We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Priceline
US$162
View deal
Booking.com
US$162
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$162
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.comUS$162
eDreamsUS$162
CheapTicketsUS$162
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (709)
Filter reviews
709 results
Traveller rating
234
274
121
49
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
234
274
121
49
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews a mountain view room old world charm blue mountains dining room hotel restaurant room was spacious lounge area continental breakfast train station echo point three sisters fireplace winter library
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 709 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2020 via mobile

We stayed in the loft room with a warm fire, spa, very comfortable king bed and amazing mountain views. This place ticked all the boxes for us for a cozy winter getaway. The room was very clean and they practice really appropriate Covid safety. The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly making us feel very welcome.The lounge area has loads of charm reminiscent of its early days, warm fireplaces to read alongside.We will definitely be back!!

Date of stay: August 2020
Thank althomic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team Hotel Mountain Heritage, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Mountain Heritage - Blue Mountains, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2020

Hi Althomic, thank you for leaving us such a lovely review! There is nothing better than enjoying a spa bath before cozying up to a real-flame fireplace overlooking the Jamison Valley, is there? We’re one of the few hotels in the mountains that can offer that particular combination to our guests. Thank you for acknowledging our COVIDSafe precautions - guest and staff safety will always be a priority for us. We are so lucky to have the team that we do and will pass on your compliments. Along with our unique style and charm that you’ve pointed out, our team are just one of the many reasons why guests return. We hope to see you back at Mountain Heritage for another getaway soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 2, 2020 via mobile

The staff were absolutely lovely and that’s where it ends with the hotel.
It’s outdated and daggy and has a funky smell, the rooms are also the same. Instead of a heritage feel you find tacky decor from the 90s, depressing music with loud adds interrupting, cleaners swearing in the hallways and complaining of mould in the rooms. The bar and the restaurant were closed and had workmen in and out.
This is absolutely not a 4.5 star hotel, It’s more like a 3 star and was completely disappointing and not worth the price. The only redeeming factor was the reception staff that were incredibly lovely, helpful, friendly and they went above and beyond at all times.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank zozovanunu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team Hotel Mountain Heritage, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Mountain Heritage - Blue Mountains, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2020

Hi Zozovanunu, thank you for leaving us a review and we are delighted that you enjoyed our amazing customer service team. They always put in extra effort for guests so its nice to see that effort being acknowledged.
We are sorry to see that you didn’t care for our decor but we do accurately advertise our style online so guests know what to expect before they choose to book a room with us. As for the “funky smell”, we use high quality wool carpet and on wet days, it can have an unavoidable musty smell. We do apologise for the bar and restaurant being closed but this is something clearly mentioned on the booking.com listing, in the confirmation email and upon checkin. We are not sure what “depressing” music you are referring to as all music played in common areas is soft background noise with no ads. We encourage you to raise any issue you’re having during your stay with our onsite team so that issues can be dealt with immediately.
We would like to assure you that our 4.5 star rating is independently assessed and comes after continuing to meet over 200 criteria points. We are very proud to have earned and continue to earn that star rating. Our rates are competitive and of great value when you consider not only our rating, but our great location, unbeatable views over the Jamison Valley and our unique heritage style

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2020

You need to be a mountain goat to get up and down all the stairs.
It rained the first night and we were kept awake by the noise of water in the gutters from 3 AM. Not happy.
No views from the room and at the price they charge there should be or you should be told that you dont get any view apart from the into someone else's room.
The breakfast was a joke. 2 pieces of toast for 2 people and we had to ask for 2 each, Supposed to get fruit, pastries and youhurt. Again had to ask for it again after pre ordering and no fruit, pastries for 1 only. Gave up went out for breakfast the next day.
It was one of the most expensive stays I have ever had at $357 a night. I am embarrassed at how much we paid and poor it all was.

Room tip: Just too expensive and not worth it, poor attitude
Date of stay: July 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 525M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team Hotel Mountain Heritage, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Mountain Heritage - Blue Mountains, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2020

Hi 525M, thank you for leaving us a review. We are sorry to see you did not like your stay with us overall. Our building is a normal two-storey structure with a standard staircase so we’re unsure why you feel that we have an unreasonable amount of stairs. We wish we could control the weather for guests but given the climate of the Blue Mountains, it is out of our control. In fact, when it does rain, many guests find it soothing to listen to the rain on our insulated corrugated roof as they fall asleep. Whilst everyone wants our famous view over Jamison Valley from their room, we are very specific about which rooms provide it and include “Mountain View” in the room name. We encourage you to try booking one of those rooms if you’re after a view over the valley. We are sorry to see that breakfast did not meet your expectations however, since our current procedure is to have guests fill out a pre-order form, we encourage you to make sure you’ve filled it out correctly for the exact number of guests who will be requiring breakfast so we can have the correct amount ready for your chosen time. As for the value of your stay, our rates are competitive and reflect market demand for our independently rated 4.5 star accommodation. Like the rest of the accommodation industry, our tariffs are also based on dynamic pricing, meaning that last minute bookings will affect the price you pay. In the future, we encourage you to try booking in advance but also consider mid-week rates as they are lower.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2020

The hotel is about 100 years old, the floor boards in the halls and on the stairs creak when you walk on them.
The meals are very good but are a little expensive.
The staff were very helpful and a lot of fun.
Our room was quite large and it had an ensuite with a bath.
There is no elevator so you have to carry your luggage up to your room.
We were on the second floor but there were rooms on ground level.
The hotel had a reading room, a bar and a lounge / sitting room. All with an open fireplace.
We were a group of 8 and we had a great time even though the weather was wet and misty.

Room tip: We were all at the front of the hotel with views of the mountains.
Date of stay: July 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team Hotel Mountain Heritage, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Mountain Heritage - Blue Mountains, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2020

Hi Gary, thank you for leaving us a review. Our “Grand Old Lady” is actually 112 years old - the stories these walls could tell if they could talk! Our staff always go above and beyond to help make a guests’ stay more memorable so it’s lovely to see their efforts acknowledged. We’re glad to see you enjoyed the size of your room and were able to spread out and relax. We have quite a few common areas for guests to enjoy and cozy up to the open fireplaces and are glad to see the weather didn’t dampen your spirits! We hope to see you back at Mountain Heritage on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 28, 2020

We have just spent 4 nights at Hotel Mountain Heritage and it was fantastic. The room was lovely and the views were spectacular. We had a mountain view room. The staff were absolutely fantastic, nothing was too much trouble. We went for the Christmas in July celebration and it was lovely. The food was soooo good. The breakfast was really good and very filling. The hotel is old but very well maintained and the staff had everything worked out for social distancing for Covid 19 and we felt very safe and well cared for. Would highly recommend a stay there if you are heading to The Blue Mountains.

Date of stay: July 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank neckadarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Team Hotel Mountain Heritage, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Mountain Heritage - Blue Mountains, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2020

Hi Neckadarcy, thank you for leaving us such a lovely review. We are very proud of our historic “Grand Old Lady” and her impressive views over the Jamison Valley. When you combine that with our fantastic customer service and convenient location so close to Katoomba, it’s what keeps guests coming back to us. Even though our Christmas in July celebrations had to be a little different this year, we are very happy to see you still had a great and memorable stay. We also appreciate you acknowledging our CovidSafe procedures as staff and guest safety is our top priority. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mountain Heritage on your next visit to the Blue Mountains.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews