We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Review of Commodore's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Commodore's Lodge
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

The best part about the Commodore is it's location (on the waterfront, near the end of the ferry wharf) And the owners are very friendly.
However, with a room rate of $310 for a king bed, studio room, I expected a higher standard. To put it simply: this is a 3 star motel, charging 4-5 star prices. The room rates could be justified if the units were refurbished.
The water pressure in the shower was poor and the temperature no hotter than tepid. Bathroom fittings & vanity need upgrading. In spite of advertising free internet, there was none, because the wifi didn't work in the front units. The owners were working hard to try to fix it, but without success. My unit had a musty smell and the bed wasn't comfortable.
In conclusion, I would only return if the Commodore was upgraded.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

9 - 15 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

I've yet to come across a New Zealand motel I like, they all seem to be furnished with items from the 70's, a lack of functioning wifi and some seriously awful bathroom fittings, sadly this one is no better than any of the others.

First the good things:
The apartment overlooked the very pretty waterside of Russell Bay.
The shower worked well.
The room was large.
The outside deck area was great for sitting out in the evening.
There was car parking available at no extra cost

And now the downsides:
There was no air conditioning
The furniture was truly awful, and very uncomfortable
The bathroom fixtures were all plastic, the loo was stained and there was no bath
The bed had clean sheets but these did have some marks on them, and the duvet had no cover on it, which felt odd

Sadly, I did not enjoy the experience of staying here although the surrounding town and countryside is lovely. It may just be that in a England we don't have motels like this, and I know these are something of a NZ institution which may explain the many good reviews. My advice to other Brits is to try B&B's instead (where we had much more luck).

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lagomaggiore2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Stayed for 2 nights and was lucky with the weather. Bill and Pat are the perfect hosts, nothing was a problem. The room was very clean and comfortable. It has a full kitchen with all amenities. Would recommend this lodge.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank tenby50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017

We stayed here over the Christmas. We had an apartment overlook the pool. The room is very clean. The owner, Bill and Pat has kindly given us a box of chocolate as Christmas gift..which made us very welcoming.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank limmo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017

We took two apartments (numbers 1 and 3) for four days - one on the waterfront and a larger one just round the side for our daughter and three small children. Everything was wonderful from the genuinely warm welcome from Bill and Pat to the facilities freely available for use such as kayaks, bikes, a barbecue, hot-tub and swimming pool. The location cannot be bettered, right on The Strand, yet it is safe and quiet inside. We had a wonderful few days in the area and topped it off with a late-night viewing of two wild kiwis in the bush area at the end of the street. Not bad for a family from U.K!

Room Tip: Best views are rooms 1 and 2 on the front, quietest are all the others inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

We stayed in one of the family rooms in December for two nights and the Commodore was in the perfect location. Our rooms were clean and well furnished, all the facilities were great, and Bill and Pat were excellent hosts. With a great coffee shop across the road, restaurants next door and the main wharf steps away, this is a perfect place for exploring Russell and everything around. Free bikes and kayaks for use, hot tub and laundry as well. Thanks Bill and Pat!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank CongoLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

After traveling all over New Zealand Russell has to be one of the best places that we have been.
Bill and Pat could not have been any more helpful.
The accommodation was spot on for the wheelchair bound traveller, couldn't find a fault with all doors being sliding doors and with the bathroom being very easy to manouvre around.
Outside of the hotel the street is very easy to push along with an accessible ferry craft across to Pahia.
Russell is so relaxing and beautiful that we didn't want to leave.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Russell
0 km away
Duke of Marlborough Hotel
0.1 km away
Hananui Lodge Motel
Hananui Lodge Motel
#1 of 8 in Russell
309 reviews
3.5 km away
Edgewater Palms Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Copthorne Hotel & Resort Bay of Islands
0.2 km away
Russell Cottages
Russell Cottages
#2 of 8 in Russell
223 reviews
0.5 km away
Motel Russell
Motel Russell
#5 of 8 in Russell
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore's Lodge

Address: The Strand, Russell 0202, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Russell
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Russell
Price Range: $148 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Commodore's Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Commodore's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodores Hotel Russell
Commodore's Lodge Russell, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing