We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
199
24
2
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
199
24
2
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rural india spa treatments private pool private dinner local community sita ram rural area morning walk rose petals kitchen garden remote location management team surrounding villages head chef stayed longer the entire staff these issues
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 230 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2018

A lot has already been written about the exemplary service at Aman resorts, Amanbagh delivers in spades from arrival to departure. Every single staff went over and beyond to make our stay a truly memorable one by accommodating every whim, every desire and most certainly every need we could possibly think of.

When they found out that we were celebrating an anniversary, a very special and enchanting blessing complete with traditional Indian floral arrangements and a delicious cake awaited us upon our return from a magical candlelit dinner in a Chhatri.

If I'm not mistaken, the resort covers over 40 acres and with only a few guests during our stay or at any given time, it truly felt like we had the whole place to ourselves.

Another highlight of our stay was the food, which is one of the best of any Aman properties I've been to. The chef also kindly took us on a tour of their kitchen garden where they grow most of their produce.

What a great way to kick start our holiday in this part of India!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sydprime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin v, General Manager at Amanbagh, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2018

Dear Sydprime,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Amanbagh.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the food and the visit to our organic garden with our chef. Our chefs and garden team take great pride in showing off where most of our fresh produce comes from.

We look forward to welcoming you back one day to your Rajasthani home.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2018 via mobile

We have visited many Aman hotels around the world. More important we stayed at four fantastic hotels on our India trip.
But this hotel has a serious management issue. There are many pseudo ceremonies (almost awkward) intended to make you feel special. But this could not be further from the truth.

Positive first:
- High quality real estate with great pool... as always... Aman
- A few very friendly individuals of the staff
- The 1 star goes to the team in the Spa

On the negative side a few examples:

- At the check-in: My wife does not like to stay on the ground floor in hotels. So, I asked if we could have two suites on the first floor. Unfortunately, we booked two suites one category too low. But as it said in our booking „upgrade at arrival if available“ and as the hotel was almost empty, there should not have been a problem. But it took the management more than an hour to discuss the situation. The answer: „The upgrade is only available if you stay for more than two nights. But because you are so special we make an exception and offer you the upgrade for 150 USD rather than 250 USD per room“

- We stayed at the pool for five hours. Somebody brought towels and a glass of water. But that was it. Never again appeared anybody and brought fresh water or anything else (on a really hot day).

- At dinner we had the whole restaurant for ourselves. No other guests. The waiter was not really motivated and we were sitting with the dirty plates till we left. He just did not seem to know that once everybody finished eating it would be good to clear the table.

- The air condition in one of our suites made an annoying noise.

...good management or bad management: as a guest one immediately feels the difference. The Oberoi hotels in Agra and Jaipur, great general managers, great service, a fantastic experience. Amanbagh a great name, but not living up to it.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank realtravelexperts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin v, General Manager at Amanbagh, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2018

Dear realtravelexperts,

Namaskar from Amanbagh. Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear you found Amanbagh to be a high quality destination with a great pool and that you found our staff, particularly a few individuals to be very friendly.
We were pleased to have resolved your concerns with you during your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to your home in Rajasthan in the future.

With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2018

We spent three nights at Amanbagh. It is about a five hours drive from Delhi and it is really worth it. The room was very spacious. The only improvement would be lighting above the sink to be stronger. All the staff was friendly and efficient. Ram, the chef prepared us a wonderful dinner (we would have liked to have a printed menu) just for us.
The following day we had a cooking lesson with Ram followed by a delicious lunch. We recommend both these activities. We visited the ghost city with our good guide Rambo. In the afternoon he took us on the cow dust tour. we saw more goats than cows but it was a close up view of the local life in villages. Rambo lived in one of the villages and was very insightful.
There are many other activities to chose from but we chose to spend some time by the pool.
The gym is well equipped and the gift shop has beautiful items made locally.
The arrival and departure ceremonies were memorable. If we go back to India we will certainly stop again.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mflyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2018

We stayed at Amanbagh at the end of our trip to India, traveling from Jaipur. Having stayed at several Aman hotels, we expected it to be an opulent and restful experience prior to our 30+ hour journey home. It was indeed that, but much more. What we discovered at Amanbagh, which we did not see in the cities is the rural life of India. Amangabh is set a remote and rural community that on the surface seems extremely poor, but once you interact with the locals, many of whom have relatives working at the hotel, the experience becomes magical.

The hotel accommodations are magnificent. The rooms are spacious, well appointed and modern. Wifi and cell service works perfectly. The spa is amazing and the amenities are all top notch. The staff is incredibly welcoming and helpful, and will enhance your experience.

Most importantly, the hotel takes amazing care of you, and if you let them, they will immerse you in fantastic local experiences where you will gain a great respective for Indian people and culture. All in all one of the planet's great experiences.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank jcheld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin v, General Manager at Amanbagh, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2018

Namaskar jcheld,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review about your stay at Amanbagh. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the spa and the service offered by our staff.

We take pride in our cultural heritage and the community we live in. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed enjoyed the local experiences you participated in.

Kind regards
Karin
General Manager, Amanbagh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 12, 2018

Lots of good things happening at the Amanbagh, and it's mainly due to the hard working staff. They were kind, professional, and very attentive. The layout of the buildings create a peaceful and pleasing center pool area that's a joy to see even if it's too cold to use in winter. One evening they surprised us with a delightful outdoor dining experience where the pillars were draped with curtains, the floor was adorned with beautiful flower designs and candles, and personal heaters kept us warm while we enjoyed the musician and our magical dinner. The new chef is bringing his own fair and we were pleasantly surprised by the delicious food which was beautifully presented.

Interesting excursions were offered, and the massages where delightful. All in all, a very good property, and one where we can see returning to in the near future. There are a couple of points that could be improved. First, is the spa waiting area. It's a soulless space, a small room with four doors and extremely uncomfortable chairs. This is where they offer you a cup of tea after a massage and there is absolutely nothing relaxing about it. Best avoided until they create a proper space. Also, the reservation and billing department needs additional training. We nearly cancelled our reservation due to numerous communication issues, the attempt to up-sell excursions in advance, and prior to our arrival they tried to encourage us to check out of the property early on our departure day. Then, upon checkout, there were two billing corrections that needed to happen. It’s always unfortunate when a happy guests needs to hassle over inaccurate charges just prior to departure.

Overall, it's a very relaxing property and you know you will be well taken care of during your entire stay.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onefootathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karin v, General Manager at Amanbagh, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2018

Namaskar onefootathome,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the surprise dining experience, the massages and the service of our employees. Our employees are proud to offer the best service and to share their culture with our guests.

I am sad to learn that we have not excelled in all aspects though and appreciate you bringing this to my attention. If you would like to discuss this with me personally, I add my email address below.

We would love to welcome you back to Amanbagh.
Kind regards
Karin
General Manager, Amanbagh
kvanzyl@aman.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews