We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely period house - spotessly clean and very...”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to 'Burnie Brae' circa 1908
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to 'Burnie Brae' circa 1908
Spacious main living area Dine is style in the main dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Welcome to 'Burnie Brae' circa 1908
Spacious main living area
Dine is style in the main dining area
Traditional main bedroom with queen size bed
Second Bedroom (optional pricing structure applies) - locked off when not required
Second Bedroom (optional pricing structure applies) - locked off when not required
Country style kitchen to have breakfast in
Traditional bathroom with modern fittings
Traditional shower area with room for two
Wide shady verandah to have your morning cuppa out on
Wide entrance hallway
'Burnie Brae' c 1908 is located in a quiet street in a historic part of town
Visit and be awed by The Three Sisters
Do a bushwalk to Katoomba Falls
Frollick in the waters of Katoomba Cascades
Admire Jamison Valley & Mt Solitary
Enjoy the thrills at Scenic World
Be dazzled by Weeping Rock
Go for a paddle at Queens Cascade
Be enthralled by Wentworth Falls
View the splendour of the Grose Valley
Hunt for hidden treasure at the Victory Theatre
Have lunch at the Megalong Tea Rooms
Explore the underworld of Jenoleon Caves
Take afternoon tea at The Paragon
Cherish some quality local restaurants
Ride the historic Zig Zag Railway
Meander the gardens of Mt Wilson
Find inspirion at Norman Lindsay Gallery
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Katoomba, Blue Mountains, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Jalou06
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely period house - spotessly clean and very well located.”
Reviewed September 30, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Burnie Brae lived up to everything we hoped for. We arrived on a very cold night and were very appreciative of the effective underfloor heating. The house was very comfortable and beautifully furnished to match its era. It was spotlessly clean and the kitchen was well equipped. Nestled in a quiet street, its beautiful garden and presentation gave it the feeling of being much loved by its owner. Its proximity to the town centre and eating places was also much appreciated. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and left feeling well rested and refreshed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenn S
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage with Character”
Reviewed September 26, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay for 3 nights at Burnie Brae. The cottage is on the corner of two quiet streets but only a few blocks from the main street of Katoomba. The exterior of the house is very nice with its lovely garden setting. The inside is beautiful and the living and dining room looks brilliant with a wonderful dining table for a dinner party if more people are staying. The bedroom was also very nice with a very comfy bed. The country kitchen is ample with everything you could possibly need (although the dishwashing tablets were hard to find as they were not under the sink; sorry, pedantic I know but we could not find them). Overall, we were glad Michael suggested taking up a 3rd night when we made the booking as travelling up from the south coast we really needed that extra night for those extra bushwalks in the amazing Grose Valley and Wentworth Falls. We are thinking of a return to the mountains next April/May and I don't think we even need to consider staying anywhere else. Thanks for the great stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Character of the cottage
Liked least: No bathtub but not a big deal
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YvonneLLH...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed September 9, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Burnie Brae for three nights last week and were thoroughly delighted with our stay. The kitchen was well-equipped (complete with complimentary tea and coffee and a much appreciated pack of Tim Tams!), the living/dining area was impressively decorated but cosy at the same time, the bathroom was fitted out thoughtfully with modern fixtures and the garden has been well cared for. We are aware that the owners are still putting final touches to the property, but our visit did not suffer at all as a result of this.

The property is very conveniently located within walking distance of the supermarkets and other amenities of Katoomba but nicely set back on a quiet residential street. Parking was easy - on the street right in front of the property. We enjoyed the views of the mountains from the living room.

Michael was extremely prompt and helpful in responding throughout the process - from our initial queries by email to our phone call upon arrival. We have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this property, and would definitely choose to stay at Burnie Brae again when we are next in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nrv815
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old world charm and elegance”
Reviewed August 27, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My guests from Paris were amazed at the location and beauty of Burnie Brae. They just loved the big bedrooms, the large country style kitchen and the amazing long corridor. It was a very cold and windy day when we arrived at the Blue Mountains and later that afternoon it snowed but the house was warm and cosy thanks to an amazing underfloor heating. We took Mike’s advice and had pizzas delivered to the property for dinner that night. My guests were really impressed with the house and they said that they will definitely be back in 2 years’ time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size of the property
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra C
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful old Blue Mountains home”
Reviewed July 24, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We recently spent 3 lovely nights at Burnie Brae which is a stunning old home in Katoomba. The furnishings are lovely, bed was very comfortable and the central heating was superb. Kept us toasty warm. The kitchen is very well equipped and the bathroom has been renovated beautifully in keeping with the style of the house. The double shower is also a plus. We opted to stay in the 2nd bedroom as the bedside lights were brighter for reading. Our dealings with Michael, the owner, were most satisfactory and prompt. We will stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Central heating
Liked least: Main bedroom bedside lights
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tony t
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful step back into time”
Reviewed July 1, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely stay in this wonderfully restored example of a heritage home. The home is decorated in tasteful furnishings which complement the restored theme of the home. Excellent heating throughout the house during the cold winter nights. Situated in a quiet part of katoomba with great views but still within a 10min walk to the centre of town. Look forward to staying again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Heating
Liked least: No instructions for appliances
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren E
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Old world charm, contemporary comfort”
Reviewed May 24, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We loved our stay at Burnie Brae in Katoomba. We stayed for 3 nights over the weekend, and it was simply divine. The house is gorgeous, very old fashioned, and as a history buff and vintage dress fanatic, I loved it. The grounds are pretty and well lit, easy for walking back home to after going out for dinner.
The house provides a large kitchen, 2 bedrooms, a large living area and dining area and a bathroom with a double shower. All of these spaces have kept their traditional federation look and feel, but with added contemporary touches. This meant underfloor heating throughout the house, well lit kitchen space with all the mod cons, a very new and fancy bathroom (great hot water pressure!) and heated beds (with high quality linen). Despite its age, the place didn't feel musty or dated at all. And the living room is perfect for watching an episode of "Miss Fisher" with a glass of wine.
We were very close to the main centre of town, but it feels like you're in the middle of nowhere (perfect combo!). And once we confirmed and paid, the owner sent through a long list of local restaurants, cafes and takeaway shops, with detailed descriptions and reviews. This was so nice and definitely useful - we didn't eat badly the entire time!
Very close walk also to the train station - we took the train to Wentworth falls and took the Charles Darwin walk, which was pretty good (we're young and able 20-somethings).
All in all, a lovely stay. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The style and comfort - simply lovely.
Liked least: The light in the bedroom could have been brighter - but this is minor.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing