We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Noisey”
Review of Commodore's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Commodore's Lodge
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Reviewed 6 August 2016

We were very disappointed in this hotel as we had very little sleep due to the noise of what we discovered the next day was the flag pole banging all night in the wind.
We didnt think it was very windy but it was enough to sound like a hammer banging on the roof all night. The most disappointing thing was the owners seemed very aware of the problem so we were baffled why they hadnt fixed it.

Room Tip: stay away from the flag poles
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nzworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2016

The rooms and hotel location are good except we got very little sleep apparently due to the flag poles knocking in the wind. We didnt think it was very windy but it was enough to sound like a hammer banging on the roof all night. The most disappointing thing was the owners were well aware of the problem so I would have thought they would have fixed it. Wont stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay well away from the flag poles
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honda40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

Bill and Pat were friendly and made us feel right at home. The spa and pool were great and the open walk through to the beach was amazing. The water from the tap is the best I've tasted. Rain water. Rooms were spacious and warm. Big selection of towels and pillows. Wonderful stay. plenty of places close to eat. Russell was very welcoming.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank Sunfl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Great central location. Easy access to street and beachfront. The hosts were extremely helpful and went out of their way to make our stay very memorable. The rooms were extremely comfortable and well appointed. There was a fully appointed kitchen

Room Tip: Best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2016 via mobile

We booked quite late in the year and were originally hoping for one of their Seaview rooms but only poolside was available where we had a family 2 bed unit. It was a little pricey but great to be able have the 2 bedrooms. Turned out even better than Seaview as could relax in the room or in the courtyard outside while kids happy in pool. Unit was spacious, comfortable beds, couches and had everything we needed for our stay. Kids spent most of the time in the pool (which needed a bit of a clean) or spa. Great to be able to use the kayaks and bikes also. Friendly hosts who were always around if we needed anything. Great location right on the waterfront so didn't use our car at all. Given lots of towels each day and a good selection of little toiletries. Only downside was an awful smell we noticed on arrival and all through our first night which we finally isolated to the water at the back of the fridge, called bill and it was taken care of right away and problem solved. All in all a very enjoyable time away and would def return again.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2016

We stayed only two nights (unfortunately) and had a fantastic time. Bill and Pat Noble were extremely friendly and helpful, even helping us secure a convenient parking space close to the hotel. The hotel is perfectly located opposite the main town jetty. Our children loved the pool and spa. Free access to the surf skis and bikes was a bonus. Our room was very spacious, opening up to the pool. It included a good sized kitchen and dining area and two bedrooms. With a number of quality restaurants in Russell located in easy walking distance to the hotel was just ideal. Free wifi was also included. If I find my self heading back to Russell any time soon I will definitely try to stay at the Commodore's Lodge again.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but I guess the ocean view rooms would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Malcolm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed three nights in one of the two rooms that have absolute bay views, those views are to die for. We loved how you have your own little courtyard where you can sit and read with a glass of wine looking at all the activity on the wharf or simply people watch. The unit itself has everything you need although slightly dated but the location more than makes up for that. There's a lovely coffee shop right next door that have great breakfasts and the pub is just a few steps away on the other side. The pub prices for evening meals were quite high but again, I'd pay just for that view. I cannot say enough about this hotels location, it could not be more perfect, the town itself is absolutely gorgeous and it's worth taking the time to wander around, check out the local cemetery too, it's the prettiest one I've ever seen. We didn't use the pool or the other things on offer like the canoes or bikes but it's fabulous that these are available. The hosts are very friendly and helpful, check in and check out was a breeze. If we're ever in Russell again this will certainly be where we stay.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.1 km away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
308 reviews
0 km away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
3.5 km away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
0.2 km away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#4 of 8 in Russell
221 reviews
0.2 km away
Duke Motel
Duke Motel
#3 of 8 in Russell
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore's Lodge

Address: The Strand, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Price Range: $146 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Commodore's Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Commodore's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodores Hotel Russell
Commodore's Lodge Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing