We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (303)
Filter reviews
303 results
Traveller rating
288
13
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
288
13
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vancouver island wonderful hosts new friends views are spectacular wedding venue each morning british columbia lovely home farm fresh eggs hosts carolyn and steve horses chickens accommodations patio ocean courtenay waterfront
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 303 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2017

We celebrated our 32nd anniversary at the Two Eagles Lodge in Union Bay, BC on Saturday, May 27th. It was a beautiful sunny day, so we walked around the 12-acre waterfront hobby-farm, that has an amazing view overlooking the ocean waters of Baynes Sound and Denman Island. .
We met a couple from New York and another from Scotland.
We had an enjoyable and relaxing afternoon, and took photos of eagles, sea lions, Canada geese, fed carrots to their 2 horses (Angel & Koda) and had visits from their dog Cosmo. We also walked across the road and went down to the beach.
We took a 10 minute drive to Courtenay to have dinner at the Whistle Stop Pub, where we tried their Stonegrill dinner (as recommended by Carolyn). We each ordered an 8oz. AAA Filet Mignon, which was served cooking at the table on super-heated natural volcanic stones. Where we got to sear and cook our steak to our liking. The natural volcanic stone retains a prime cooking temperature for 30 minutes. Was pretty cool (I mean HOT).
After dinner, we sat in the front yard and sipped on champagne over-looking the gorgeous view and watched the sunset.
Breakfast on the front porch was amazing, with an omelette made with farm fresh eggs & ground pork (with special seasonings & fresh herbs), plus pancakes, yogurt & granola, fresh fruit, steel-cut oatmeal, toast, coffee, juice, etc.
Carolyn & Steve were the best hosts, and hopefully we will see our new friends again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cpavan2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle2E, Owner at Two Eagles Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2017

Thank you for not only choosing to celebrate your anniversary at Two Eagles, but for taking the time to write such a detailed review for the benefit of other guests considering our place. We also hope we will see you again soon...and hope you'll come back to stay for a future getaway. Valentine's Day?!?! Cheers & Thank You!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 4, 2017

Carolyn and Steve are lovely, welcoming hosts. They share their love and knowledge with guests and breakfasts are amazing! We had a breakfast to go on our last morning and it was more than sufficient.The rooms are spacious and clean and the views are stunning.

Room Tip: All rooms have views.
Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Marthab124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carolyn2e, Owner at Two Eagles Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

I am so sorry for the delay in this "Thank You" for your review, but the new TripAdvisor system no longer emails me when I have a new review. Anyway, Martha--Thank you for not only choosing Two Eagles, but for taking the time to write your review for others to know about us. We truly enjoyed meeting you both and look forward to seeing you again! Stay in touch! Cheers, Carolyn & Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 27, 2017 via mobile

First trip ever to Vancouver & Vancouver Island from the U.S. (Maryland). Steve & Carolyn were wonderful hosts and made us feel right at home. We were able to maximize our brief time on the island with Carolyn's recommendations and saw and did many things we otherwise were not even aware of (for example, the local pub with the INCREDIBLE filet that you cooked yourself on a heated stone). As the attached pic shows, the scenery was beautiful in a very relaxing setting. We HIGHLY recommend staying at Two Eagle Lodge. As a side note...that Steve sure is handsome!!!!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle2E, Owner at Two Eagles Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2017

Rob, thank you for taking the time to tell others about your Two Eagles Lodge experience and for such kind words. It was a pleasure meeting you two, and we do hope you'll come back with more time to spend so we can share so much more with you. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2017

Great place to enjoy the Island experience, great location on island as easy to get to highway. To travel up and down we took in Coombs and Parksville. Most relaxing spot as view from room is spectacular. Friendly and very helpful hosts. Can not wait to come back!!!

Room Tip: all rooms are great
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigswede17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle2E, Owner at Two Eagles Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2017

Thank you for your time in writing your review to tell others of your Two Eagles' experience. We look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 22, 2017

With spring on the way, many people will start to travel after a long winter, and I wanted to take a moment to mention this lovely B & B. We actually stayed there in January, as we like off season travel, and could not have been more pleased. When we drove up, the lodge itself stood out right away with its commanding presence, and absolutely stunning views of the ocean. Carolyn and Steve were there to greet us, along with a couple of guests on their way out. Carolyn showed us to our accommodations, and what a lovely large room. I loved the simple country design, really cute fully equipped bathroom, and wow the bed rocked. All front windows looked at that ocean view, TV if that is your thing, and the place is spotless, (very important to me). In the morning after a great quiet sleep, we went into the lodge for coffee, and that great farm fresh egg breakfast, and lots of little treats like granola, orange juice, and great array of breads. The location is so central to visiting lots of the area, not to mention all the ferries within minutes, to visit different artisan towns. They are very gracious hosts, with a wonderful business that is so reasonably priced, we can't wait to visit again. Thanks again Steve and Carolyn we will see you soon. Michele and Wade

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michellep8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle2E, Owner at Two Eagles Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2017

Thank you for not only staying with us, but for such a detailed and flattering review. We are so happy you were pleased with stay and look forward to your return, with the hope that you will have more time for us to assist with your island exploring...and more laughs. Until then, thank you for telling others about us. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews