We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
67
24
6
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
24
6
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater pressure in the showerswimming poolexcellent amenitiesroom ratehot tubferry terminalroom was spaciousin easy walking distancehell holea great stayoverlooking the watermotelbbqunittileswaterfrontbay
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 102 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2017 via mobile

Well maintained units and rooms on waterfront. Self contained kitchen . BBQ onsite. Laundry facility.
Very accomodating manager. Free bikes, canoes on site.
Interior decor a bit dated but perfect for tired fishermen.
Wifi needs a boost as quite variable but included.
Position A in Russell. Definite recommendation.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank uncledes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2017

Service was really good and prompt. Arrived earlier in the day and asked to park our car there, and they already had our room ready and allowed us to check in early with no extra cost. Room was spacious and had all the amenities needed. Nice outlook over the pool and spa, very quiet and safe. So close to the waterfront and township.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilsmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2017 via mobile



The best part about the Commodore is it's location (on the waterfront, near the end of the ferry wharf) And the owners are very friendly.
However, with a room rate of $310 for a king bed, studio room, I expected a higher standard. To put it simply: this is a 3 star motel, charging 4-5 star prices. The room rates could be justified if the units were refurbished.
The water pressure in the shower was poor and the temperature no hotter than tepid. Bathroom fittings & vanity need upgrading. In spite of advertising free internet, there was none, because the wifi didn't work in the front units. The owners were working hard to try to fix it, but without success. My unit had a musty smell and the bed wasn't comfortable.
In conclusion, I would only return if the Commodore was upgraded.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sally A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 13, 2017 via mobile

I've yet to come across a New Zealand motel I like, they all seem to be furnished with items from the 70's, a lack of functioning wifi and some seriously awful bathroom fittings, sadly this one is no better than any of the others.

First the good things:
The apartment overlooked the very pretty waterside of Russell Bay.
The shower worked well.
The room was large.
The outside deck area was great for sitting out in the evening.
There was car parking available at no extra cost

And now the downsides:
There was no air conditioning
The furniture was truly awful, and very uncomfortable
The bathroom fixtures were all plastic, the loo was stained and there was no bath
The bed had clean sheets but these did have some marks on them, and the duvet had no cover on it, which felt odd

Sadly, I did not enjoy the experience of staying here although the surrounding town and countryside is lovely. It may just be that in a England we don't have motels like this, and I know these are something of a NZ institution which may explain the many good reviews. My advice to other Brits is to try B&B's instead (where we had much more luck).

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lagomaggiore2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 8, 2017

Stayed for 2 nights and was lucky with the weather. Bill and Pat are the perfect hosts, nothing was a problem. The room was very clean and comfortable. It has a full kitchen with all amenities. Would recommend this lodge.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank tenby50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews