We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
67
24
6
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
24
6
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water pressure in the shower swimming pool excellent amenities room rate hot tub ferry terminal room was spacious in easy walking distance hell hole a great stay overlooking the water motel bbq unit tiles waterfront bay
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 102 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2016

The rooms and hotel location are good except we got very little sleep apparently due to the flag poles knocking in the wind. We didnt think it was very windy but it was enough to sound like a hammer banging on the roof all night. The most disappointing thing was the owners were well aware of the problem so I would have thought they would have fixed it. Wont stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay well away from the flag poles
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honda40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2016 via mobile

Bill and Pat were friendly and made us feel right at home. The spa and pool were great and the open walk through to the beach was amazing. The water from the tap is the best I've tasted. Rain water. Rooms were spacious and warm. Big selection of towels and pillows. Wonderful stay. plenty of places close to eat. Russell was very welcoming.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank Sunfl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 29, 2016

Great central location. Easy access to street and beachfront. The hosts were extremely helpful and went out of their way to make our stay very memorable. The rooms were extremely comfortable and well appointed. There was a fully appointed kitchen

Room Tip: Best views
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 6, 2016 via mobile

We booked quite late in the year and were originally hoping for one of their Seaview rooms but only poolside was available where we had a family 2 bed unit. It was a little pricey but great to be able have the 2 bedrooms. Turned out even better than Seaview as could relax in the room or in the courtyard outside while kids happy in pool. Unit was spacious, comfortable beds, couches and had everything we needed for our stay. Kids spent most of the time in the pool (which needed a bit of a clean) or spa. Great to be able to use the kayaks and bikes also. Friendly hosts who were always around if we needed anything. Great location right on the waterfront so didn't use our car at all. Given lots of towels each day and a good selection of little toiletries. Only downside was an awful smell we noticed on arrival and all through our first night which we finally isolated to the water at the back of the fridge, called bill and it was taken care of right away and problem solved. All in all a very enjoyable time away and would def return again.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 27, 2016

We stayed only two nights (unfortunately) and had a fantastic time. Bill and Pat Noble were extremely friendly and helpful, even helping us secure a convenient parking space close to the hotel. The hotel is perfectly located opposite the main town jetty. Our children loved the pool and spa. Free access to the surf skis and bikes was a bonus. Our room was very spacious, opening up to the pool. It included a good sized kitchen and dining area and two bedrooms. With a number of quality restaurants in Russell located in easy walking distance to the hotel was just ideal. Free wifi was also included. If I find my self heading back to Russell any time soon I will definitely try to stay at the Commodore's Lodge again.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but I guess the ocean view rooms would be best.
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews