We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big let down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Room was in a good location however the rooms felt very unclean. A tap had been leaking quite heavily in our room for at least 3 days. We told them about this and nothing was done about it. Most things in the kitchen were not working or quite dirty. Disappointing considering other base hostels have been very nice. Shame as there is so much potential for it to be even a little nicer.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 806jaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASEBackpackerscrew, Assistant Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Hi 806jaj,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review.
We appreciate hearing back about your experience and areas that we may need to make improvements. Firstly, I apologize for the issues you experienced and that these were not rectified once you had made us aware of them. I have addressed this with our staff that were on duty and have put in place some strategies for the future so this lack of response doesn't happen again.

We pride ourselves on customer service and providing clean and comfortable accommodation for our guests. Our housekeepers service the kitchen five times a day to stay on top of any mess. Unfortunately one of our hostel kitchens was destroyed in the recent cyclone that tore through our town and we have been using just the one since, however I am really excited to inform you that we will have a second kitchen reopened in the next few weeks which will reduce the amount of people using the current one.

I really hope you will come back and check out our exciting renovations and improvements next time you are in the sunny Whitsundays, until then please don't hesitate to contact me if I can help with any future travel plans or accommodation bookings and Ill be more than happy to assist you.

Kind Regards,

Ally Alty
Assistant Manager
Base/Nomads Airlie Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 567 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

Very basic hostel. Room was ok - very spacious ,however the bathroom was moldy.
Wifi was ok and had a good night at the bar , very busy with good atmosphere.
The kitchen though wow! I've stayed in a lot of hostels in the last 6 months in aus but this was the worst! It's so tiny! Barely any room for anybody's stuff in the fridges and next to no pots or cooking equipment! Had to rent cutlery from reception and when I did they didn't even have any cups! Considering the size of this hostel the kitchen was a huge let down! Needless to say we did not cook that night & was glad to move up the road to the YHA which had a big & clean kitchen

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank BeckySJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllyAlty, Assistant Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Hi BeckySJ,

We really appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review, and value your feedback.

The issue with the kitchen is one that we are very aware of and are working hard to reopen our second kitchen that was damaged by Tropical Cyclone Debbie a few months ago. We have our housekeeping staff service it 5 times a day to cater for the high number of guests that stay here to keep it up to a high level of cleanliness for your use.
We regularly purchase new cutlery, pot, pans etc, and again, unfortunately due to the high number of guests using the facilities we have been finding that a lot of these are walking, hence how often we replace them. This in no way excuses the poor experience you encountered, however I do hope it helps you to understand a little bit about how the situation has come about.

We are looking to have this rectified within the next 2-3 weeks.

Again, i apologise for your experience with us and if there is anything I can do to offer some discount on future travels or accommodation with Base/Nomads please email me direct - ali@madtravelshop.com.

Kind Regards,

Ally Alty
Assistant Manager
Base/Nomads Airlie Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017

perfect location Rooms by nomads pools are awesome nicely styled Laundry facilities are still bung same as when we last visited should really look into it. Shed bar made up for it was TOTES an amazing night the girls that worked on the bar were rad Kitchen in hostel needs a lot of work done on it i mean alot VERY small reception staff were awesome on all 2 visits the girls looked stressed well it is 2 receptions in 1 so everyone remember DONT BLAME THEM if it takes a while you are in AIrlie beach a popular tourist destination AWWWW AND soooooo sad though we were looking forward to seeing Mollie again (Trish) but he is no longer working there with his singing at reception banging out Mariah amazing voice and saying he was her brother lols he was so much fun and welcoming to everyone as well as me and my girl mates also is an AMAZING DANCER ( Trish has a crush on him :D ) hahaha get him back :( love Trish looking forward to our next holiday (whats Mollies FB for trish)

Room Tip: Ask for a room around nomads pool they are very nice and use nomads laundry
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bukagaele47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllyAlty, Assistant Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Hi bukagaele47,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write us such a fun review!

Im so glad you got to meet our famous Moli, he really is a character and brought a lot of life to our hostel. All our staff are awesome and I love that you had so much fun with them. Reception has been a little stressful since Cyclone Debbie wiped out our second reception and we had to combine the two until we rebuild it. We have done our best to put on extra staff and computers for check in, however at times there can be a small que. I appreciate your understanding.

We are in the process of arranging another kitchen, and as you noticed we are only operating the one kitchen at the moment since our second one was damaged also in the cyclone. We have altered our housekeeping roster to ensure they stay on top of the one kitchen we are operating from and it is serviced 5 times a day to cater for the high number of people using it.

Again, thanks for taking the time to leave us such a friendly review and we cant wait to see you again next time you visit the sunny Whitsundays!

Until then, take care and safe and happy travels!

Kind Regards,

Ally
Assistant Manager
Base/Nomads
Airlie Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

When I went to check in they said they had no record of my booking despite me having email confirmation. It was lucky they had a room left for me. The room was clean and tidy and I had no other issues but I think the rooms are outdated and the taps are quite noisey as well. It's a good location and close to the Main Street with a common kitchen, pool and parking onsite.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Chelle089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASEBackpackerscrew, Assistant Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Hi Chelle089,

Thanks for your review.

We appreciate your feedback and are glad you enjoyed our location and facilities.
I do apologise for the mix up with your booking and really hope we see you again next time you visit Airlie Beach so you can see all our exciting new and fresh renovations.

Until then, take care and safe and happy travels!

Kind Regards,

Ally Alty
Base/Nomads Airlie Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

Basic and clean - not the place you go for luxury. Lighting to and from rooms could be improved to help in the dark when the majority of residents are drunk and in need of help. Not the place for families or those that have done the whole gap year thing already (I'm single and in my late 20's and felt old)........

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 890happyshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASEBackpackerscrew, Assistant Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Hi 890happyshopper,

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review, we value your feedback so we can address any issues that our guests may experience so they don't continue in the future.

We are very strict with noise levels and the time that we close our bar so other guests arent disrupted during the evenings. We find that most of our backpackers that stay with us enjoy having access to the live music and great atmosphere at the bar each night as its a great relaxed and social place to meet and get to know fellow travelers. Im sorry that this wasnt the case with you, we would have been more than happy to shift you to another room further away from the bar had you have visited reception.

We have since replaced many of the outdoor lights that were damaged in the cyclone a few months ago, its been quite a process rebuilding but we are excited to say we are almost there.

We hope to see you again next time you visit the sunny Whitsundays, until then take care and safe and happy travels.

Kind regards,

Ally Alty
Assistant Manager
Base/Nomads Airlie Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

We were impressed with our 6 bed dorm room. It seemed mostly clean and was quiet. The beds were comfy too.
The hostel is very central and is a very short walk from the Main Street and marinas. We also really enjoyed going to the shed bar of an evening. The hostel staff were very friendly, although, there were really long queues to both check in and out.
The kitchen at this hostel really let it down. The kitchen is just way too small for the size of the hostel. It would also make it far easier if there were more saucepans and frying pans as each night we would spend 10 minutes or so waiting and trying to gather basic cooking utensils. Due to the high number of people using the kitchen, it was not very clean. It would benefit from being cleaned more regularly during the day, this would make the cooking experience much easier and better.
I would recommend this hostel as we enjoyed our stay at base but the kitchen really lets the place down. It would also be great if the wifi was available overnight or at least turned on earlier in the morning.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank McZoe96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASEBackpackerscrew, Assistant Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2017

Hi McZoe96,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.

I'm really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and spent some time at the famous Shed Bar. Its a favourite for locals and backpackers alike as its a great venue to meet people and listen to live music in paradise.

Since your stay we have now reopened our Nomads reception and second kitchen so this has eliminated the long ques and high amount of people using the kitchen.

The wifi here is available at reception from 6:30am - 10pm, otherwise the paid wifi is available in your rooms 24hours a day.

Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again next time you visit sunny Airlie Beach.

Take care and safe and happy travels.

Warm Regards,

Ally Alty
Assistant Manager
Base/Nomads Airlie Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

One of the best hostels I've stayed in so far! Stayed in a 4 bed ensuite for 3 nights. It's on the main road close to all the bars and shops. They have their own bar which is very cozy and they had awesome live music each night. The room I stayed in was massive! Enough power stations and space for your luggage, a desk, big mirror, a little kitchen area (if you want to cook you need to go to the main kitchen area next to reception as there are no hot plates in the rooms, which is fair for safety reasons!). Everything is clean. The houses are surrounded by palm trees which is beautiful! Its also very close to the beach. Would come back any time!!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
Thank Sofigus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASEBackpackerscrew, Assistant Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Hi Sofigus,

Thanks for your review!

Im so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
We love that it is a proper tropical setting on our property with all the palm trees and wildlife. The live music at our bar is so popular with all our guests too.
We are working on building a new kitchen with extra facilities as we speak. This is the last part of rebuilding we have to do since cyclone Debbie and we cant wait!

Thanks again for your review and we hope the rest of your travels are as awesome as what they were here in Airlie Beach.

Take care and safe and happy travels!

Ally Alty
Assistant Manager
Base/Nomads Airlie Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.3 km away
Magnums Airlie Beach
Magnums Airlie Beach
#13 of 56 in Airlie Beach
564 reviews
0.1 km away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#36 of 56 in Airlie Beach
604 reviews
0.9 km away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#22 of 56 in Airlie Beach
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#29 of 56 in Airlie Beach
196 reviews
2 km away
Island Gateway Holiday Park
Island Gateway Holiday Park
#2 of 2 in Jubilee Pocket
173 reviews
1.5 km away
Bush Village Budget Cabins
Bush Village Budget Cabins
#4 of 8 in Cannonvale
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Backpackers Airlie Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Backpackers Airlie Beach

Address: 336 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: $59 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Base Backpackers Airlie Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach has gained a reputation for their stylish rooms, friendly local crew and a fun social atmosphere all in one great central location in Airlie Beach. The hostel accommodation is set amongst 6 acres of tropical gardens with an outdoor swimming pool right in the heart of Airlie Beach. Only 50m to the lagoon, the cafes, bars and shops are on the doorstep and the Abel Point Marina is just a stroll away. We have beds for all budgets - meet other travellers in our clean, comfortable multi-share rooms, all with ensuite and air-conditioning, or treat yourself to a private room with your own corner bath, fridge, air-conditioning, kitchenette & complimentary tea and coffee in the room. We also have loads of camping sites & campervan parks. Base Backpackers Airlie Beach is set up to be your ideal gateway to the Whitsunday Islands National Park with 74 islands and Whitehaven Beach rated as one of the top 10 beaches in the world only a short boat trip away. Off street car park and car/campervan parking while you sail, air-conditioning in ALL the rooms, fully equipped communal kitchen, internet lounge & wireless internet in every room (Global Gossip), fully air-conditioned TV lounge, secure overnight/day luggage storage, BBQ facilities, 24 hour coin operated laundry, fully licensed travel desk to help organise your time in Airlie Beach, EVERYTHING you need in one location! Our onsite Bar serves up the best the best food, and incredible drinks at backpacker prices! Open daily for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner at the best prices intown. Nightly entertainment 7 days a week!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Base Backpackers Airlie Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach Whitsunday Islands, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing