We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”
Review of Altair Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Altair Motel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Cooma
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed in solo room, was very clean, new queen size bed and recently renovated. Host was lovely and accommodating. Free breakfast, not sure if that is standard. Happy to stay here again probably the best motel in Cooma.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank Hugoadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltairinCooma, General Manager at Altair Motel, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

We are so sorry it has taken us until now to see the review you posted but I still wanted to take a moment to thank you for taking the time out of your day to let us know how you felt about our property. We truly appreciate it and we hope you come back to visit us again in the future!

Charlee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2017

The fittings were fine, with Ikea furniture, small fridge, etc. The bathroom space was OK but the room itself was rather cramped and the smell of the cleaning products was so overpowering we had to leave a window open all night. We felt it was rather expensive for what we got.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ngutukaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltairinCooma, Manager at Altair Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We really use these to help make improvements to our property during our finalizations of restorations. Though we can not do anything about the size of the room traveller room itself, I will definitely discuss with our housekeeping the use of the cleaning products. If you decide to visit us in the future, maybe one of our studios or 1 bedroom apartments would be better for size :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

I have tried most motels in Cooma over the last three years and this is by far the best and best value. The rooms are clean and warm (important in this place!). There is a desk for working in the evenings and the free breakfast is a great bonus.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank trainer4228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltairinCooma, General Manager at Altair Motel, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

We are so sorry it has taken us until now to see the review you posted but I still wanted to take a moment to thank you for taking the time out of your day to let us know how you felt about our property. We truly appreciate it and we hope you come back to visit us again in the future!

Charlee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

Charlie and her husband Marty are generous, welcoming hosts. Nothing is too much trouble. Great central location. No road noise. Comfortable clean rooms. Great breakfasts; tasty dinners; (good merlot from Orange NSW!) Have stayed 3 times and will continue to make the Altair our go-to accommodation in Cooma.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltairinCooma, General Manager at Altair Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a great review! We are both so happy you enjoy your stay and definitely can not wait for your next visit! Travel safe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed here recently and I was very surprised it was so clean, large family room with 2 TVs and has been nicely reburbushed.
We were stopping on our way through to Perisher, it was nice to wake up to find we also had included in our stay a light breakfast to keep us going to our next stop.
It will be great when the kitchen is complete so they can offer dinner and hot breakfasts

I would totally recommend the Altair!

Kids are always after free wifi so they were very happy

If we are ever on a trip to the snowy mountains again this will be where we will stay!
Thanks Charlee

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltairinCooma, General Manager at Altair Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time out of your schedule to give us a review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and we do hope you come back to visit us in the future!

Thank you!
Charlee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

The manager Charlie is a fantastic host in this modern motel - it has just been done up with new fittings in all rooms. Great out area with a view over the hills in the distance. Charlie is about to open a restaurant as part of the motel so that is something to look forward to. Also there was free breakfast throw in as well to make the stay even more great value - note to mention the lattes !!

Room Tip: Pick the ones at the top - great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Attila_DB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltairinCooma, General Manager at Altair Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to you visiting us again in the future!

Thank you!
Charlee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

To break up our trip from Sydney to Thredbo, we decided to do a one night stop somewhere. Original plan was to stop in Canberra but instead opted for Cooma as it's about 1.5hrs from Thredbo and had a fairly large town.

What can I say, amazing and delightful little motel. It's been beautifully renovated, is small, but really packs all the key essentials in, such as a queen bed, bunk beds for the kids, a small kitchenette and a lounge area and dining space. Parking was right in front of the room. They are renovating the restaurant and it already looks great.

The town is a fair size and has loads of shops and cafes. I would recommend it as a stop.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank TheDinas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltairinCooma, General Manager at Altair Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review! We are so please you were happy with the accommodations and do hope you come back to visit us again in the future!

Have a great day!
Charlee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cooma hotels
0.2 km away
Alpine Hotel
Alpine Hotel
#6 of 10 in Cooma
67 reviews
1.4 km away
Cooma Motor Lodge Motel
0.6 km away
Nebula Motel
Nebula Motel
#2 of 10 in Cooma
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
White Manor Motel
White Manor Motel
#1 of 10 in Cooma
103 reviews
0.3 km away
Alkira Motel
Alkira Motel
#4 of 10 in Cooma
61 reviews
0.8 km away
High Country Motel
High Country Motel
#5 of 10 in Cooma
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altair Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altair Motel

Address: 192 Sharp St, Cooma, New South Wales 2630, Australia (Formerly Greenleigh Cooma Motel)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Cooma
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Cooma
Price Range: C$127 - C$191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Altair Motel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Altair Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing