We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
Best idea and experience

If you do anything while you are at Uluru do this. We did a 6am ride and it was perfect. Great... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 2 days ago
TraeRock
,
Sydney, Australia
Great way to experience Uluru!

Cycled round the base on cruisers at a leisurely pace it was fun! Good customer service from... read more

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Reviewed 5 days ago
Anna F
Read all 320 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park
from US$615.80
More Info
from US$131.20
More Info
from US$123.90
More Info
from US$164.90
More Info
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveller rating
254
49
11
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
254
49
11
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hired bikes sandy parts bike ride bike racks nice ride no booking whole family soft sand base track photo stops great fun own pace great alternative highlight of our trip three hours highly recommend this experience two hours
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 320 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018

I'm so glad my friend recommended that we hire bikes at Urluru to ride around the base. We never would have made the 10km walk without a lot of complaints from our kids and in some parts the walk would have been boring and way too hot. On the bikes it's closer to 15kms because you pick up the bikes from the cultural centre. We took it fairly slow with loads of photos stops and it took about 2 and a quarter hours. Never mind the distance though we are young-middle aged desk jockeys who never exercise and we managed the trip easily. Our 11 and 12 year old loved the ride and not having to worry about traffic (2 road crossings to watch though) and only had to dodge a few walkers. I'm a bit timid on a bike but we had no trouble finding the right bike for all of us and I found the bikes in perfect condition for their purpose. Make sure you leave early to avoid the heat, take loads of water and fill up at half way. A highlight of our trip for sure.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Misswooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jrare2015, Manager at Outback Cycling, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Hello Misswooly

What a great friend you have :) It's music to our ears that your bike hire around Uluru was a highlight of your trip! That's fantastic. Hope you guys made it home safe and sound.

Jenn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

We hired bikes with our two kids aged 11 and 13 and rode the 15 k to and then around the base of Uluru. This is a great way to do the base walk. More fun than walking! Ride was flat and easy enough. Took about 1.5 hours rather than the 3 hour limit.

We did the ride at 8.30 am and were in shade for about a quarter of the ride. Cost was $45 for adults and $35 for kids. Bikes were in reasonable condition- no complaints. Staff friendly and helpful. We didn’t book in advance and they had bikes suitable for the kids.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Rattyos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jrare2015, Manager at Outback Cycling, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Hi there Rattyos

It is wonderful to hear that you and your family had a great time cycling around the base of Uluru. Our prices since 1 April 2018 have slightly changed from the prices you listed, in case people reading this were wondering.
Fantastic to hear you were able to book the bikes on the spot as well! It all worked out!

Jenn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

Thanks for providing great bikes, excellent service and helpful tips for a very easy but spectacular ride around Uluru. We are used to paying Sydney prices, so even though the bike hire for our family of 4 wasn't cheap, it was great value for money. So much better to be able to take our own time, stop for photos at our own pace, rather than pay for yet another organised group tour. Magical experience, made super easy by your excellent online booking system and prompt return phone calls over the busy Easter weekend. We only had one morning of our long weekend left to fit in this visit to the Rock, and are so pleased we could do this bike ride, it was the highlight of our whole trip. Highly recommended!!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jrare2015, Manager at Outback Cycling, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Hi Kerry M!

Thanks for sharing that feedback! It's great to hear our online booking system is doing its job, and that you were able to speak to someone over Easter weekend when you had questions. Thanks so much for recommending us and we hope you have a safe trip back to Sydney :)

Jenn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our cycle ride yesterday although it was incredibly hot 36 degrees so we only made it to the waterhole and back but the bikes were great

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jrare2015, Manager at Outback Cycling, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Hi Joanne G

Woohooo great to hear you made the journey, despite the hot desert heat! Good on ya :)

Jenn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

You get the best of both worlds with cycling. You can explore and stop anytime you want without a tour to hurry you off (as the Segway tour, you have to move with the group and they do not fully explore the whole of Uluru’s perimeter). You can cycle past the boring long walks and just stop at the destinations that you deem worthy of a photo snap.

Top tip: Bring a fly net!!!! The god forsaken flies were in our faces constantly during the ENTIRE cycle. So please do yourself a favour and bring one. They do not look like the trendiest things, but you can always take them off for photos.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank matthewcN2216HB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jrare2015, General Manager at Outback Cycling, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Hi Matthew C!

HA! Yes the flies can be such as nuisance. We now have a large supply of fly nets in the mobile truck :)

It's great to hear that you enjoyed the option to cycle the full perimetre of the base in your own time, rather than on a tour. It's great for us to hear the reasons people choose to ride, instead of any other activity.

Happy and safe travels!
Jenn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews