We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Aguzaderas Castle in El Coronil
from US$91.00
More Info
from US$374.30
More Info
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
10
13
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
13
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews be careful bring a flashlight castle climb tower landscape water view sign spring inside
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 28 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2016 via mobile

It was not a castle that we imagined (based on hollywood movies) but more like a fortress. The guide told us that it was built to defend a water source and hence its location at a low terrain (as oppose to the standard ones). Found the narrow windows interesting. Not for viewing the landscape but for achers to shoot and not get shot. Climbed to watch tower that apparently was built to check if other castles were sending messages (by liting fire).

Date of experience: May 2016
Thank Nikonian76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 16, 2015

A very imposing castle and from a distance, almost looks like a childs drawing of how a castle should be! We approached the castle through fields of sunflowers and it was so beautiful. Its set in a very quiet rural area, with plenty of free car parking and places to picnic. Admission is free too. Great views from the top, but the steps are uneven and the handrails don't feel safe, so take care. I have to say I didn't enjoy the walk to the top and the walk down was even worse!!!
We also had a stroll around the sleepy town of El Coronil - just few shops and bars, but it was very pleasant.

Date of experience: June 2015
2  Thank Cerris1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Aguzaderas Castle in El Coronil

On Sat, Mar 1, we were in Utrera, in the Sevilla Province of Spain, about 40 Km southeast of Sevilla. We were staying with

a friend there who works at Moron Air Base nearby. Our friend took us to lunch in Montellano on the A-375 highway.
as we passed El Coronil on the left, we noticed a well preserved castle on the left, inexplicably on flat land, about 300 meters off the highway. On the return, we stopped at the Aguzaderas Castle in El Coronil. It turns out to be a Moorish castle built on flat land to control a spring there which is the source of the Aguzaderas river. The castle has a signboard in English and Spanish describing it, is always open to the public, and free. Adjacent are some houses participating in "Casa Rural" homestays. The walls are very well preserved, but none of the old buildings inside the walls have survived. You can walk around the courtyard, climb the stairs and walk the top of the walls. Most challenging is the climb to the top of the Keep, the large tower above the rest of the castle. This castle is well preserved, as most castles have been ruined, with stones removed. The castle can only be reached by car or bicycle. Too far from El Coronil, unless you are a serious hiker. There are no facilities so you have to bring your own food and water.

More info is available at http://www.andaluciarustica.com/castillo_de_las_aguzaderas_e.htm.

Date of experience: March 2014
1  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 12, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of experience: October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews