We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel in Airlie”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Backpackers by the Bay
Reviewed 2 August 2017

Peter is a great guy and is so welcoming, friendly and helpful. We loved the beds and that they had convenient shelves for each bed and sliding doors to let air in. The hostel isn't a party hostel which we personally enjoy but at the same time you can still drink alcohol and there is a bar and quiz night which is quite fun. You can get breakfast for $3 which is either continental with fruit or eggs and toast which I've never seen as an option in a hostel before. The bathrooms were clean and the showers were the best of any hostel in Australia in my 15 months. The pictures of half naked men were amusing in the bathroom too! The hammocks are a great lounging place and the patio area in general is relaxing. Some people might complain about the 5 minute walk into town from the hostel but it is so worth it to be away from the hustle and bustle of the town and all the drunkards.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hlmtravels90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peter u, Manager at Backpackers by the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you for all the good words, we couldn't describe our hostel more accurate. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and happy that you liked our hostel and its chilled vibe. Safe travels and many many more good experiences here in Australia :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (430)
There are newer reviews for Backpackers by the Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 430 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2017

This hostel is old fashioned but the beds were comfortable, the toilets and showers were clean, Jo and Lorenzo at reception were lovely and helped us feed the cockatoos and book what turned out to be an awesome Thundercat tour, the atmosphere was relaxed and friendly and everything is pretty much what you would expect from a hostel. It is a 5 minute walk from the main strip so it's nice and quiet. I stayed with two friends and as there was nobody else booked into our room of 4 beds, we ended up with a private room and it came with lockers and blankets (just byo locker and the blankets are thin but it's generally quite warm, even in winter). Overall we were pretty happy with the whole experience!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Veina8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peter u, Owner at Backpackers by the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

thanks for taking the time to make a comment - it means a lot to the staff who really are quite fantastic- travel safe and call your folks to tell them you miss them - you never know when it may come in handy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

I feel harsh leaving a 3 star review because the staff were super helpful and I don't feel the negatives are their fault but I think management need to see truthful feedback.

Pros:
Jo was fabulous on reception - she have us tonnes of advice, helped us book a Whitsundays tour very last minute and sorted out our hostel room etc.
The hostel is sociable with a large communal area which is nice - daily they run quizzes and you can buy food from behind reception. You can buy alcohol in the hostel from the bar or can BYO but no drinking or eating in the rooms(?).
Free Wifi.
Cockatoos come for feeding!
Towels and fresh linen.
Clean room.

Cons:
As some other reviews have said - the hostel desperately needs renovation - cleanliness was a bit of an issue but not due to the staff - more due to how clean can wall cracks or old showers or stained toilets really be. Meant there was always a bit of a grimy feel. The kitchen was super sticky and definitely needs a good clean - and again probably doing up.
They have these fake plants hanging from the ceiling for atmosphere but are full of cobwebs - a very minor point but bothered me.
Bongo drums until midnight outside our AC vent - this wasn't the hostels' fault but some of the guests - I think we were just unfortunate with the positioning of our AC vent, and it wasn't EVERY night.

So all in all, the staff were great and I feel most of the negatives are to do with the building needing upgrading... I probably would stay here again but it was 20 dollars more for a double room here than at magnums so not sure.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for a week in a shared room with 4 beds. I was gone most of the days, but when I got back the people here were friendly. Cool little bar to meet other people.The staff were helpful and great to be around. I recommend this place if you're looking for a cheap accommodation and to be around other travelers. It isn't right in town(5 min walk). No issues getting a good sleep.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
Thank itravelhike2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights prior to our whitsundays trip.
We booked a private room which was nicely decorated although did smell a bit like an old ladies house!
The hostel itself is a steep walk up from the greyhound bus stop and a little out of town but is nice enough.
The showers were communal and not the cleanest we have seen, the kitchen area was well organised and had a big seating area.
The laundry area wasn't overly great as it was $4 a wash and the same for a dry but the dryer didn't even dry our clothes so we ended up spending a fortune!!
Overall the hostel is nice just a little bit pricy for what your getting.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Rachelv93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile

This hostel has a nice little vibe going on, especially when compared to the more party focused hostels in Airlie beach. It has good facilities (a pool, hammocks etc) and is extremely well placed for this getting the greyhound bus. Town is only a 5 minute walk away, really not as far as other posts seem to suggest.
My only critisism is that the toilets could use an update.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

I had booked 2 nights in this hostel 2 weeks after cyclone debbie only because my Airbnb was destroyed by the storm. Now, I am sympathetic to everyone in Airlie beach post debbie, there is a lot of work to do but I felt this hostel was using it as an excuse of sub par standards.

I had booked through booking.com but because of debbie they didn't have a record of my accommodation even though booking.com called me personally to confirm and tell me they didn't have power. I was able to get a bed in a mixed 4 bed room once the receptionist explained she didn't have any record of me. The room hadn't been set up yet, which was fine but the whole hostel just appeared grimy. pre-cyclone debbie dust and dirt. The room was stuffy and tiny, in dire need of updating and the bathroom was in another building on the other side of the hostel and didn't appear to be terrible clean either.

The common area was again dirty looking and humid, there didn't appear to be any air con anywhere in the hostel.

I understand that a cyclone hit Airlie Beach, but this hostel looks like it hasn't had a proper deep clean in years. It needs serious cleaning and probably a renovation. I ended up staying at another hostel in town and for the same price I had a very clean, spacious 4 bed suite with an ensure bathroom and shower, and a mini fridge.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
Thank tighehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 km away
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
#2 of 10 in Airlie Beach
365 reviews
0.7 km away
Magnums Airlie Beach
Magnums Airlie Beach
#19 of 56 in Airlie Beach
496 reviews
1.1 km away
Island Gateway Holiday Park
Island Gateway Holiday Park
#2 of 2 in Jubilee Pocket
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#29 of 56 in Airlie Beach
530 reviews
1.7 km away
Kipara Tropical Rainforest Retreat
0.5 km away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#31 of 56 in Airlie Beach
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers by the Bay

Address: 12 Hermitage Dr, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: $27 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 400 metres from the main street, on the top of a small hill, Backpackers By The Bay has awesome ocean views and offers a very social, warm and relaxed atmosphere. Accommodation is available in four share rooms, one 8 share and doubles. Linen is provided and all rooms are serviced daily. Airconditioning is included during the warmer months (mid Sept to mid May) The hostel has a saltwater swimming pool which is surrounded by hammocks, sun-lounges and palm trees as well as a huge sunbaking deck. A fully equipped kitchen with crockery, cutlery and utensils is provided, as is a laundry. The games room has internet access and pool table. Each night, during 'happy hour' the staff hold social activities to help guests meet each other - these include: *Team trivia competitions with the winners receiving a bottle of champagne. * Wii Sports competitions including Bowling, Tennis, Golf, Baseball and Boxing * Killer Pool comps After all the fun and games, relax and watch a movie on the ONLY outdoor cinema in Airlie Beach (Sunday and Tuesday nights) With the best local knowledge of all the tours in the Whitsundays we can help you choose the best trip for your needs. By the Bay is not affiliated with any tour opperators so we don't force any boat on you. We give you all the info and let YOU pick. We also offer a free nights accommodation and free luggage storage with every overnight sailing tour booked with us The friendly and helpful staff look forward to meeting you! *FREE Courtesy bus service meeting all coaches(between 7am-7:30pm). *FREE Tea and Coffee *FREE Wii Sports game *FREE quiz for a bottle of champagne every night! *FREE hammocks, sunlounges and BBQ use *FREE accommodation and storage (with every overnight trip booked) *FREE linen supplied to all beds *FREE unbiased tour advice- often at standby or discounted prices *FREE Fully equipped kitchen - all cutlery, crockery, pots and pans provided at no charge!!! *FREE Off street parking *FREE WiFi available, two hours on arrival ($4 per 24 hour login logout) *Laundry room with washers, dryer, ironing board and iron *Lounge/TV room with wet weather movie days organized *All rooms serviced daily *Lending library *Safe and secure 24 hour access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Backpackers by the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers By The Bay Hotel Airlie Beach
Backpackers By The Bay Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing