We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee and pastry”

Ya Bon French Baker
Ranked #6 of 9 Quick Bites in Hastings
Restaurant details
Reviewed March 2, 2018 via mobile

Friendly staff great coffee and pastries for light breakfast. Not cheap but good quality. Also sells bread and cheese. Steady stream of locals popping in for supplies.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Rosemary V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 17 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2018

Second time in and buying cheese from an assistant who seemed surprised. Cheese excellent the palavar in purchasing it not so. The place is nice and the product good, just what we need here, however the staff are completely rudderless and seem to fall into a stupor if not roused, i also cannot believe the ensemble some of them think its ok to wear into work. Someone who can command the place would easily take it to a 5+ cafe

Date of visit: February 2018
2  Thank mark w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2018

Five dollars for a doughnut or pain au cholcolat to take away is overpriced.

I queried being asked for $20 for two doughnuts & two pains au chocolat and was told the new price. I merely raised my eyebrows (in shock) and immediately got a defensive "I don't make the decisions" in return.

I also pointed out that the bottoms of the pain au choc were overdone and she said she 'likes them crunchy".

The owners may say they have reluctantly had to increase prices because of the price of butter, or something, but it is actually just a blatant rip off.

I guess someone has to pay for the swanky new premises. Not me - it is no longer worth it.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
1  Thank PH1Napier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 24, 2017

A flaky light apricot Danish and a very satisfying coffee...just the thing for a winter's day.
Always lovely pastries and the filled rolls are excellent...bread baked on the premises, blue cheese and walnut , ham and Brie or tuna.

Date of visit: June 2017
Thank ausgezeichnet70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2017

Lovely clean coffee shop with Devine pastries on offer.

Staff very friendly and helpful.

Can't believe we have such a wonderful place like this in Hawkes Bay.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank 14lorann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ya Bon French Baker also viewed

Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
Hastings, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Ya Bon French Baker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing