We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So worth upgrading ”

West Coast Wilderness Railway
Book In Advance
More Info
US$81.59*
and up
West Coast Wilderness Railway: Rack and Gorge...
Ranked #3 of 11 things to do in Queenstown
Certificate of Excellence
Type: Rail Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Step back in time, reliving the history as you climb aboard a majestic steam train. Indulge in local produce, watch the modern day workings of the locomotives, stroll through the rainforest, or simply relax and enjoy the motion of the train. The West Coast Wilderness Railway experience has something to offer everyone. With a range of full day and half day steam train experiences, departing from both Queenstown Station and the historic harbourside Regatta Point Station in Strahan, there is a journey to suit everyone. Discover the enchanting Gondwana rainforest - still home to the ancient Huon pine - from the comfort of your carriage, or the many opportunities to disembark at the outlying stations and explore at your own pace. Book today and let us welcome you onboard.
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Our Zeehan Bush Camp Caravan accom told us to upgrade, so we did.
Wilderness Class [1st class] benefits:
1. Balcony to stand on outside for photos
2. Nice seats with tables.
3. Snacks, drinks and lunch provided.
4. Personal extra service (thanks Pegg!)

We did the half day trip from Queenstown - Dubbil Barril return.
Just beautiful and a lot of fun.

If you have ankle-biters in toe though, perhaps stick with Heritage Class. Cheaper.

1  Thank scottsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca L, Manager at West Coast Wilderness Railway, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Thank you for your positive review, and for the feedback that you have provided. Firstly it's great to hear that you stayed at Zeehan Bush Camp and Caravan Park, we hope you enjoyed your time there. Our Wilderness carriage is definitely worth taking advantage of if possible, it does provide all of these things with food and beverages available for purchase when traveling on the Heritage carriage as well, we do also provide family rates in our Heritage carriages. Thank you for joining us on board, we are really pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable journey.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"gold panning"
in 21 reviews
"dubbil barril"
in 13 reviews
"great trip"
in 8 reviews
"steam engine"
in 7 reviews
"half day trip"
in 6 reviews
"train trip"
in 5 reviews
"morning tea"
in 6 reviews
"scones"
in 4 reviews
"heritage carriage"
in 4 reviews
"heritage experience"
in 3 reviews
"wraps"
in 3 reviews
"the entire trip"
in 2 reviews
"salmon"
in 4 reviews
"take photos"
in 3 reviews
"onboard commentary"
in 2 reviews
"restored carriages"
in 2 reviews
"greeted with champagne"
in 2 reviews
Filter

15 - 19 of 110 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2018

This was a lovely morning trip. The carriages and train station have been beautifully restored and the trip is fantastic with lots of history, stories and information provided along the journey. There are several stops at stations along the way with information at each one. Well worth it.

1  Thank KCrC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca L, Manager at West Coast Wilderness Railway, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

We are thrilled to read that your morning trip spent with us was memorable and that you enjoyed all areas that our railway has to offer. We hope that you were also able to experience the activities at each station stop along the way. Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a positive review, and for joining us on board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2018

Good afternoon trip.
Beautifully restored old carriages, done in local timbers.
Scored the Wilderness Carriage as there weren’t many people.
Amazing scenery, the river beautiful ferns.
Gold panning at the last stop no luck but good fun.

1  Thank Kathryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca L, Manager at West Coast Wilderness Railway, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a positive review and for your great feedback. It's enjoyable to read that you had a memorable journey, it sounded very quiet and relaxing but also full of scenery and adventure. Just what we like to hear from our guests. Thank you for spending your afternoon on board with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2018

We booked the wilderness carriage and the hostess was great. No need to have full breakfast as they feed you in this carriage. On our trip the wraps were fresh and good. However no options for a larger or Gluten free meal. loved the scenery and all the stops the whole experience is not to be missed. Travel into Queenstown from Hobart is winding sealed road not for some who might expect open plains, and you will meet many motor bikes.

1  Thank holidayms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca L, Manager at West Coast Wilderness Railway, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Thank you for your positive review, it's great to read that you had a memorable experience on board. We apologise however that you weren't informed correctly of your food options, we absolutely have a Gluten Free menu available and larger/more food could have certainly been arranged for you. We are really very sorry for the miscommunication here. It's great to hear that the rest of your journey was enjoyable however and we are grateful that you joined us on board.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2018 via mobile

From 9am to 1pm. Best steam train ride. Fork the extra money and go in the wilderness carriage. Good food and drinks. Great host Katrina. We had a ball. Magnificent views of the Aussie Wilderness and natural beauty. Cost is $170 a head. Some concessions are available.

1  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca L, Manager at West Coast Wilderness Railway, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2018

Thank you for your positive review. We really appreciate the title 'best', this tells us that you had an unforgettable experience on board and we love hearing this from our guests. It's also great to hear that you were well taken care of, our team members do endeavour to take exceptional care of each and every one of our visitors whichever carriage you choose to take. Thank you again for joining us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed West Coast Wilderness Railway also viewed

Queenstown, Tasmania
Queenstown, Tasmania
 

Been to West Coast Wilderness Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing