We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cooinda Lodge Kakadu
Reviewed 25 October 2017

we stayed there for a few days in a powered van site, the staff at the front office very helpful in arranging us our tours . the meals were good and the pool area was very good. every thing was clean and neat and the grass was kept watered and the amenities were always clean. would advise any one travelling up there to stay and do a chopper flight over Kakadu.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank colleen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
assistmgr2016, Front Office Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Dear colleen t,

Thank you for your review.

All the team at Cooinda Lodge are very happy to read that you had a lovely stay with us and enjoyed the meals, relaxing at the pool and found the front office staff to be helpful.

Yes, the scenic flight is a fantastic option for a magical birds eye view of the enormity and beauty of the incredible Kakadu National Park, It is fantastic that you got to experience it!

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience, we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

Cameron Simpson
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (879)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 879 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017

After coming from the Mecure it really wasnt worth coming here to stay over night as it isnt that far of a drive back to the Mecure. The place is well set up though. Great pools great cafe/bistro to grab a bite to eat. No internet & no phone reception. we used a public phone for the first time in we cant remember & dont rely on getting any shopping there as the small shop is very expensive. the rooms are just portable cabins and beds not very comfy and move about on the tiled floor. Would use it as a half way stop for lunch if you are driving through but not worth staying overnight when u have the mecure at similar rate.

Room Tip: really couldnt say
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuntyMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
assistmgr2016, Front Office Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Dear AuntyMia,

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased that you did enjoy relaxing at the Lodge Pool and having a bite to eat at the Barra Bar and Bistro.

Due to our remote location, currently only Telstra service is available at Cooinda Lodge. We are looking at having Wi-Fi available in the near future. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind Regards

Cameron Simpson
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

As it's heading into the wet season, the weather was pretty hot and clammy and it was such a relief to arrive at Cooinda and spend a few hours in the pool. With the lovely gardens and lawns, the place has a relaxed tropical feel. It's very well run and the rooms are comfortable with both air conditioning and fans so you can take your pick as to which you want to use. The restaurant isn't just the usual junk offered at isolated locations but has a few lighter meals such as salads and bruschetta. This is the best place to stay if going on a Yellow Waters cruise, particularly the dawn cruise, as there's a bus pick up from the resort (and highly recommend the dawn cruise).

Room Tip: Best place to stay for access to Yellow Waters cruise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FawnOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
assistmgr2016, Front Office Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Dear FawnOne,

Thank you for your reviewing your recent stay at Cooinda Lodge, Kakadu.

We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed the beautiful setting, Lodge facilities and the amazing Yellow Water Sunrise Cruise.

Thanks for sharing your comments and for staying with us, we very much look forward to hosting you again soon.

Kind Regards

Cameron Simpson
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

Well well set up place. Clearly still buzzing with activity even as we were heading into the off season. Great facilities in cabins as well as for campers. Good camp kitchen is a real bonus. The kids loved the giant pool.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
assistmgr2016, Front Office Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Dear Richard P,

Thank you for your fantastic review.

We all love hearing that our guests have had a 5/5 stay with us, so it is wonderful that was your experience and that you and your family enjoyed the Barra Bar and Bistro and relaxing in the Lodge Pool.

Thanks for visiting us and sharing your experience, we hope to see you all again soon for another memorable holiday.

Kind Regards

Cameron Simpson
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and found the room adequate for where we were. The photos of the rooms make them look a little more attractive than they really are, however. The lodge itself is quite large and pretty well laid out, and offers two pools and a bar cum Restaurant within the site.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jrandsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
assistmgr2016, Front Office Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Dear jrandsk,

Thank you for your review.

Its great that on the whole you had an enjoyable visit with us and found the Lodge to be well laid out.

We very much appreciate you sharing your comments and hope to welcome you back for a 5/5 stay on your next visit.

Warm Regards

Cameron Simpson
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

All staff here are extremely friendly and all seem really happy in their jobs.
We booked a powered site which had lovely big trees for shade.
As the park wasn’t busy the vans and sites where spread out to give everyone a bit of space.
Toilets and showers where clean and modern.
BBQ areas where good but some people have no idea about cleaning for the next to use no fault of the parks though.
2 swimming pools one with shade and the other a lagoon pool both lovely.
We had great meals at the restaurant on our last day . We booked an extra night so had run out of our own food. Huge hamburgers for lunch and the prices we felt are the same as in Darwin. Dinner was great as well so no complaints from us.
Will stay again

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank mareebali1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
assistmgr2016, Front Office Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear mareebali1967,

What a lovely review! Thank you very much.

It really makes our day when we receive such a positive review. All the team at Cooinda Lodge are delighted to hear that you had a lovely visit and enjoyed the location, facilities and found the staff to be extremely friendly.

We very much look forward to hosting you again, should you wish to plan a return trip please feel free to contact me directly at assistmgr@yellowwater.com.au to make any arrangements for you.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Cameron Simpson
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

The two pools are great, nice and big and needed after a hot day exploring kakadu. The bathroom facilities are clean, spacious and functional. There is a bistro if you can’t be bothered self catering. The bistro itself has a good environment but the food was average.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank AnnaaElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
assistmgr2016, Front Office Manager at Cooinda Lodge Kakadu, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2017

Dear AnnaaElizabeth,

Thank you for your review.

It sounds like you had a lovely visit with us and the incredible Kakadu National Park. Yes, the pool is the perfect spot to relax and revitalise after exploring the sites.

I am sorry that the Bistro food was not to your liking, we are always looking for improvement and appreciate your feedback.

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience, we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Cameron Simpson
Front Office Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kakadu National Park hotels
42.6 km away
Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
Mercure Kakadu Crocodile Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kakadu National Park
1,223 reviews
26 km away
Aurora Kakadu Hotel
Aurora Kakadu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Kakadu National Park
436 reviews
71.7 km away
Hawk Dreaming Wilderness Lodge
Hawk Dreaming Wilderness Lodge
#2 of 5 in Kakadu National Park
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cooinda Lodge Kakadu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooinda Lodge Kakadu

Address: Kakadu Highway, Kakadu National Park, Northern Territory 0886, Australia (Formerly Gagudju Lodge Cooinda)
Region: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Kakadu National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Kakadu National Park
Price Range: C$101 - C$298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cooinda Lodge Kakadu 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by Kakadu National Park at the gateway to the world famous Yellow Water Billabong, relax and re-energise in the air-conditioned comfort of your room. The indigenous owned Cooinda Lodge Kakadu offers easy access to Yellow Water Cruises, Warradjan Cultural Centre, Jim Jim Falls, Twin Falls, Nourlangie, bushwalks and boat entry and exit points for an exciting day of fishing. From our private airstrip take a charter plane for a spectacular birds eye view of Kakadu National Park. After a day of adventure or relaxing by our resort style pools, enjoy alfresco dining and drinks at Barra Bistro Bar or retire to your private patio for a spectacular sunset and natural beauty of the surrounding area. Cooinda Lodge Kakadu has 48 Lodge Rooms, 100 powered and 200 unpowered camping sites. The property has a lagoon pool, picnic and bbq areas, general store, fuel station, tours desk, alfresco bistro and bar, enclosed restaurant,kids playground. All of Kakadu's tours can be booked at the central hub of Cooinda including the award winning Yellow Water Cruises - 2011 & 2009 NT Brolga Award Winner - Major Tourist Attraction, Kakadu Tourism Advenure Tours, Kakadu Air scenic flights, Yellow Water Fishing Tours and much more. Cooinda Lodge Kakadu is indigenous owned business including Yellow Water wetland cruises, Kakadu Tourism Adventure Tours, cultural experiences and accommodation including Cooinda Lodge Kakadu and Cooinda Campground and Caravan Park. We have the largest collection of facilities catering to tourism in Kakadu and are focused on positive outcomes for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples. Kakadu Tourism is owned by the local Traditional Owners in partnership with Indigenous Business Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cooinda Lodge Kakadu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gagudju Lodge Cooinda Hotel Kakadu National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing