We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Delightful and very comfortable place to stay.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Owls Cottage

Owls Cottage Winter
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Owls Cottage Winter
Winter snowfall Summer Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Owls Cottage Winter
Winter snowfall
Summer Garden
Lounge Room
Country Kitchen
Dining Room
Main Bedroom
Bedroom 2
Bathroom
BBQ Area
Rear Garden Autumn 2017
Spring Garden 2016
Autumn Garden 2016
Rear Garden
Rear garden
Autumn 2016
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Katoomba, Blue Mountains, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Susan V
1 review
“Delightful and very comfortable place to stay.”
Reviewed April 5, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The cottage was well appointed and close to everything. The free parking ticket for Echo Point was handy. We visited Leura and the shopping was great.The Hydro Majestic was lovely also. All these places were easy to get too from the cottage. Valerie provided generous breakfast provisions also. Loved it. Thank you!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2017
Hi Susan
Thank you for the great review of your stay at Owls Cottage & of the places you visited, it's always a pleasure to know that my guests have enjoyed their time in my little cottage & our beautiful Mountains.
Warmest Regards Val
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsley...
Perth, Australia
1 review
“A wonderful place for family to stay”
Reviewed October 22, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We were staying at the Owls Cottage during a trip to the Blue Mountains. The owner of the Cottage, Val, was very friendly and gave us plenty of tips for the stay. The location of the Cottage was close to local shopping centres and eateries, and we have no problem navigating ourselves to the sight seeing spots. The Cottage was very cosy and well equipped. The rooms were clean and the beds were great after a long day of walking. We were provided a platter of foods for breakfast and the kitchen has everything you need to cook up a feast! The garden in front and behind the Cottage was immaculately looked after and our kids loved the swing and the toys there. Overall we enjoy the stay a lot and thank Val for her warm hospitality and the wonderful Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2016
Hi Kingsley
Thank you so much for sharing your holiday experience at Owls Cottage, it was an absolute pleasure hosting you and your family & would welcome you back anytime.
Val
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DebbieB20...
Mackay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Cozy and Clean”
Reviewed April 26, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Owls Cottage is all you need for a visit. Val welcomed us ensuring we knew how everything worked and left for us breakfast supplies for one of our mornings, which was just wonderful. The cottage is roomy, has character, very clean and all you need for a home base while visiting the Blue Mountains area. It is located in a quiet street away from the main street of Katoomba, yet in a quick driving distance to shops and facilities and the highway to explore further. Gardens surrounding the home make it private and although due to the fact it was cold when we were there, the outside areas for sitting looked like the place to spend a summer evening or two. The shower was great, as was the heater and all other appliances we needed to use. Bed was very comfortable. Would happily stay again if we are in the area again sometime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness and great condition of property and contents
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2016
Thank you Debbie for your great review its such a pleasure knowing my guests have had an enjoyable & comfortable holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trevor L
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great base in the Blue Mountains”
Reviewed March 17, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Owls Cottage is a characterful, well equipped cottage in a neat and private garden, a very relaxing place to stay if you are visiting the Blue Mountains. It's in a quiet street with no traffic noise yet convenient to Katoomba town centre and the Highway which gives access to the many interesting places to visit in this historic area. There is plenty of information in the cottage about places to visit and the wide variety of bushwalks in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2016
Thank you Trevor
So happy you enjoyed your holiday in our beautiful Mountains & that Owls Cottage met your needs.
Warmest Regards Val
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June K
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, cozy cottage.”
Reviewed January 5, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We were met by Val, made to feel very welcome. Such a pretty cottage, lovely front and back garden with patio area. Very clean and comfortable. A food welcome pack was provided, as well as a loan of a packing permit, for the nearby viewing point for the Three Sisters site. Our stay was a very relaxing time in a picturesque part of the Blue mountains. I highly recommend this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location, garden not overlooked
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2016
Thank you Gordon & June for sharing your holiday experience at Owls Cottage, I hope that you will return sometime in the future.
I wish you all the very best for the New Year.
Warmest Regards Val
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MariM201
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage for a fantastic holiday”
Reviewed July 25, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My daughter and I have stayed in this cottage, once in summer and once in winter - both times were wonderful. The cottage has everything you would need for a comfortable holiday and it is a stand alone house in a very quiet area of Katoomba. The garden of the cottage is absolutely magnificent and children would have a wonderful time exploring it. The cottage has everything you would need. We have recently been there and it snowed heavily one night - magical. The owners, Val and Kevin are very friendly and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The appointments and location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
264elisab...
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed May 13, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Excellent value for money.
A very clean and cute cottage with a lovely garden.
Friendly and helpful owners

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing