We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Nearby Hotels
Whitsunday on the Beach(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colonial Palms Motor Inn(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airlie Beach Hotel(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peppers Airlie Beach(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
US$171
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Mango House Resort(Jubilee Pocket)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$97
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Sea Resort(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
US$273
US$179
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Discovery Parks - Airlie Beach(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$60
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Whitsundays Rainforest Retreat(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
US$64
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sunlit Waters Studio Apartments(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reef Gateway Hotel(Cannonvale)
US$80
US$75
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (594)
Filter reviews
594 results
Traveller rating
134
150
134
89
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
150
134
89
87
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhitsundays tripdorm roomthe main streethammockslagoonairliekitchenettetoursstorage
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 594 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2017 via mobile

Very basic hostel. Room was ok - very spacious ,however the bathroom was moldy.
Wifi was ok and had a good night at the bar , very busy with good atmosphere.
The kitchen though wow! I've stayed in a lot of hostels in the last 6 months in aus but this was the worst! It's so tiny! Barely any room for anybody's stuff in the fridges and next to no pots or cooking equipment! Had to rent cutlery from reception and when I did they didn't even have any cups! Considering the size of this hostel the kitchen was a huge let down! Needless to say we did not cook that night & was glad to move up the road to the YHA which had a big & clean kitchen

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank BeckySJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllyAlty, Assistant Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2017

Hi BeckySJ,

We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review, and value your feedback.

The issue with the kitchen is one that we are very aware of and are working hard to reopen our second kitchen that was damaged by Tropical Cyclone Debbie a few months ago. We have our housekeeping staff service it 5 times a day to cater for the high number of guests that stay here to keep it up to a high level of cleanliness for your use.
We regularly purchase new cutlery, pot, pans etc, and again, unfortunately due to the high number of guests using the facilities we have been finding that a lot of these are walking, hence how often we replace them. This in no way excuses the poor experience you encountered, however I do hope it helps you to understand a little bit about how the situation has come about.

We are looking to have this rectified within the next 2-3 weeks.

Again, i apologise for your experience with us and if there is anything I can do to offer some discount on future travels or accommodation with Base/Nomads please email me direct - ali@madtravelshop.com.

Kind Regards,

Ally Alty
Assistant Manager
Base/Nomads Airlie Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 23, 2017

perfect location Rooms by nomads pools are awesome nicely styled Laundry facilities are still bung same as when we last visited should really look into it. Shed bar made up for it was TOTES an amazing night the girls that worked on the bar were rad Kitchen in hostel needs a lot of work done on it i mean alot VERY small reception staff were awesome on all 2 visits the girls looked stressed well it is 2 receptions in 1 so everyone remember DONT BLAME THEM if it takes a while you are in AIrlie beach a popular tourist destination AWWWW AND soooooo sad though we were looking forward to seeing Mollie again (Trish) but he is no longer working there with his singing at reception banging out Mariah amazing voice and saying he was her brother lols he was so much fun and welcoming to everyone as well as me and my girl mates also is an AMAZING DANCER ( Trish has a crush on him :D ) hahaha get him back :( love Trish looking forward to our next holiday (whats Mollies FB for trish)

Room Tip: Ask for a room around nomads pool they are very nice and use nomads laundry
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bukagaele47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllyAlty, Assistant Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2017

Hi bukagaele47,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write us such a fun review!

Im so glad you got to meet our famous Moli, he really is a character and brought a lot of life to our hostel. All our staff are awesome and I love that you had so much fun with them. Reception has been a little stressful since Cyclone Debbie wiped out our second reception and we had to combine the two until we rebuild it. We have done our best to put on extra staff and computers for check in, however at times there can be a small que. I appreciate your understanding.

We are in the process of arranging another kitchen, and as you noticed we are only operating the one kitchen at the moment since our second one was damaged also in the cyclone. We have altered our housekeeping roster to ensure they stay on top of the one kitchen we are operating from and it is serviced 5 times a day to cater for the high number of people using it.

Again, thanks for taking the time to leave us such a friendly review and we cant wait to see you again next time you visit the sunny Whitsundays!

Until then, take care and safe and happy travels!

Kind Regards,

Ally
Assistant Manager
Base/Nomads
Airlie Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2017 via mobile

When I went to check in they said they had no record of my booking despite me having email confirmation. It was lucky they had a room left for me. The room was clean and tidy and I had no other issues but I think the rooms are outdated and the taps are quite noisey as well. It's a good location and close to the Main Street with a common kitchen, pool and parking onsite.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Chelle089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASEBackpackerscrew, Assistant Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2017

Hi Chelle089,

Thanks for your review.

We appreciate your feedback and are glad you enjoyed our location and facilities.
I do apologise for the mix up with your booking and really hope we see you again next time you visit Airlie Beach so you can see all our exciting new and fresh renovations.

Until then, take care and safe and happy travels!

Kind Regards,

Ally Alty
Base/Nomads Airlie Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 8, 2017

Basic and clean - not the place you go for luxury. Lighting to and from rooms could be improved to help in the dark when the majority of residents are drunk and in need of help. Not the place for families or those that have done the whole gap year thing already (I'm single and in my late 20's and felt old)........

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 890happyshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASEBackpackerscrew, Assistant Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2017

Hi 890happyshopper,

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review, we value your feedback so we can address any issues that our guests may experience so they don't continue in the future.

We are very strict with noise levels and the time that we close our bar so other guests arent disrupted during the evenings. We find that most of our backpackers that stay with us enjoy having access to the live music and great atmosphere at the bar each night as its a great relaxed and social place to meet and get to know fellow travelers. Im sorry that this wasnt the case with you, we would have been more than happy to shift you to another room further away from the bar had you have visited reception.

We have since replaced many of the outdoor lights that were damaged in the cyclone a few months ago, its been quite a process rebuilding but we are excited to say we are almost there.

We hope to see you again next time you visit the sunny Whitsundays, until then take care and safe and happy travels.

Kind regards,

Ally Alty
Assistant Manager
Base/Nomads Airlie Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 7, 2017 via mobile

We were impressed with our 6 bed dorm room. It seemed mostly clean and was quiet. The beds were comfy too.
The hostel is very central and is a very short walk from the Main Street and marinas. We also really enjoyed going to the shed bar of an evening. The hostel staff were very friendly, although, there were really long queues to both check in and out.
The kitchen at this hostel really let it down. The kitchen is just way too small for the size of the hostel. It would also make it far easier if there were more saucepans and frying pans as each night we would spend 10 minutes or so waiting and trying to gather basic cooking utensils. Due to the high number of people using the kitchen, it was not very clean. It would benefit from being cleaned more regularly during the day, this would make the cooking experience much easier and better.
I would recommend this hostel as we enjoyed our stay at base but the kitchen really lets the place down. It would also be great if the wifi was available overnight or at least turned on earlier in the morning.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank McZoe96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASEBackpackerscrew, Assistant Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2017

Hi McZoe96,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

I'm really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and spent some time at the famous Shed Bar. Its a favourite for locals and backpackers alike as its a great venue to meet people and listen to live music in paradise.

Since your stay we have now reopened our Nomads reception and second kitchen so this has eliminated the long ques and high amount of people using the kitchen.

The wifi here is available at reception from 6:30am - 10pm, otherwise the paid wifi is available in your rooms 24hours a day.

Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again next time you visit sunny Airlie Beach.

Take care and safe and happy travels.

Warm Regards,

Ally Alty
Assistant Manager
Base/Nomads Airlie Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews