We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Katoomba Town Centre
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We took a train from Sydney and hiked up and down the hill with our backpacks for 10 minutes to reach this motel which was just across the road from the YHA and very near all the restaurants and supermarket. Reception was warm and friendly and stayed that way for the two days we stayed there. They even lent us an umbrella on the first night when we needed to get out for dinner in the fog and rain. The motel is a little dated but it's got a certain charm about it. Overall it's clean and comfortable with good sized room and toilet. The hot water tap on our shower burned our fingers but that was easily solved by wrapping a face towel round it. The hot breakfast on both mornings was the same but a wonderful start to the day with the fair spread and variety of food. Kudos to the cook/waitress who really deserves a raise for all that she does, especially on the hectic mornings we were there when all tables were filled. In general a plesant stay that I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank whisker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
There are newer reviews for Katoomba Town Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2011

A little disappointed - Not a great start when you check in and there is a garbage bag of used tampons in the bathroom left by the previous guest.
Difficult to sleep in the room (unit 33) - bed is directly opposite the door, which is backlit by outdoor lights that shine all night, with the peephole hitting directly on the face of the person on the left hand side of the bed. Neighborhood surprisingly noisy at night.
Room quality basic motel style - a little dated. A lot of sticky drink circles left on tables and side tables on checkin - really not good enough.
Breakfast had a lot of quanity - limited quality.
Topped off by somebody managing to get some kind of wax on the front of my hired car on the 2nd night.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Gavin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charles80, Guest Relations Manager at Katoomba Town Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2011

Hi. Thanks for your review all reviews are taken and assessed on their merits to help us improve our customers stay..
However when a review is submitted that is not exactly truthful we feel that a response is warranted.. When you Checked in and found what you thought was Tampons in your bathroom and advised front office staff , They immediately came to your room and explained to you that what you were looking at was sanitary bags , These are placed in all our bathrooms for the convenience of lady Guests. Perhaps you have not seen these before ??? .. The Peep Hole in your door at best is 6mm wide and tinted. Your bed is located 4 Meters away from the offending Peep Hole . The security lighting in the hallway is located 5 Meters away from your room . If you had advised Reception that you had an issue with the Peep Hole it would have been closed off for the duration of your stay .. As the Motel has a manager on duty 24 hours a day, a simple call to reception could have resolved this issue immediately..
The Motel does not claim to be a 5 star Property; we are a Good Basic 3.5 Starr property offering value for money. This motel is Equipped with Security cameras located in all (( Public Only areas )) to ensure safety and security for our Guests cars and valuables.. The Heritage breakfast room is one such place.. A play back of your 2 day stay makes for some interesting viewing.. You claim the Breakfast was big on Quantity but limited quality.. Perhaps you could explain to us then..??? Why you went back to the buffet 3 times to fill your plate with various types of food. Not a bad effort for someone that did not believe that the food was very good Quality and you did it 2 days in a row.. ..
Okay as for the Wax on your car.. On the Sunday morning of your departure you were approached by one of our duty managers as they saw you scratching at the front of your car, you mention this to him and he had a look with you and at the time advise you that what you were looking at was Sap.. He also advised you that the likely culprit was the eucalyptus trees that you had parked under at Scenic World whilst you were there. The Motel Car Park Has No trees .. . Thus eliminating the motel as the source of the Sap..

You have highlighted an issue regarding Peep holes in the rooms and we are currently now reviewing this. We thank you for addressing this with us. However could you please ensure the next time you write review for any Motel.. That you tell the whole story and do not omit the truthful side ..
Thanks kindly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

When we got breakfast I saw fly maggots on the bacon on my plate. I told the waitress who took the plate away and then returned with the plate saying it was just bacon fat. But we could see the white maggots moving and the lady on the next table had a look and confirmed that they were maggots and that we should tell the manager. My wife went down to see the manager and instead of apologising he took the plate and started yelling at her and becoming aggressive. She came back up and was upset so I went down to see him myself. He was incredibly rude and refused to admit that there were maggots on the bacon, saying it was impossible because the bacon was fresh.

We are reasonable people, we did not want a refund or to create a scene, we just thought the manager of a motel should know that the food they were serving had maggots on it. We would of accepted an apology but instead the man went into a rage and insulted us.

Shortly after this incident we checked out and the manager did a half hearted apology saying that a fly could of caused the maggots. By this time though the damage had been done. On top of this, the room was very average for a "three star" motel.

So if you care about service, hygiene and quality please look else where.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank Duncan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charles80, General Manager at Katoomba Town Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

Thanks Kindly for the review.
This review has been anticipated. As was on the day you were unable and have been unable to support your accusations, Even after Management Staff and Guests alike asked you repeatedly to show them the so called maggots. Your attempts at intimidating a 78 year old guest into saying that she also saw a maggot on your food , was a true testament to the type of people you are .
Threatening Staff and the Manager that you would trash us on TRIP ADVISOR unless you received a refund for your room was extremely silly..
Yes the management was firm with you after the scene you created in the breakfast room , This is why you were asked to leave , The fact that you appeared to still be intoxicated from your previous nights outing might explain your eye sight problems and unruly behaviors.
Yes the manager being a true professional apologized to you on departure for having had to remove you from the breakfast room , However when he refused to refund your room you offered to get even . So this is your get even . This motel and its professional staff will not be intimidated or held to ransom by People or peoples of an unruly nature .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

As a 14 year old girl who travels a lot with her family, I found this hotel one of the best in its area. I stayed here with a school group of about 35 people and found that not only myself, but the rest of my friends and teachers that I was travelling with, found the staff- the cook/waiter in particular, one of the most friendliest hotel staff members I have ever met. She was kind and treated all of my group with respect- not that I can say much for some of the other hotel patrons staying at the time. All round great hotel, was kept clean and room cleaning happened early in the day so we could relax in the afternoon without the worry that hotel staff would be knocking on our door requesting us to leave our room when we had be walking around Katoomba for the whole morning.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natalie12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

The staff are prepared to go the extra mile for you. breakfasts are amazing - totally loved the corn fritters!!..waitress/cook is the best-she deserves a raise.rooms- neat and tidy, heaps of hot water and great shower pressure. comfy beds and great pillows-extras in package a nice bonus. easy walk to everything. recommended to friedns already. will be back next year.

Room Tip: ask for a ground floor if travelling with older people.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynette h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

The staff are extremely friendly and accomodating. They supply a great breakfast and a willing to go the extra mile should you need a variation to your stay e.g earlier breakfast.

I have already booked another business stay

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Overall a pleasant experience, nice, neat room and lovely breakfast. Only real problem was sagging mattress on queen bed and flat pillows which made sleeping comfortably difficult.
The room was well heated, too much for our tastes and there was no control for the heat in the room.
We were surprised that the managers did not check the electricity was on in the orooms, we had trouble with the power and when we asked were told to reset the circuit breaker as there had been a blackout.
On plus side, plenty of hot water for shower, quiet and convenient location, and very nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelon4550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.5 km away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
944 reviews
0.7 km away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
586 reviews
0.1 km away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
412 reviews
1.3 km away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
0.0 km away
Blue Mountains Heritage Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Katoomba Town Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katoomba Town Centre

Address: 218-224 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range: $99 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Katoomba Town Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Katoomba Town Centre Motel is a proud member of the Equeva Group, established with a view to provide the Complete Accommodation Experience for every type of traveller; from individuals to extended families. Located in Katoomba, in the scenic upper Blue Mountains. Our motel is rich with culture, friendly customer service and located in the heart of Katoomba Town Centre where you can enjoy a variety of cafes, shops, galleries and walks to parks abundant with beautiful native flora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Katoomba Town Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Katoomba Town Centre Hotel Katoomba
Katoomba Town Centre Blue Mountains, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing