We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great spot, bit expensive” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Coogee
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great spot, bit expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Lovely hotel with great views, just wish the weather had been better! The rooms were nice but small.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Armouree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPCoogeeBeach, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback. We’re fortunate to be located in a great part of Sydney, Coogee Beach. Unfortunately, the weather has done you no favours. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach in better weather conditions soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    367
    139
    35
    15
See reviews for
162
292
47
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel for a conference. It is very overpriced compared to other Sydney Hotels in the CBD, even though there was a slight discount for conference delegates. The hotel is in need of refurbishing. We came in late at night and were disappointed we had to take our own bags to our room. There was no concierge available. We stayed 4 nights. Our room was made up late in the day, which is a nuisance as we had to vacate our room when the service arrived. The food was fabulous although the staff were very slow to clean tables at the bar and I ate my afternoon snack on a dirty table because they all needed cleaning. It was a Sunday and there was minimal staff. This was a disappointing stay.

Room Tip: Unable to comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FayAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPCoogeeBeach, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, 4 March 2012
Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay with us at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. I apologise that some elements of our service did not meet your expectation. Our Housekeeping team in particular is always very busy on a Sunday so if our guests are staying on and have a preferred service time, we are very happy to accommodate this. Thank you for the positive feedback on our current menu. I trust you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne, australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

On the plus side, It is a nice, clean, well staffed hotel in a great position. The beach is across the road, and the main street teeming with shops and cafes close by. The check in staff were lovely and gave us a roll away bed free of charge as we are Priority members. The downstairs restaurant is also lovely and offers great views over the beach. On the downside, the rooms are quite small as are the balconies, and the decor is bland. The pool is a tad too small for the size of the hotel, ten people in it makes it very full. Also, the 'bar service' at the pool is not great, four drinks took 30 minutes to arrive and the beers were warm. I would actually rate it 3.5 as it is nice, family friendly hotel, but does lack wow factor if you are after something special.

Room Tip: Pay extra for ocean view as the town view rooms are rather dark and lack atmosphere. We did and are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valentinatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPCoogeeBeach, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Many thanks for providing feedback on your recent stay. I’m pleased that you enjoyed your visit and took the time to experience some of the wonderful things Coogee has to offer. We have addressed the delivery time of poolside drinks to ensure this occurs more promptly in the future. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza for 2 weeks while visiting our son in Coogee, We arrived very early at the hotel and asked if we could leave our luggage, not expecting to be checked in but we were given a room there and then, they explained it was on the seventh floor and that some people didn't like that floor because there was no cover over the balcony, if it rained you could not sit out but it was fabulous. We got the sun first thing and all morning, our bed looked staight onto the sea, when you opened your patio doors all you heard were the waves crashing onto the beach. The bed was really comfortable and so large.The room was always cool and very comfortable. The staff were lovely,nothing was too much trouble, for example I have a feather allergy, when I spoke to reception to explain I needed another quilt they said if they didn't have one they would go and buy one, it was replaced immediately. Breakfast was excellent and included in the price of our room, there was so much choice and again nothing was too much trouble for the staff. I also appreciated the box of chocolates in our room on the first day.The day before we left we tried to print our boarding passes for our flight home but got into difficulty, the staff came to our aid and helped us, the business centre is open 24 hours a day it is equiped with 4 computers and a printer all complimentary. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a friendly, comfortable and exceptionally well run hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPCoogeeBeach, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. I was delighted to read that everything at the hotel was to your satisfaction and you had an excellent stay. I look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach, very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, TN USA
Level Contributor
363 reviews
226 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

My first stay in peak season. More activity made the hotel lively and interesting.
Staff at check in were personable and efficent.
I had two stays within a week and both were consistent.
Interent charges of AUD $29 annoy me to no end.
Paid parking is also common.
Bed was very comfortable.
My coworker and I did not eat inside the hotel as we wanted to see the sights.
I recommend this hotel depending on price.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pine129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPCoogeeBeach, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Thank you for your review. The Front Office are consistently praised for their high standard of service, I’ll pass on this positive feedback. I’ve noted your comments regarding the internet charges and was delighted to read that this didn’t deter you from enjoying your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back to Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

This was our sixth time staying at this hotel and we've always had a great time. We always stay in Coogee on our way back home to San Diego. The rooms are clean and all the staff is attentive and professional. We also have a little girl and seeing that the hotel is across the street from the beach cannot be beat. The swimming pool is also a good size with a great view to the beach. The hotel is located within walking distance to the main road in Coogee with a wide selection of restaurants, coffee shops and other shops.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alicia76619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPCoogeeBeach, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Thank you for your recent feedback and loyal patronage of Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. The location and view at Coogee is quite spectacular and worthy of a return visit. I was thrilled to see that we again provided great service and hope to welcome you back to Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed here for one night in December. We stayed in a lovely corner room with a great view of the beach and a side view of the pool. There was also a small balcony at the front. We really enjoyed our stay - the room was very nice and modern and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The best bit about this hotel though is its location at Coogee Beach - it was such a nice change to stay in Sydney and not be in the centre of town. I recommend the walk along the coast from Cooggee to Bondi - very enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spike_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CPCoogeeBeach, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Many thanks for providing feedback on your recent stay. I’m pleased that you enjoyed your room and stay with us, and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coogee
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Coogee
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel
Coogee Bay Hotel
#5 of 7 in Coogee
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coogee
Coogee Bay Hotel Heritage Wing
Coogee
Dive Hotel
Dive Hotel
#4 of 7 in Coogee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Bondi Beach
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Address: 242 Arden St, Coogee, Randwick, New South Wales 2034, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick > Coogee > Coogee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Coogee
#1 Luxury Hotel in Coogee
#3 Business Hotel in Coogee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affectionately known as 'Sydney's Seaside Village', Coogee is just a few kilometres from the centre of Sydney. Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach offers panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and offers close proximity to Sydney's eastern beaches. The hotel offers a selection of 209 of modern rooms, most boasting ocean views and all featuring up-to-date amenities. All guest rooms have high-speed broadband internet, 32 inch flat screen TVs, ergonomic work station and in-house movies. Coogee is surrounded by the East Coast's most breathtaking beaches and headlands and embraces a relaxed, casual setting. Its location makes it convenient to play a round of golf at one of the many courses nearby, do a little shopping, watch the cricket at the Sydney Cricket Ground or even place a bet at the world-famous Royal Randwick racecourse. Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach’s signature restaurant, Bluesalt, is a favourite of locals and regular guests and is open daily for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Boasting spectacular coastal views and ideal for family, group and corporate dining, Bluesalt enjoys a sterling reputation for quality and is one of the most popular restaurants in Coogee. Bluesalt Bar is located adjacent to Bluesalt Restaurant and is the ideal place to catch up with friends, meet for a pre-dinner drink or to hold an informal meeting. Downstairs from Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach is Oceans Bar, a stylish and chic lounge that prides itself on a superb selection of premium drinks, fresh food and a relaxing and warming atmosphere. To ensure that you remain active and refreshed while you travel, Crowne Plaza Coogee beach offers complimentary guest access to on-site tennis courts, gymnasium and large outdoor heated pool. Experience a harmonious blend of coastal living and city convenience when you book your stay at Crowne Plaza Coogee Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Expedia and IHG so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Sydney
Sydney Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing