We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cycling, Great service”
Review of Outback Cycling

Outback Cycling
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Bicycle hire is available from Outback Cycling's mobile bike shop at the Uluru Kata-Tjuta Cultural Centre. You will find us set up daily in the parking lot. With options for everyone, the whole family can ride around the base of Uluru, getting you up close to the amazing sandstone monolith! If you don't have your own transport, our Bus 'n' Bike package is perfect for you. Ensure you bring plenty of water, sunscreen and appropriate clothing for bicycle riding, and most importantly... your camera! Look for the Outback Cycling rig set up in the Cultural Centre Carpark inside the National Park. Bookings highly recommended.
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

On our bucket list has been to go around the base of Uluru with our boys aged 10 and 7. A walk was possible but not likely to be enjoyed by all especially when the weather is hot. Afternoon temperatures today were 37°. We chose to cycle around The Rock having found a hire facility online before arriving and then a nice brochure upon check in at the Ayers Rock Camp Ground.
So this morning before the heat kicked in we were kitted out with 3 bikes - one with a tag along, by Kyle and Andy who went the extra mile to ensure we were all set up appropriately before heading off.
The cycling is not too demanding but it is on sand, dirt and occasionally over rocks. There is a welcome water station half way around the 10km circuit.
The path is shared with walkers, and you need to be cautious to ensure everyone hears your desire to pass on the left - not everyone gets this and it's the riders obligation to keep things safe.
We made a number of stops on the way around to take photos and read the information boards.
On our return, Kyle and Andy helped out with a classic family photo on the bikes in front of Uluru. We had a great time.

Thank Brad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jrare2015, Manager at Outback Cycling, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Hi Brad C

Thank you for letting us know that you managed to find us online, and also find our brochure whilst at Yulara! It sure is a the perfect way for a family to experience the whole base of Uluru, especially for the little ones on tag-a-longs :)
Great to hear of how helpful Andy and Kyle were. I will pass on your feedback to both of them.

Happy and safe travels to you and your family,
Jenn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"hired bikes"
in 20 reviews
"sandy parts"
in 4 reviews
"bike racks"
in 5 reviews
"great ride"
in 5 reviews
"bike ride"
in 9 reviews
"base track"
in 4 reviews
"soft sand"
in 4 reviews
"year olds"
in 5 reviews
"great fun"
in 9 reviews
"whole family"
in 4 reviews
"photo stops"
in 6 reviews
"own pace"
in 9 reviews
"great alternative"
in 4 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 8 reviews
"highly recommend this experience"
in 3 reviews
"three hours"
in 5 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 4 reviews
Filter

30 - 34 of 256 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018

I'm so glad my friend recommended that we hire bikes at Urluru to ride around the base. We never would have made the 10km walk without a lot of complaints from our kids and in some parts the walk would have been boring and way too hot. On the bikes it's closer to 15kms because you pick up the bikes from the cultural centre. We took it fairly slow with loads of photos stops and it took about 2 and a quarter hours. Never mind the distance though we are young-middle aged desk jockeys who never exercise and we managed the trip easily. Our 11 and 12 year old loved the ride and not having to worry about traffic (2 road crossings to watch though) and only had to dodge a few walkers. I'm a bit timid on a bike but we had no trouble finding the right bike for all of us and I found the bikes in perfect condition for their purpose. Make sure you leave early to avoid the heat, take loads of water and fill up at half way. A highlight of our trip for sure.

Thank Misswooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jrare2015, Manager at Outback Cycling, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Hello Misswooly

What a great friend you have :) It's music to our ears that your bike hire around Uluru was a highlight of your trip! That's fantastic. Hope you guys made it home safe and sound.

Jenn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

We hired bikes with our two kids aged 11 and 13 and rode the 15 k to and then around the base of Uluru. This is a great way to do the base walk. More fun than walking! Ride was flat and easy enough. Took about 1.5 hours rather than the 3 hour limit.

We did the ride at 8.30 am and were in shade for about a quarter of the ride. Cost was $45 for adults and $35 for kids. Bikes were in reasonable condition- no complaints. Staff friendly and helpful. We didn’t book in advance and they had bikes suitable for the kids.

Thank Rattyos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jrare2015, Manager at Outback Cycling, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Hi there Rattyos

It is wonderful to hear that you and your family had a great time cycling around the base of Uluru. Our prices since 1 April 2018 have slightly changed from the prices you listed, in case people reading this were wondering.
Fantastic to hear you were able to book the bikes on the spot as well! It all worked out!

Jenn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

Thanks for providing great bikes, excellent service and helpful tips for a very easy but spectacular ride around Uluru. We are used to paying Sydney prices, so even though the bike hire for our family of 4 wasn't cheap, it was great value for money. So much better to be able to take our own time, stop for photos at our own pace, rather than pay for yet another organised group tour. Magical experience, made super easy by your excellent online booking system and prompt return phone calls over the busy Easter weekend. We only had one morning of our long weekend left to fit in this visit to the Rock, and are so pleased we could do this bike ride, it was the highlight of our whole trip. Highly recommended!!

Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jrare2015, Manager at Outback Cycling, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Hi Kerry M!

Thanks for sharing that feedback! It's great to hear our online booking system is doing its job, and that you were able to speak to someone over Easter weekend when you had questions. Thanks so much for recommending us and we hope you have a safe trip back to Sydney :)

Jenn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our cycle ride yesterday although it was incredibly hot 36 degrees so we only made it to the waterhole and back but the bikes were great

Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jrare2015, Manager at Outback Cycling, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2018

Hi Joanne G

Woohooo great to hear you made the journey, despite the hot desert heat! Good on ya :)

Jenn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Outback Cycling also viewed

Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Red Centre
Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Red Centre
 
Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Red Centre
Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, Red Centre
 

Been to Outback Cycling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing