We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
98
0
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
0
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest rooms attention to detail new zealand luxury lodge farm to table wonderful hosts our honeymoon golf lessons incredible chef gorgeous lodge antique furnitures vegetable garden pre dinner drinks course dinner pavlova every evening bay window
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 99 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2018

I had an outstanding experience when I stayed at the Manse earlier last month. I would not hesitate to recommend the Manse to everybody. The facilities were very nice and the staff very accommodating and friendly. -Thanks again, Natalia

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grotnz, Owner at The Manse, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2018

We stayed five nights and will miss our nightly drinks, food and conversation with Dietske and Gary who are very gracious hosts. The majority of the food is sourced from their farm and enjoyed meeting the animals. It has been very hard to get back to “real life” and good call on visiting ‘Gods Own’.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank markw123375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grotnz, Owner at The Manse, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2018

Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2018

We will long remember our lovely stay for 3 nights at the Manse. There were 2 guest rooms in this former French Legation on a farm, evening cocktails and private dinners sourced from the farm prepared and presented by our attentive and friendly host and hostess, Gary and Dietske. We enjoyed a wine tour and golf while in the area, but golf lessons by Pro Gary, clay shooting, fly fishing in the nearby river were also available. Hard to go back to real life after this luxury experience.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gwen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grotnz, Owner at The Manse, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2018

Thank you very much. Regards Gary & Dietske

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018

We stayed two nights in the Garden Suite and enjoyed the stay quite a lot.

Hospitality - Dietske and Gary are wonderful hosts. Very friendly and helpful with recommendations and restaurants. Gary is also a superb cook - wonderful breakfasts and the dinner we had one night.

Internet - Fast

Parking - Easy

Room - The room was well appointed. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was excellent with a lovely rain shower. We quite enjoyed the room and access to the other areas of the house (the library and gym).

Food - This is the star of the show. They served lovely canapés and wine every evening before dinner. Gary is available to cook dinner with notice in the evening. We had dinner at the lodge one night and it was superb - everything was locally sourced and well prepared and paired with some very nice and hard to find wines. Breakfast was excellent - bacon from pigs their farm; eggs from their chickens, etc. All excellent.

Location - It isn't in town but outside of it so a car is very handy. The location is excellent for wine tasting. It was a good base for our trip to the area.

Overall, a very enjoyable stay. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank adamtope23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grotnz, Owner at The Manse, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2018

Thank you very much. Regards, Gary & Dietske

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 17, 2018

We stayed for 3 nights in the River View Suite, a gorgeous and spacious suite with an unobstructed view of the valley, as The Manse is perched high up on a hill. The one picture of this suite on their website does not capture the view at all, so it's important to note.

We loved the suite: it is large in size, beautifully decorated, very comfortable bed and pillows, Frette linens on the bed (impeccably pressed) and Frette towels in the bathroom, crystal-clear windows throughout highlighting the amazing views and natural breezes (i.e. 3 sets of double-hung windows in the bedroom overlooking the valley with a comfortable and huge garden/bay window with cushioned seating) and also has a spacious walk-in closet and large bathroom.

Dietske keeps the suites and interior of the house perfectly cleaned, and her attention to detail is also evident during the meals in the way in which the table and food is perfectly set (antique silver, beautiful china, table linens, crystal etc).

We enjoyed one of Gary's 3-course dinners (see menu attached); the food was very good but it was raining during our entire stay so our dinner was served at the dining table that is basically located a step or two from the adjoining kitchen. We would have preferred if the weather cooperated so we could have dined outside in a more romantic and private setting (as other reviewers have noted). Dining inside for such a beautiful meal felt a little like having much-too-nice of a dinner at the kitchen table. Loved that dining table for our wonderful breakfasts, just not as much for dinner.

Re breakfast...one morning we asked if Gary could do eggs benedict for our cooked breakfast. He asked if we wanted to add spinach and when we said 'yes' he went straight out to the gardens to pick some spinach leaves and served it moments later in our breakfast entree along with his own bacon and fresh 'eggs from the girls'. Delicious! Now that is a farm to table experience that can not be beaten!

The property and gardens are gorgeous and attention to detail throughout sets The Manse apart from other options in the area. Would highly recommend!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karen o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grotnz, Owner at The Manse, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2018

Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews