We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay with our family”
Review of Commodore's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Commodore's Lodge
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Reviewed 21 January 2017

We took two apartments (numbers 1 and 3) for four days - one on the waterfront and a larger one just round the side for our daughter and three small children. Everything was wonderful from the genuinely warm welcome from Bill and Pat to the facilities freely available for use such as kayaks, bikes, a barbecue, hot-tub and swimming pool. The location cannot be bettered, right on The Strand, yet it is safe and quiet inside. We had a wonderful few days in the area and topped it off with a late-night viewing of two wild kiwis in the bush area at the end of the street. Not bad for a family from U.K!

Room Tip: Best views are rooms 1 and 2 on the front, quietest are all the others inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed in one of the family rooms in December for two nights and the Commodore was in the perfect location. Our rooms were clean and well furnished, all the facilities were great, and Bill and Pat were excellent hosts. With a great coffee shop across the road, restaurants next door and the main wharf steps away, this is a perfect place for exploring Russell and everything around. Free bikes and kayaks for use, hot tub and laundry as well. Thanks Bill and Pat!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank CongoLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

After traveling all over New Zealand Russell has to be one of the best places that we have been.
Bill and Pat could not have been any more helpful.
The accommodation was spot on for the wheelchair bound traveller, couldn't find a fault with all doors being sliding doors and with the bathroom being very easy to manouvre around.
Outside of the hotel the street is very easy to push along with an accessible ferry craft across to Pahia.
Russell is so relaxing and beautiful that we didn't want to leave.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Bill and Pat were amazing hosts to my Mum's quiet 70th Birthday. Family came from all over New Zealand and we were treated to the best place to stay EVER! Quiet and accommodating but also just around the corner to cafes and the town central...not to mention just a hop, step and a jump to the beach and the Wharf. We very very, very well looked after and would come back again and again. THANK YOU xoxo

Room Tip: We had a room just away from the pool but still right there...brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

We were very disappointed in this hotel as we had very little sleep due to the noise of what we discovered the next day was the flag pole banging all night in the wind.
We didnt think it was very windy but it was enough to sound like a hammer banging on the roof all night. The most disappointing thing was the owners seemed very aware of the problem so we were baffled why they hadnt fixed it.

Room Tip: stay away from the flag poles
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nzworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

The rooms and hotel location are good except we got very little sleep apparently due to the flag poles knocking in the wind. We didnt think it was very windy but it was enough to sound like a hammer banging on the roof all night. The most disappointing thing was the owners were well aware of the problem so I would have thought they would have fixed it. Wont stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay well away from the flag poles
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honda40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

Bill and Pat were friendly and made us feel right at home. The spa and pool were great and the open walk through to the beach was amazing. The water from the tap is the best I've tasted. Rain water. Rooms were spacious and warm. Big selection of towels and pillows. Wonderful stay. plenty of places close to eat. Russell was very welcoming.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank Sunfl0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0.1 km away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.1 km away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#2 of 8 in Russell
298 reviews
3.5 km away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
0.3 km away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#3 of 8 in Russell
215 reviews
0.3 km away
Duke Motel
Duke Motel
#4 of 8 in Russell
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore's Lodge

Address: The Strand, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Price Range: $165 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Commodore's Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Commodore's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodores Hotel Russell
Commodore's Lodge Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing