We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
26
50
36
18
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
50
36
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dining room magnificent staircase bottle shop stair case friday evening scotch fillet steak delicious lunch single bed heritage listed continental breakfast old style chicken parm pleasant stay the west coast wilderness railway high ceilings couple of nights stayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 142 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2018 via mobile

Beautiful old pub opposite the Railway Station. The interior is full of character and the Heritage listed stair case is superb. The menu is typically pub fare, but the quality, quantity & price are good value. Can certainly recommend the food.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank 352anitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zac S, Public Relations Manager at The Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2018

Hi Anita,

Thank you for your wonderful review! We are very glad to read that you enjoyed your visit with us. We hope to see you back at Empire Hotel in the future!

Cheers,
Empire Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 23, 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for one night and absolutely loved it. Love the heritage listed staircase and the old, yet beautiful style hotel. Friendly, outgoing staff. Possibly the comfiest bed on the West Coast? :). The only thing I can fault this magical place on is that it’s not great for older guests. We’re travelling with my Grandmother who did struggle with the stairs. Having said this, it’s clear that (currently) renovations are taking place so maybe a left may be on the cards. Other than this, everything was fantastic!

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank _rebekahzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zac S, Public Relations Manager at The Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2017

Hi Rebekah,

Thank you for the wonderful review! And thank you for your feedback, we will be taking your comments on board! We hope to see you back at The Empire Hotel in the future.

Cheers,
Empire Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 19, 2017 via mobile

Great food reasonable prices for main with generous serves but a bit expensive for desserts. Dining room lighting is a bit dim so read the menu at the bar when you order. Can get a bit noisy when it's full nut the smaller room off to the side is good if you want it quieter.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Pathfinder745056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zac S, Public Relations Manager at The Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2017

Hello there,

Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review! In particular, thank you for your feedback. We are always looking for feedback from our customers so that we can continually improve their experience. We hope to see you again in the future!

Cheers,
Empire Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2017

Great old hotel with so much character,from the amazing staircase to the old fashioned rooms. The rooms are comfortable and very clean, Showers have good pressure and lovely hot water. The creaky floorboards add to the character of the place. The mattress is very soft . We all slept well. Really need to have a meal here as they are really good quality hotel grub large sizes and great variety. Continental breakfast was just toast or cereal with Juice and basic hot drinks but was all good We are coming back to Queenstown to do a couple of walks and will stay again You can not buy the atmosphere and amazing locals that you get in this old hotel

Room tip: Didn't see a lift so the staircase may be a problem for people with mobility issues
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shazsarale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zac S, Public Relations Manager at The Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2017

Hi Shazsarale!

Thank you for such a wonderful review! This is exactly the kind of feedback that we work for to hear from our customers. We hope to see you again in the future!

Cheers,
Empire Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 11, 2017

This Nanna took her 13yr old grandson on his birthday trip to the West Coast of Tasmania where he had never been, we stopped at the beautiful Nelson Falls on the way, we also had my son and partner along for the ride, this trip was to ride the West Coast Wilderness Railway half day trip, being on a budget this time (vet bills, burst hot water cylinder) we decided to stay at the Empire Hotel in a family room, an amazingly old hotel with the most fabulous staircase worthy of a mention, the family room itself was ok the big old four poster was separated by a wall and 2 single beds, a private bathroom built into the original large room, table and chairs and fridge and coffee/tea making also, we were warned that the kitchen's exhaust fan below our room would turn on for meal serving and should switch off at 8.30, we travelled from Hobart and was a long day, so an early night was in order, turned out it was quite a while later before the fan switched off, while annoying it was bearable, a number of people under our window leaving at closing were quite noisy and woke us. it was great that the breakfast was included in price and free wifi, it is cheaply priced so definitely not 5 star but right across from WCWR station so very convenient, I would stay again.

Room tip: Ask for room that's not above the kitchen exhaust fan.
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 7557wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zac S, Public Relations Manager at The Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2017

Hi Wendy!

Thank you for the wonderful review! We're so glad that you chose to stay with us during your West Coast trip. It's great to hear that you were able to explore Nelson Falls - it's one of our favourite spots surrounding our area! We apologise for the noise - unfortunately sometimes it can be unpredictable what time our customers will leave.

We hope to see you and your family again in the future!

Cheers,
Empire Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews