We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable Place to Stay, Great Location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casas del Mar Neptunia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casas del Mar Neptunia
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Las Terrenas
Certificate of Excellence
Hudson, NH
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable Place to Stay, Great Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Four of us just stayed at the Casas Del Mar for 5 nights in January 2012. We had the room right next to the office and it was very comfortable, a nice quiet oasis. Our room was bright and colorful, had a great big fan overhead which made the temps bearable, no a/c but we just cranked the fan and we were fine. We had one king size bed and a bunk which was perfect for our group and the price is fantastic....The internet connection was fine where we were and the breakfast and coffee were good. There is a night watchman on site every night and we always felt safe. Suzanne was extremely helpful in educating us about the area and accomodating with our needs. There are no phones in the rooms but she allowed us to use our calling cards with the office phone when we were in need. They will even do your laundry on site for a fee. A very relaxed atmosphere and the location is perfect for the beach, just a 2 minute walk to the end of the road and you are on the beach. Or, if you are interested in restaurants, shopping etc..., just a very short walk for both.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank welshcorgi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    34
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
18
66
28
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Just back from vacation in L.T. second trip there. although we had some rain it was nfl playoffs so watched the games at a great beach bar one love casas del mar is a great little hotel with a truly wonderful owner(Suzanne) and it is her personal touch that makes the place truly special she seems to be everywhere (even on the beach in a stunning string bikini) It is like having a local as your personal guide with tips on restaurants and bars tours etc, to help make your vacation the best possible. The location is perfect(steps from the beach and town),rooms spotless and the staff very friendly I have been many times to the Dominican and would rate the Casa del Mar as 1 of my best hotel experiences ALready planning my next trip Thanks again Suzanne

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rick j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonds, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

From the first moment we got there, until the last moment of our departure, this was the place for me. It has everything you need and none of what you don't (read: a.c., t.v., or bar). I stayed in 3 cities in the Dominican and this by far was my favorite. I would definitely recommend this to budget savvy travelers not looking for the all inclusive resort life. My room had: a hot /cold shower, bathroom, ceiling fan, refrigerator, large bed, a closet, & plenty of lighting. It is within walking distance of all the fun/cool things Las Terrenas has to offer and Suzanne the owner is a very gracious host. She is every-ready to recommend popular daily excursions and gives great advice on food and local business'. The free breakfast is a great addition too! You can tell the owners have a real sense of pride in ownership and value their customers as they treat them like family. I will most definitely be staying at Casas del Mar Neptunia the next time I am in Las Terranas.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dusty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Casas del Mar is a little gem of a place located just east of the centre of Las Terrenas, and just across the street from the beach. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and the staff are pleasant and helpful. Suzanne can always recommend good places to eat, either close by or a short walk away in the old fisherman's village. English is not widely spoken, so take your Spanish phrase book and hit the beach!

Room Tip: Ask Suzanne to see "La cabinita", built from a genuine Dominican house washed ashore after...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Perfect considering the very affordable price. Big room full of warm details, very homely. Bed not that great, neither shower temperature, too unsteady, but the whole place is adorable and the owner, Suzanne, is super nice and helpful. One block away from the main street, so very silent, still yards away from the beach! A great spot in Las Terrenas, would certainly be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotelator62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne S, Owner at Casas del Mar Neptunia, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We regularly hear that our location is second to none as it is within walking distance to a variety of restaurants, bars, shops and supermarkets.

Being new owners of less than 1 year there are still some kinks to work out but it is always welcome to hear how we can make Casas Del Mar Neptunia better for future guests. We plan to get our plumber on the issue of the shower temperature to make it more consistent. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and will do our best to rectify the situation. We are glad you feel you would return to our hotel, if the opportunity arises.

Happy travelling,
Suzanne & Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

I wanted a quiet, inexpensive place to write (with free wifi!) that was not a resort. Casas del Mar Neptunia fit the bill, giving me privacy and space. Seven simple little cottages cluster around a clean, open air breakfast hut, all embraced by a tidy tropical garden blooming with roses, hibiscus and bouganvillea.

Tucked away from the noise of the busy beach road, CDMN provides a serene atmosphere, just a two minute walk to the swaying palm trees and golden sand of the beach. Night noises are the sounds of nature, but I was glad I'd packed ear plugs, as tree frogs, wind in the bamboo and the odd tropical downpour might have interrupted an otherwise great night's sleep on a comfy, firm bed.

The high-ceiling rooms all have ensuite toilet, shower and sink, king size bed, mini fridge for beverages, ceiling fan (no A/C, but I didn't miss it), bedside lights, and beautiful murals painted on the thick cement walls.

The owners are Canadian, and they strive to please. Susie has a big heart was a tremendous help to me as a solo traveler, organizing my transport to and from Samana airport, telling me about all the best local restaurants and showing me the SuperMercados (grocery stores) where I could buy drinks.

I ate great ice cream at the new shop by the bridge into the Fisherman's Village (try the Dulce de Leche - yum!), amazing schnitzel at a German restaurant in town called Las Flechas, and some very tasty shrimp and avocado at Paco Cabana on the beach.

Staff are friendly and helpful; my Spanish is weak, but little Rosanna's English was excellent so communication was fine. My room was clean, and all my belongings secure; including my Apple laptop, which was too big to fit in the room safe.

Laundry service is available for a small fee, which is good for long-term stays, and breakfast was fresh and tasty. As a tea snob, I'd recommend choosing the rich coffee or hot chocolate over Lipton. :)

All in all, a great choice for a beach vacation in an up-and-coming part of the Dominican.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pipesdreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne S, Owner at Casas del Mar Neptunia, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
Thank you for your kind review. It is always great to hear client reviews such as this and makes our job as owners so very rewarding. We, and our staff, always try to make our guests feel as comfortable as possible by giving as much information about local activities, dining choices, and nightlife so they may enjoy their stay to the utmost.

It is true that tropical destinations mean that at night you will hear the sounds of nature, and we thank you for letting future guests know it is always best to carry earplugs if feel this may be of bother to you.

Since collectively, we and our staff speak Spanish, English, French, and Creole, we are always able to communicate and assist our guests.

Muchas gracias for taking the time to write a review, as we really do appreciate it.

Suzanne & Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

I stayed at Casas Del Mar Neptunia only for a night as it was just a weekend break to get in some windsurfing (minus the wind) - but it was a night well spent! Being just off the main road, it's a convenient location - 6 minutes walk from the main town area; 10 minutes to Fisherman's point (West) and 5 minutes from the main beach and Punta Popy (East), with a few restaurants nearby. The room was clean, comfortable and airy with all the basic needs (hot water, in-room safe; ceiling fan; small fridge), and most of all, the staff are attentive and helpful. I'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne S, Owner at Casas del Mar Neptunia, responded to this review, 29 December 2011
Thank you for your kind words. We are happy you enjoyed your 1 night stay and that you feel you will return in the future. Indeed the hotel location is very close to a variety of restaurants, shops and beaches. We, as owners, and the staff want our guests to feel comfortable at all times by keeping a very clean hotel and assisting with recommendations on excursions, restaurants, bars and shopping. We consistently hear from our guests that they love the hotel and the tranquil garden setting while only steps away from all amenities.

Hope to see you again.

Regards,
Suzanne & Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Las Terrenas hotels
0.1 km away
El Rincon De Abi
El Rincon De Abi
#6 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Villas Las Palmas al Mar
Hotel Villas Las Palmas al Mar
#21 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Albachiara
Hotel Albachiara
#5 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Hotel Alisei
Hotel Alisei
#2 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
3.5 km away
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
Resort Costa Las Ballenas
#9 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
4.0 km away
Casa Grande Beach Hotel
Casa Grande Beach Hotel
#22 of 35 in Las Terrenas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casas del Mar Neptunia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casas del Mar Neptunia

Property: Casas del Mar Neptunia
Address: Calle Emilio Prud'homme #1, Las Terrenas, Dominican Republic
Region: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > Samana Province > Las Terrenas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Las Terrenas
#2 Romantic Hotel in Las Terrenas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casas del Mar Neptunia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fantastic location, only a minute walk to the beach and five minutes walk to the town square, numerous restaurants, bars, and shops. Set in a lush tropical garden filled with a variety of the island's flowers and trees, attracting many hummingbirds and other colourful species. Friendly and helpful staff that take pride in the hotel's cleanliness. From the comfortable and charming rooms, french doors open to your porch where you can enjoy the peaceful beauty of the garden. Some guests like to have their breakfast served on their porch, while others prefer to eat in the common social lounge area, where travellers share information about their adventures or their dining experiences at one of the numerous restaurants located within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Casas del Mar Neptunia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casas Del Mar Neptunia Hotel Las Terrenas
Casas Del Mar Neptunia Samana, Dominican Republic - Las Terrenas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing