We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Commodore's Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Hananui Lodge Motel(Russell)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Russell Cottages(Russell)(Great Value!)
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tiki Tiki Ora(Russell)
US$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Russell(Russell)(Great Value!)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Russell TOP 10 Holiday Park(Russell)(Great Value!)
US$49
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Eagles Nest(Russell)
US$1,097
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
67
24
6
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
24
6
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree bikes and kayakswater pressure in the showerswimming poolexcellent amenitiesroom rateperfect locationnew zealandhot tubferry terminalroom was spaciousin easy walking distancetwo nightshell holea great stayfull kitchenoverlooking the waterwonderful hosts
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 102 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2017 via mobile



The best part about the Commodore is it's location (on the waterfront, near the end of the ferry wharf) And the owners are very friendly.
However, with a room rate of $310 for a king bed, studio room, I expected a higher standard. To put it simply: this is a 3 star motel, charging 4-5 star prices. The room rates could be justified if the units were refurbished.
The water pressure in the shower was poor and the temperature no hotter than tepid. Bathroom fittings & vanity need upgrading. In spite of advertising free internet, there was none, because the wifi didn't work in the front units. The owners were working hard to try to fix it, but without success. My unit had a musty smell and the bed wasn't comfortable.
In conclusion, I would only return if the Commodore was upgraded.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 13, 2017 via mobile

I've yet to come across a New Zealand motel I like, they all seem to be furnished with items from the 70's, a lack of functioning wifi and some seriously awful bathroom fittings, sadly this one is no better than any of the others.

First the good things:
The apartment overlooked the very pretty waterside of Russell Bay.
The shower worked well.
The room was large.
The outside deck area was great for sitting out in the evening.
There was car parking available at no extra cost

And now the downsides:
There was no air conditioning
The furniture was truly awful, and very uncomfortable
The bathroom fixtures were all plastic, the loo was stained and there was no bath
The bed had clean sheets but these did have some marks on them, and the duvet had no cover on it, which felt odd

Sadly, I did not enjoy the experience of staying here although the surrounding town and countryside is lovely. It may just be that in a England we don't have motels like this, and I know these are something of a NZ institution which may explain the many good reviews. My advice to other Brits is to try B&B's instead (where we had much more luck).

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lagomaggiore2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 8, 2017

Stayed for 2 nights and was lucky with the weather. Bill and Pat are the perfect hosts, nothing was a problem. The room was very clean and comfortable. It has a full kitchen with all amenities. Would recommend this lodge.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank tenby50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 5, 2017

We stayed here over the Christmas. We had an apartment overlook the pool. The room is very clean. The owner, Bill and Pat has kindly given us a box of chocolate as Christmas gift..which made us very welcoming.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank limmo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 21, 2017

We took two apartments (numbers 1 and 3) for four days - one on the waterfront and a larger one just round the side for our daughter and three small children. Everything was wonderful from the genuinely warm welcome from Bill and Pat to the facilities freely available for use such as kayaks, bikes, a barbecue, hot-tub and swimming pool. The location cannot be bettered, right on The Strand, yet it is safe and quiet inside. We had a wonderful few days in the area and topped it off with a late-night viewing of two wild kiwis in the bush area at the end of the street. Not bad for a family from U.K!

Room Tip: Best views are rooms 1 and 2 on the front, quietest are all the others inside.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews