We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely serenity”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Loft Studio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Loft Studio
Queen, Kitchenette and En suite
Private Gazebo and BBQ Area
Sunset On The Bay
Sailing Regatte Viewed from Property
Entry Path Palms and Bromeliads
Beach Toys
Local Residents
Boardwalk to Russell
Sunset from the Beach Patio
Morning Paddle to Russell Pier
Island Exploration
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Russell, Bay of Islands, Northland Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pplum1818
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely serenity”
Reviewed March 25, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful location of Bay of Islands!! Even caught a couple of handy size snappers out on their beach,, had for dinner!! Plenty of highlights here!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“In 5 weeks in NZ, the night we want to forget”
Reviewed March 19, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

The location is good. Cleverly created space over the garage/boatshed. And what we saw of the garden looked inviting. But this is not a place we would want to stay again. We left after one night having paid for 2. The septic tank sends urine smells into the back of the loft, unless you close the window. Judging by their smell, the pillows are still the original. The kitchenette is less well equipped than the average en suite in NZ hotels. Eg no bread knife, toaster, and greasy cooking utensils and plates. There are no blinds for the skylight windows, so bad luck if you wanted to sleep much beyond sunrise and have forgotten your airline sleep mask. This could easily be kept at a ‘perfectly fine’ standard. But I am afraid that currently it is not as portrayed and it offers very poor value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2018
Within a few minutes of guest's arrival they were already on the phone making other arrangements and unwilling to speak with either myself who tried to welcome them, or my husband who also attempted to reach out. This property was clearly not a good fit from the start and I believe the basic concept of what we have on offer was entirely missed. No, you did not smell septic as that would not be possible but rather the composting worm farm that has since been moved. (We are organic gardeners who offer fresh produce to our guests) Sorry about the ceiling skylights not having a blackout curtain - an architectural feature positioned to capture moonrise/sunrise and ocean views, framing 3 specimen King Palms. The kitchenette (not a full kitchen) includes a Breville convection oven/grille/toaster which many Americans are unfamiliar with. Had I been given an opportunity to meet and greet you we may have covered this. We have 3 sizes on Scanpan all purpose knives. Apologies for greasy cooking utensils, my bad for trusting the previous guests. That is something I should definitely be checking. Apparently you had no interest in visiting our private beach or using the stand up paddleboards, kayaks, fishing dinghy or other sports equipment which is included in our fare. It's a pity you couldn't address your concerns as I would have happily refunded your money and sent you on your way. We have 56 reviews on airbnb and 98% are 5 stars. I would have to give you a 2 bubble review for poor communication.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kilbi
busselton
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning in all ways”
Reviewed November 23, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The help from Cindy was excellent in preparation for a special occasion, the accomodation was spotless, the views were spectacular, easy access to the location, local tourist attractions close by ie Omata Winery and the standup boarding was beyond our expectations and we did not want to leave.
Al and Cindy were so helpful and we will return in the future for another special occasion.....I am 65 next year....there we go!
Thanks Cindy and Al.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tropevent...
Ventura, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful loft, wonderful hosts, gorgeous location”
Reviewed November 9, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Wow--everything exceeded our expectations! Cindy and Al were wonderful, interesting, well-informed hosts. The loft was exactly what we wanted--a beautiful, private getaway in the tropical vegetation, overlooking Bay of Islands. It's just a short little walk down to the beach and we enjoyed the kayaks and paddle boards. The outer islands were spectacular and we highly recommend that visitors to Bay of Islands go check them out. Russell was a nice happy hour spot with shopping and small supermarkets, and we thought the Waitangi treaty grounds and museum in nearby Paihia were really well done and informative for those interested in some NZ history. Enjoy this lovely slice of NZ paradise!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrequentF...
1 review
“Tropical paradise!”
Reviewed October 28, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Cindy and Al were such lovely host and with such an amazing property too! The gardens can only be described as a tropical paradise, the views were amazing and inside there was everything you could possibly need.
Would absolutely recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin C
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to celebrate our 20th anniversary!”
Reviewed October 22, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

What an absolutely perfect place to experience the Bay of Islands! Cindy and Albee were great hosts - generous, friendly and well informed about the area. The kayaks were a bonus and the view from the loft was amazing. We thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our stay and we were particularly happy with our choice of accommodation. We will definitely be back and we will definitely stay at the Bay Of Islands Beach House Loft!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2017
Thank You Gavin & Claire. We look forward to your next visit - you guys are great!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan M
Balmain, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing secluded getaway, perfect way to rejuvenate after busy work days”
Reviewed May 13, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We enjoyed three nights at the Beach House Loft. It was just what we needed to slow down after hectic work days and prepare the route for the rest of our New Zealand holiday. The loft is separate from the main house, quiet, clean and nicely appointed. Has wifi access and great massage shower. Being a loft, when sun shines all day (which it did while we were there) it is warm and requires no heating.

It is about 10 minutes drive from Russell township and fully self service so best to stock up on the essentials before you stop for the day. Barbecue is available to cook your own dinner or lunch, but we chose to eat out for lunch rather than have dinner.

You can be as active or sedentary as you wish. The double kayak did not get a workout while we were there but we did have walks along the little private beach.

Really we would rather keep this location a secret, but that would not be fair to owners Cindy and Al, who were delightful hosts and willing to be as helpful or as removed as you wish.

We can highly recommend this private little getaway for couples. You will not be disappointed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing