We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Flametree Tourist Village(Flametree)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 01/08
US$94
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Whitsunday on the Beach(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$121
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colonial Palms Motor Inn(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$98
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
at Marina Shores(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$406
US$185
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airlie Beach Motor Lodge(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$126
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Airlie Beach Hotel(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
US$179
US$119
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$143/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Airlie Beach YHA(Airlie Beach)
US$59
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Whitsundays Rainforest Retreat(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$67
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Seabreeze Tourist Park Airlie Beach(Cannonvale)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$97
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Sea Resort(Airlie Beach)(Great Value!)
US$219
US$201
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (467)
Filter reviews
467 results
Traveller rating
217
140
66
17
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
140
66
17
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree wifithe kitchengreyhound bus stopminute walkcommon areasboat tripenjoyed my stayair conrooms are cleanthe east coastgood nights sleepbed dormtown centrebook toursstayed here for two nightsthe main streetquiz
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 467 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2017

This hostel is old fashioned but the beds were comfortable, the toilets and showers were clean, Jo and Lorenzo at reception were lovely and helped us feed the cockatoos and book what turned out to be an awesome Thundercat tour, the atmosphere was relaxed and friendly and everything is pretty much what you would expect from a hostel. It is a 5 minute walk from the main strip so it's nice and quiet. I stayed with two friends and as there was nobody else booked into our room of 4 beds, we ended up with a private room and it came with lockers and blankets (just byo locker and the blankets are thin but it's generally quite warm, even in winter). Overall we were pretty happy with the whole experience!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Veina8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peter u, Owner at Backpackers by the Bay, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2017

thanks for taking the time to make a comment - it means a lot to the staff who really are quite fantastic- travel safe and call your folks to tell them you miss them - you never know when it may come in handy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2017

I feel harsh leaving a 3 star review because the staff were super helpful and I don't feel the negatives are their fault but I think management need to see truthful feedback.

Pros:
Jo was fabulous on reception - she have us tonnes of advice, helped us book a Whitsundays tour very last minute and sorted out our hostel room etc.
The hostel is sociable with a large communal area which is nice - daily they run quizzes and you can buy food from behind reception. You can buy alcohol in the hostel from the bar or can BYO but no drinking or eating in the rooms(?).
Free Wifi.
Cockatoos come for feeding!
Towels and fresh linen.
Clean room.

Cons:
As some other reviews have said - the hostel desperately needs renovation - cleanliness was a bit of an issue but not due to the staff - more due to how clean can wall cracks or old showers or stained toilets really be. Meant there was always a bit of a grimy feel. The kitchen was super sticky and definitely needs a good clean - and again probably doing up.
They have these fake plants hanging from the ceiling for atmosphere but are full of cobwebs - a very minor point but bothered me.
Bongo drums until midnight outside our AC vent - this wasn't the hostels' fault but some of the guests - I think we were just unfortunate with the positioning of our AC vent, and it wasn't EVERY night.

So all in all, the staff were great and I feel most of the negatives are to do with the building needing upgrading... I probably would stay here again but it was 20 dollars more for a double room here than at magnums so not sure.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jess B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 9, 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for a week in a shared room with 4 beds. I was gone most of the days, but when I got back the people here were friendly. Cool little bar to meet other people.The staff were helpful and great to be around. I recommend this place if you're looking for a cheap accommodation and to be around other travelers. It isn't right in town(5 min walk). No issues getting a good sleep.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
Thank itravelhike2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 29, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights prior to our whitsundays trip.
We booked a private room which was nicely decorated although did smell a bit like an old ladies house!
The hostel itself is a steep walk up from the greyhound bus stop and a little out of town but is nice enough.
The showers were communal and not the cleanest we have seen, the kitchen area was well organised and had a big seating area.
The laundry area wasn't overly great as it was $4 a wash and the same for a dry but the dryer didn't even dry our clothes so we ended up spending a fortune!!
Overall the hostel is nice just a little bit pricy for what your getting.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Rachelv93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 27, 2017 via mobile

This hostel has a nice little vibe going on, especially when compared to the more party focused hostels in Airlie beach. It has good facilities (a pool, hammocks etc) and is extremely well placed for this getting the greyhound bus. Town is only a 5 minute walk away, really not as far as other posts seem to suggest.
My only critisism is that the toilets could use an update.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews