We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Clendon(Russell)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Duke of Marlborough Hotel(Russell)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Russell(Russell)(Great Value!)
US$65
US$63
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park(Russell)(Great Value!)
US$49
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Russell --Orongo Bay Holiday Park(Russell)(Great Value!)
US$43
US$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hananui Lodge Motel(Russell)(Great Value!)
US$76
US$73
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Russell Cottages(Russell)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$82
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tiki Tiki Ora(Russell)
US$232
US$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eagles Nest(Russell)
US$761
US$705
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
67
24
6
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
24
6
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater pressure in the showerswimming poolexcellent amenitiesroom ratenew zealandhot tubferry terminalroom was spaciousin easy walking distancehell holea great stayfull kitchenoverlooking the waterstayed for nightspatmotelbbq
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 102 reviews
Reviewed December 28, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in one of the family rooms in December for two nights and the Commodore was in the perfect location. Our rooms were clean and well furnished, all the facilities were great, and Bill and Pat were excellent hosts. With a great coffee shop across the road, restaurants next door and the main wharf steps away, this is a perfect place for exploring Russell and everything around. Free bikes and kayaks for use, hot tub and laundry as well. Thanks Bill and Pat!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank CongoLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 12, 2016 via mobile

After traveling all over New Zealand Russell has to be one of the best places that we have been.
Bill and Pat could not have been any more helpful.
The accommodation was spot on for the wheelchair bound traveller, couldn't find a fault with all doors being sliding doors and with the bathroom being very easy to manouvre around.
Outside of the hotel the street is very easy to push along with an accessible ferry craft across to Pahia.
Russell is so relaxing and beautiful that we didn't want to leave.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2016

Bill and Pat were amazing hosts to my Mum's quiet 70th Birthday. Family came from all over New Zealand and we were treated to the best place to stay EVER! Quiet and accommodating but also just around the corner to cafes and the town central...not to mention just a hop, step and a jump to the beach and the Wharf. We very very, very well looked after and would come back again and again. THANK YOU xoxo

Room Tip: We had a room just away from the pool but still right there...brilliant.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2016

We were very disappointed in this hotel as we had very little sleep due to the noise of what we discovered the next day was the flag pole banging all night in the wind.
We didnt think it was very windy but it was enough to sound like a hammer banging on the roof all night. The most disappointing thing was the owners seemed very aware of the problem so we were baffled why they hadnt fixed it.

Room Tip: stay away from the flag poles
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nzworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2016

The rooms and hotel location are good except we got very little sleep apparently due to the flag poles knocking in the wind. We didnt think it was very windy but it was enough to sound like a hammer banging on the roof all night. The most disappointing thing was the owners were well aware of the problem so I would have thought they would have fixed it. Wont stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay well away from the flag poles
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank honda40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews