We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Villa Buena Onda(Playas del Coco)
US$328
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Puerta del Sol(Playas del Coco)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 05/08
US$70
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Savannah(Playas del Coco)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Coco Beach & Casino(Playas del Coco)
US$99
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Coco Palms(Playas del Coco)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$68
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabinas Coco Azul(Playas del Coco)(Great Value!)
US$34
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa(Playa Hermosa)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$155
US$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel & Villas Huetares(Playa Hermosa)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$88
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa del Sueno(Playa Hermosa)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
10
25
20
15
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
25
20
15
8
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 78 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2018

We wanted to trade our timeshare for Costa Rica and this was the only resort available through Interval International. When we arrived, they did not have our reservation and had to make calls and after 20 minutes they gave us an older room in the back, #830. The 2 bedroom unit was clean and lots of windows but quite noisy and so we couldn't keep the windows opened at night. Also, our patio was on a walkway near the street so we had no privacy. Several nights there was loud music and partying late. Also, the room smelled bad, sorta moldy.
The pools were clean and very busy.
The kitchen was well equipped and we used it often.
Since most timeshares have activities and more upscale restaurants and amenities, we were expecting a little more. We did not eat the restaurant.
The wifi did not work in our room and we had to walk to the reception, and even there it was spotty.
If you stay here you should rent a car so see the many beaches in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sam1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 11, 2017

Like others I was with a group. Each of us was provided a wrist band, two towels and one card key. Rather than welcoming us we were warned that loosing a towel or card key would cost us. Our room was at the very back of the property which was about two blocks from the office and hard to find. Luckily we were helped by a security officer. Our shower head had a gadget with wires attached to it. During my shower the hose dislocated. I attempted to fix it when I received an electrical shock.

On a positive note they have a good restaurant. The menu is varied and the food and service was good. It makes up for the hotel front desk staff.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GloriaSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 27, 2016

As others have mentioned, the hotel specializes in groups and we were part of a Habitat for Humanity group of about 30 people. It does seem like a hotel in search of an identity. It is a reasonably priced hotel for groups but it also has time shares and villas. The majority of people staying there when we were there were Costa Ricans. It seems like a local resort. It was a nice hotel but seemed like it's "glory days' were over. It could use a freshening up. The staff was helpful and the rooms were clean and maintained. We were there during Costa Rica's first hurricane in 150+ years. We felt safe and dry. Not a leak anywhere. As others have said, we scrambled to get the right number of coffee cups and towels in each room when we checked out. I can see why it is necessary but it does give it a "Big Brother" feel.
There were 2 large swimming pools each with its own bar and restaurant. There is even a small soccer field and a couple of children's playgrounds.
There is a small convenience store next door to the hotel so you can stock your room fridge with drinks and snacks. Coco beach is a few miles away so you need a car if you want to swim or sightsee in the area.
It was a pleasant stay. My only complaint....groups are on a meal plan there. The food is OK but they have a drink dispenser filled with the cheapest juice mix. It tasted like bad Cool Aid. Come on guys, at least mix up a fresh fruit drink!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WintersR4beaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2016 via mobile

Went as part of a tour group. It was dark when we arrived so it was a bit disorienting to get around. It's more like a little self contained village. At the arrival we were given a blue towel and a white towel. We were told it was critical to keep track of our towels and that each one had to be accounted for at check out. What it it with Costa Rica and towels? Maybe it's just the tour we were on, but towels seem to be very valuable. Anyway, the room was tight but nice. The bathtub felt a bit bouncy under the tub. It was a plastic surround and tub, so I guess the underpayment was not totally solid. The bathroom was tremendous, which was nice, as it offered an overflow dressing area since the room was tight. I should add that I was supposed to be in a "family " room because I was with my 2 teen daughters, but it was just a double bed and 2 twins jammed into the space where 1 should be. So it was super cramped. The AC blasted out cold air, so that was a nice change. Oddly enough,one of my fellow travelers said in her room, the a/c only worked if the room key was inserted into a slot on the wall near the entrance door. So, her room was always hot upon reentry. Mine was not like that at all. The pools were clean and big, and the food was ample and yummy!! Also, the bartender made good drinks. There is also a small supermarket adjacent to the restaurant area. The restaurant/bar also seemed to be open to the paying public. Overall, not bad, but could be so much better.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank jpolo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 7, 2016

This was a puzzling hotel: on the one hand, it was run as if it specialized in large groups, on the other hand, it seemed like a time-share. Its identity was fluid.
I was here with a group of about 35 and we were warned in advance not to lose anything from the room. We didn't. They have 2 large pools which seemed to keep people happy, but the rooms were strange. There was NO telephone service room to room, but every room had an ironing board and iron. (?) There was a lack of water in the bathroom while we were there which confounded many of us. Luckily we were snorkeling, so we weren't stuck on a bus for several hours.
They did have good security and a shuttle cart. The employees were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The rooms are chosen from a grouping: there were "villas" which had kitchenettes, and there were regular rooms, somewhat farther away.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank happytrails555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews