We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
67
24
6
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
24
6
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater pressure in the showerswimming poolexcellent amenitiesroom ratehot tubferry terminalroom was spaciousin easy walking distancehell holea great stayoverlooking the watermotelbbqunittileswaterfrontbay
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 102 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2017 via mobile

I've yet to come across a New Zealand motel I like, they all seem to be furnished with items from the 70's, a lack of functioning wifi and some seriously awful bathroom fittings, sadly this one is no better than any of the others.

First the good things:
The apartment overlooked the very pretty waterside of Russell Bay.
The shower worked well.
The room was large.
The outside deck area was great for sitting out in the evening.
There was car parking available at no extra cost

And now the downsides:
There was no air conditioning
The furniture was truly awful, and very uncomfortable
The bathroom fixtures were all plastic, the loo was stained and there was no bath
The bed had clean sheets but these did have some marks on them, and the duvet had no cover on it, which felt odd

Sadly, I did not enjoy the experience of staying here although the surrounding town and countryside is lovely. It may just be that in a England we don't have motels like this, and I know these are something of a NZ institution which may explain the many good reviews. My advice to other Brits is to try B&B's instead (where we had much more luck).

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lagomaggiore2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 8, 2017

Stayed for 2 nights and was lucky with the weather. Bill and Pat are the perfect hosts, nothing was a problem. The room was very clean and comfortable. It has a full kitchen with all amenities. Would recommend this lodge.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank tenby50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 5, 2017

We stayed here over the Christmas. We had an apartment overlook the pool. The room is very clean. The owner, Bill and Pat has kindly given us a box of chocolate as Christmas gift..which made us very welcoming.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank limmo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 21, 2017

We took two apartments (numbers 1 and 3) for four days - one on the waterfront and a larger one just round the side for our daughter and three small children. Everything was wonderful from the genuinely warm welcome from Bill and Pat to the facilities freely available for use such as kayaks, bikes, a barbecue, hot-tub and swimming pool. The location cannot be bettered, right on The Strand, yet it is safe and quiet inside. We had a wonderful few days in the area and topped it off with a late-night viewing of two wild kiwis in the bush area at the end of the street. Not bad for a family from U.K!

Room Tip: Best views are rooms 1 and 2 on the front, quietest are all the others inside.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trish N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 28, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in one of the family rooms in December for two nights and the Commodore was in the perfect location. Our rooms were clean and well furnished, all the facilities were great, and Bill and Pat were excellent hosts. With a great coffee shop across the road, restaurants next door and the main wharf steps away, this is a perfect place for exploring Russell and everything around. Free bikes and kayaks for use, hot tub and laundry as well. Thanks Bill and Pat!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank CongoLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews