We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
50 results
Traveller rating
30
12
6
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
12
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews camp kitchen powered site your feet great caravan park clean bath amenities block new owners great place to stay the owner old style in town mats andy gravel jac campervan facilities
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 50 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2018

Great place to stay. A very warm welcome and choice of sites.
Handy to other towns and reasonably priced, come on you big parks if a small park like this can be reasonably priced and provide what they do, a well equipped kitchen and BBQ area, good laundry and bathroom facilities, so can you.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kathryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2018 via mobile

We have been in many caravan parks and camp sites in Tasmania but although small, this park has been the most friendly . Fresh bath mats and big shower heads with lots of hot water made having a shower a warming and pleasant experience even though the temperature was low. Andy the owner acknowledging the needs of motorhome travellers even provides a shuttle service to the centre of town or the railway station. Top Site!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank LuboCoffsHarbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2018 via mobile

Stayed here so as we could leave the van to visit Strahan. A smallish park but nice sites helpful owners and very good facilities. Cooking setup under cover which was helpful when it rained and beautiful big headed showers. A great place to stay when visiting the area

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank kerryjohn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2018

From the time I walked into reception I was impressed. A warm welcome from the new owners Jacquie and Andy, walked to your choice of sites (as I was there early enough), and a good explanation of where everything was plus the best choices on the Empire Pub menu. The park is only small and deliberately has gravel due to the high annual rainfall so it has a good base and not a mud hole. Amenities are dated but very clean and functional with rubber mats and floor mats provided for your convenience. Great value and would certainly recommend. Ps: Andy also offers to run you into town if you don’t want to do the easy 1.4km walk.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 28, 2018

This caravan park and the entire town were given a "pass" in our tour book - "only as a last resort" or something like that. In fact this park is under new management and is one of the nicest that we encountered on our trip throughout Tasmania. This are does get an incredible amount of rain and is the site of a large mine, so gravel is a common sight. The owners did explain that on account of the tremendous rains that gravel was the only alternative that wouldn't turn to mud in a matter of days. As other reviews have mentioned, this is a very well maintained park and the fresh bath mats available in the showers is just one of the nice touches that the owners are putting in place.
As our guidebook mentioned, there are some homes that in the neighborhood that are a bit down on their heels, but there are also some interesting old buildings in town as well as the wilderness railroad.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews