We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Kevin A
Newcastle, Australia

Dated and Pricey

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 19, 2017
We stayed in this motel a couple of years ago and liked it, so we went back. New owners.
The place is very outdated, tired and over priced for what it is. Not enough powerpoints or inaccessable. Wifi free for 2 hours only.
Date of stay: August 2017
Room Tip: Be early I think it is a truckers motel
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Communal lounge/ TV room
1.8 km from Takanini Park Motor Lodge
1.4 km from Takanini Park Motor Lodge
1.0 km from Takanini Park Motor Lodge
Takanini Park Motor Lodge
0.0 km from Takanini Park Motor Lodge
Free parking
Pool
1.6 km from Takanini Park Motor Lodge
2.1 km from Takanini Park Motor Lodge
MakeMyTrip Motel
2.3 km from Takanini Park Motor Lodge
Room Photo
2.4 km from Takanini Park Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
2.5 km from Takanini Park Motor Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Takanini
Reviews (18)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveller rating
2
3
4
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
2
3
4
5
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 18 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2017

Stayed here for one night. If it'd been anymore I'd have sooner slept in the car.
Adjoining rooms had people coming and going until 1.30 a.m. then they decided to watch Ultimate Fighting on T.V. literally all night long. So loud we could hear the commentary. The other neighbour played loud boom-bass all night!
I went to close the window and the catch came away in my hand.
Had to push close from outside.
No smoke-alarm in room, thought that was illegal?!
No hair dryer.
No shampoo.
The kind of place where you dare not look under the bed, getting into it was squeamish enough.
For $140.00 an utter joke. Visit at your peril.

Room tip: Just drive on and find a different place
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Opua
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 22, 2017

Is located 5 mins walk to Takanini train station, which was perfect for what we wanted. However the standard of the rooms is very average, and that is being on the generous side. Old fashioned kitchen with very basic things provided. Soap was provided in the bathroom but no shampoo or body wash, very poor!! Sky wasn't working on the TV, a guy came and had a look, but had no idea so that was that. Guests in adjacent room sat outside talking at the top of their voices until 1 am, so obviously no noise restrictions in place!!! Clock radio in bedroom had one prong missing on 3 point plug so unusable. On arrival we were told we were getting charged another $30 as there was 4 of us and the room rate was for 3, even though it slept 5!!!! This was not mentioned when we booked through expedia, so seeing as I had the proof in my hand (printed out copy) she had to back down and keep it at the original rate. I think this was done as Auckland was booked out for the weekend and they probably thought they could charge more, not impressed!!!!!!! Overall pretty bad and wouldn't recommend!!! :-(

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarianK837
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 20, 2016

Recently stayed here with a sports team. It well suited our needs as far as location, room configuration and price was concerned. It is in need of upgrading and repair work but for basic, budget accommodation it's ok .
Staff friendly and very obliging. Laundry facilities and pool great.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DorisHawkesBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 23, 2016 via mobile

Stayed there for one night on the way to the airport, and was given.the first room which was close to.the re ar neighbour who I believe was either a pub/nightclub as they partied till 2 am with loud music which made it impossible to sleep until the music stopped. For the room quite spacious, well equipped, with a convertible sofa bed.

Date of stay: March 2016
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank maqh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 13, 2016 via mobile

Stayed overnight, Very clean , good pricing, rooms are abit dated but the service is good, has everything you need and even a pool & kids playground.you get what you pay for, close to shops train station and motorway , would stay here again...

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank aranah2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews