We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just loved it!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hananui Lodge Motel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just loved it!!”
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this lovely little place. I think it was value for money considering the location and the fantastic view and that is comparing it to the places we stayed throughout NZ. Super friendly hosts. Very clean rooms and just a wonderful ambience and excellent little cafes and restaurants on your door step. John and Rongo are the friendliest people you will meet. would not hesitate to return for a visit. We had a side view of the sea which was lovely.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieVick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    39
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
54
171
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Hananui Lodge is excellently placed, right on the main street but we were disappointed to have a room which had a view that was mostly of the car park next door and not a full sea view. In addition, breakfasts were not included so this turned out to be by far the most expensive of the 13 B&Bs and motels at which we stayed on our trip round New Zealand. The room was spotless, light and airy with a small balcony and adequate kitchen facilities. John and Rongo were very friendly and helpful and there were good stores nearby to purchase provisions.

Room Tip: Insist on a room with a full sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKArnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We had a fantastic stay at hananui lodge despite opening up our suitcases with a bottle of red wine spilt everywhere!!! Not a problem, as our hosts provided us with everything we needed to clean it all up and laundry everything!!!! Wonderful accommodation and location literally right next to everything that's happening!! We will definitely be back and would very highly recommend this to anyone!!!! Thank you!!!! :)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smilyfifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long eaton
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

New Zealand, Bay of Islands,. Stayed at the Duke of Marlborough Friday 13th Jan 2012 and it was excellent. However, it was fully booked the following night so we strolled down the road to the Hananui Lodge. It's fair to say we are not comparing apples for apples but the Hananui is right up there. For me money is a consideration and on that basis the Lodge fully deserves its No 1 billing. To add to that. Mine Hosts, John and Rongo are the friendliest, most knoweledgeable people you could wish to meet. There are two rooms equipped for people with disability and the bathrooms are huge.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SJRlongeaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

My wife and I stayed here over the Christmas break. It is easy to see why it is ranked #1 in Russell on TA.
We stayed in one of the apartments (11 I think) It was very spacious. Spotlessly clean. Well appointed. Nice balcony overlooking the street below. And came with undercover secure parking.
John & Rongo were wonderful hosts. Keep up the good work guys.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommyfromsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed here over New Year and it was a perfect start to the holiday. I couldn't get over how amazingly clean the apartment was and it's location was spot on, right near the sea front and feet away from fabulous restaurants.

It was quiet and peaceful and the owners were very welcoming.

Russell itself is a quaint and beautiful little town in the Bay Of Islands, great for kicking back or enjoying the tours of the islands.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moscow / russia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2012

If you are looking for a accomodation in Russell.
"Hanaui Lodge" , spotless clean, friendly service, cant find a better position

Room Tip: Balcony unit 7 or 8 or one of the absolute seafront
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hpm37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.2 km away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.4 km away
Motel Russell
Motel Russell
#5 of 8 in Russell
115 reviews
0.3 km away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
626 reviews
5.9 km away
Cook's Lookout Motel
Cook's Lookout Motel
#2 of 43 in Paihia
946 reviews
0.4 km away
Duke Motel
Duke Motel
#4 of 8 in Russell
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hananui Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hananui Lodge Motel

Property: Hananui Lodge Motel
Address: 4 York Street, Russell 0242, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Russell
#3 Family Hotel in Russell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hananui Lodge Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hananui Lodge and Apartments! Hananui Lodge is located right on Russell's waterfront with unobstructed sea views and the Hananui Apartments are situated on Russell's main road, only 100 metres away from the water's edge. Whether you are looking for a romantic hideaway accommodation, a holiday of action and excitement, or somewhere special to take the family - Hananui Lodge and Apartments can accommodate your every need. Your Hosts, John and Rongo are locals of the area and will make you feel welcome, so much so that you won't want to return home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hananui Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hananui Hotel Russell
Hananui Lodge Motel Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing