We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Five Star stay in Avebury”
other travellers have booked this property
ASH Room.  This is a double room and is located on the ground floor, with its own private bathroom.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
ASH Room.  This is a double room and is located on the ground floor, with its own private bathroom.
Guest Lounge, with big leather sofas and cushions.  Books, magazines and fruit is available here. Fully fitted kitchen, including cooker, hob, extractor, fridge/freezer, dishwasher and washer/dryer.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
80 reviews
ASH Room.  This is a double room and is located on the ground floor, with its own private bathroom.
Guest Lounge, with big leather sofas and cushions.  Books, magazines and fruit is available here.
Fully fitted kitchen, including cooker, hob, extractor, fridge/freezer, dishwasher and washer/dryer.
One of three stylish bathrooms, located on the ground floor, with complimentary White Co. toiletries
View from the Kitchen window.
New Weber BBQ at The Old Joinery
OAK Room.  This has a KingSize bed and en-suite bathroom, with stunning views over open countryside.
One of three stylish bathrooms, located on the first floor with complimentary White Co toiletries.
View from one of the bedroom windows at The Old Joinery.
ELM Room.  This is a twin room with en-suite bathroom and stunning views over open countryside.
View from The Old Joinery - The Cherhill White Horse.
Converted barn style building, set back from the main house, renovated to an extremely high standard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Cherhill, Calne, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 80 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gemmabeag...
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Five Star stay in Avebury”
Reviewed May 10, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This place is perfect! i was visiting Avebury for 4 days, and stayed here for 4 nights, the accommodation is first class, cannot fault it, the rooms are immaculate, the beds and bedding so comfortable, the breakfast delicious, with the best quality ingredients, with beautiful views over the white horse. Nicola is smashing, and so kind and helpful, she really cares that you have everything you need to make your stay perfect.
i will definitely stay here again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It was lovely to meet you and I'm glad that you enjoyed your few days with us. Hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCORN29
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B”
Reviewed May 9, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

This was simply the best Bed & Breakfast I have ever been to. The accommodation was very comfortable and clean, beautifully decorated to a very high standard. On arrival we were made very welcome by the owners Nicola & Paul, who gave us tea and homemade cake which I thought was a really nice touch. It is in a picturess location, with stunning views and lovely walks. The breakfast was amazing, with lots of choice and a variety of fresh fruit. The Garden Room where we had our breakfast had lovely views across the Downs and you could also see The White Horse of Cherhill. We liked it so much we will be staying again in August.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CABBUT
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent B & B”
Reviewed May 6, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Couldn't fault this B&B. Excellent accommodation,with beautiful decor. Made very welcome with tea and homemade cake on arrival. Would recommend the lovely walk up to the White Horse where the view was absolutely stunning. Lovely choice of breakfasts which is served in the Garden Room. Nicola & Paul made us feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Hope to go back again very soon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you enjoyed your trip to Bath on Monday. Look forward to seeing you both again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo W
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Recent stay.”
Reviewed April 28, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

The accommodation was clean, tidy and very comfortable. Location beautiful.
We were made very welcome and Nicola (the owner) was really kind and helpful. The extra touches were great, like booking our taxis and tea with home-made cake on arrival!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review - it was good to meet you both and I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cgrosart
Evercreech, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault it”
Reviewed April 11, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Beautiful accommodation, very well priced and lots of thought and detail has gone into making guests feel special. There are many hotels who could take a leaf out of this book!
Welcoming hosts and very nice breakfast - just wish we hadn't been so tired to enjoy it all more!
Hosts booked us a taxi for our function and provided us with an iron. Nothing too much trouble.
The only MILD criticism (and I know the hosts won't mind me mentioning) is that the room we stayed in had power points on the side of the room opposite to the mirror - which made drying and straightening hair a bit difficult as the leads wouldn't stretch. Maybe an extension cable stashed somewhere would have been great.
The shower was fab and we were made welcome with tea, coffee and cakes on arrival.
Would definitely visit again if we find another excuse to stay in Calne :-)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review .

I am sorry that you had trouble with the socket for the hairdryer not reaching a mirror - there is actually a socket close to the mirror but it is hidden below the desk, so I should have pointed that out to you on your arrival.

I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again one day.

Nicola
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gurudean
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed January 29, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My girlfriend and I stayed here a few weeks ago and it was the weekend of the heavy snowfall. We planned to drive up on the Friday from London which is when the very heavy snow started to fall across Wiltshire. I spoke to Nicola the owner a few times in the morning to check on what the weather was like and despite having paid 100% in advance Nicola said that if we couldn't make it she would happily rearrange the dates for us with no extra charge.

We managed to make it and the area was beautiful. As regards the Old Joinery the rooms are in a coverted barn type building. The standard of decor is outstanding and real care and attention has been taken with every last aspect in the room, I promise you have not stayed in a B&B of this quality.

Breakfast is served in a lovely conservatory dining room (overlooking the white horse on the Downs) which is a separate building to the accomodation approx 20 yards away. Breakfast was outstanding with enough choice to satisfy any appetite.

When we arrived we were greeted with complimentary tea and cakes from Nicola which was a lovely touch. Overall I would highly recommend this place. Nicola and her husband could not have been nicer or done more to help us and we will definitely be back in summer.

The Black Horse pub opposite The Old Joinery is definitely worth visiting for dinner.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us in the snow and look forward to seeing you again in sunnier weather.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyChase
Downham Market, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A superb family run B&B”
Reviewed January 23, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Having read a number of reviews on this site I was expecting great things from the Old Joinery and I was not disappointed. Nicola welcomed us on our arrival with a cup of tea & freshly baked Victoria Sponge Cake! The room we stayed in was the Ash room and although the bathroom was not en-suite it was a very comfortable and clean room with all the facilities you would expect in a bigger hotel. The bed was very comfortable and the linen was well laundered and soft, in fact on arrival back at home I went and bought a couple of towels from the same supplier! The shoes/boots of in the entrance hall works very well especially in the inclement weather encountered at the time of our visit and Nicola supplies complimentary slippers for use in the rooms. We had a comfortable and relaxing sleep and were ready for our breakfast in the morning. Fruit and cereal were freely available and Nicola cooked hot food to order; breakfast was superb, especially the Smoked Salmon & Scrambled eggs that I had. Overall this was an excellent experience in a very pretty part of Wiltshire & I highly recommend it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Old Joinery and hope to see you again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing