We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A charming location for the perfect holiday.”
View of beach from balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of beach from balcony
Dining area Living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
View of beach from balcony
Dining area
Living area
Living area
Living area
Rear courtyard
Twin bedroom
Master bathroom
Front of the apartment (upstairs)
Russell waterfront beach
Balcony of the lounge
Main bathroom
View for the upstairs balcony
Russell waterfront beach
Kitchen
Kitchen
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Russell, Bay of Islands, Northland Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Happiness...
1 review
“A charming location for the perfect holiday.”
Reviewed February 13, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

This is the third time we have stayed in this beautiful apartment with stunning views over the water and harbour. It's really comfortable and spotless - the owners have done a great job. When sitting on the balcony you can watch the activity all along the waterfront. The location is amazing! We ate in the Gables Restaurant below - the menu is really good (including local whole snapper). The supermarket and everything you need is close by.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2018
Thank you - so pleased you love the apartment as much as we do!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flyer7531...
1 review
“A wonderful combination of style,charm, harbour views and comfort in the tropical north of NZ”
Reviewed January 31, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Russell is an iconic destination in New Zealand with historic buildings to visit, beautiful beaches and daily boat trips to see marine life and islands to explore.
The Gables Waterfront Apartment is the perfect location for visitors: seconds from the wharf, the historical buildings and the many restaurants and bars. The apartment is spacious, supremely comfortable ....... but the wow factor is the view of the bay and the wharf.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2018
Many thanks for your great review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackjenm...
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Apartment on Waterfront”
Reviewed January 5, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We arrived on 29 December 2017 for a week's stay and were immediately impressed with the apartment and the facilities within the apartment. Beds were comfortable, lounges comfortable and the kitchen had pretty much everything we needed for our meals.

What we didn't realise, and on reflection should have checked beforehand, was that there is NO allocated parking which at this time of year can make it very challenging to get parking close to the apartment. There is parking at the car park next to the town hall and we were lucky to get a park.

Russell itself is a beautiful little village but again at this time of the year is extremely busy with tourists. Major cruise lines arrive pretty much everyday and tender hundreds of people into Paihia and Russell. The apartment is above The Gables Restaurant which has tables outside on the waterfront and whilst I checked reviews there was no comments as to whether it was noisy or invasive so felt comfortable about the location. We could not have been more wrong! Whilst we couldn't hear the patrons inside the restaurant, the people who were outside drinking, eating and smoking cigarette and even cigars until late in the night severely impacted our ability to enjoy the apartment. It was extremely hot and humid during our stay which meant that we needed to have the windows and doors overlooking the balcony open and the stink from smoking was disgusting.

The interesting part of this is that the apartment is smoke free and no children under 10 years old are allowed to stay. If smokers do stay then there are instructions in the guidebook in the apartment that they have to leave to have a cigarette and ensure that no smoke drifts into the apartment! We had to tolerate drunks, smoking and children screaming relentlessly during our stay from the restaurant downstairs (I am a mother and a grandmother so actually love children!).

The restaurant also had speakers which are bolted to just below the balcony which blare out music from 12 noon when they open to when they close which was pretty much midnight. On New Years Day it rained constantly but the music was on all day and night with no patrons sitting outside. I went downstairs at around 9:30pm and asked the staff when we could expect the music to be turned off considering no-one had been outside all day or night. Their response was rude and dismissive even though I pointed out that I was NOT complaining but merely asking a question. Their response was that we were above a restaurant and to suck it up. They also have a bar out the back called Hones which pumps out pizzas and beers etc so be prepared to have the constant smell of food and noise coming from the back of the apartment where the bedrooms are. Staff also bang around slamming doors and making as much noise as possible whilst packing up at the end of the night. There is absolutely no regard for the guests above them.

A word of warning that The Duke of Marlborough Tavern which is located on the street behind us also get an extended licence until 3:00am for bands to play. We were lucky that they mostly shut down around 2:00am and then we could sleep!

To be brutally honest, as seasoned travellers we were naive to think that being above a restaurant would be OK and take full responsibility for booking there. I am however extremely surprised that no-one has raised these concerns before.

Would I recommend The Gables Apartment - no I wouldn't but not because of the actual apartment. They do need to provide fans which would allow guests to close the windows and doors and get some air. I purchased a small fan for my room which I left there and this made a huge difference to my sleep. The major issue is the restaurant downstairs and the noise.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2018
Thank you for taking time to write such a comprehensive review. In the height of the season the Russell waterfront becomes a bustle of activity
and more like a Italian coastal village with children playing on the beach (screaming sometimes!) and swimming, tourists wandering and dining al fresco. Our guests seem to enjoy this and of course out of holiday season Russell is a haven of tranquility. We gave much thought to the soundproofing of the apartment which we believe works well. If you would like to elaborate further to me privately on the rude and dismissive member of staff I will follow up on this.
Thank you so much for leaving a fan. We will purchase a couple more for use when the weather is hot and guests do not want to have windows open. Great idea!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidlaid...
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“A superb stay in Russell”
Reviewed November 22, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Simply a lovely, stylish, well appointed apartment in a superb location and in a great historic property right on the Strand.
Jenny and Robert were great to deal with. Helpful in every way.
Great value. A pleasure in every way.
Thoroughly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
538jonath...
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
“Fabulous accommodation in divine setting”
Reviewed December 25, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

A wonderfully appointed two bedroom apartment overlooking gorgeous Russell harbour ... style and quality plus right on the waterfront. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne...
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Winter sunshine and luxury”
Reviewed July 14, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is a wonderful place. A few steps from the beach and with absolutely everything provided in top order, this is the ideal option.
We arrived the day before the town filled for the Birdman Festival, so enjoyed a crowded and later, a usual version of the population. All fantastic fun.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mal555tas
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed April 19, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Good to see after several years of usage (and reviews) this comfortable and cleverly designed accommodation venue is still spotlessly clean, immaculately presented and tastefully decorated. As a previous reviewer has implied, a perfect blend of history and contemporary comfort.
Hard to imagine a better location in the historic and beautiful seaside village of Russell, literally a short stroll to any shop or attraction in the immediate area or a short ferry trip across the Harbour to the busier, larger Paihia.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing