartment. We were warmly welcomed and made to feel we were family. Maureen and Ron are very hospitable and attentive without being intrusive and nothing is too much trouble for them.
The accommodation is immaculate and spacious and the view of the Bay of Islands will stay with me for ever and the dolphins when the boats are close by.
If you are in Russell you will be very fortunate if you manage to stay with Maureen and Ron. They are exceptional and very special people and you feel privileged to have met them and shared their beautiful facilities.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Reviewed January 16, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dunedin
Reviewed January 9, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
UK
Reviewed January 8, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing