We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm at a reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kurrara Historic Guest House
Ranked #4 of 19 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra
2 reviews
“Old world charm at a reasonable price”
Reviewed 29 April 2012

My two-night stay at Kurrara was an absolute pleasure. The Lily of the Valley suite was delightful, with its old-fashioned decor, ensuite, TV and DVD player, lots of space to hang up clothes and a very comfortable bed. A word about the DVD player - I noticed that one reviewer said their room did not have one. It's actually built into the side of the TV!

Breakfast was simple but tasty - cereal, toast and a variety of jams and toppings. The dining room is lovely, and I enjoyed sitting out on the verandah with a good book.

With helpful and charming staff, generous space and lots of books, CDs and DVDs to enjoy, I thoroughly recommend Kurrara for a weekend away in the Mountains.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keziah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    99
    18
    9
    20
See reviews for
46
276
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

A soon as we walked in (after hunting for the unlocked door!) we felt like we were being welcomed into someone's home as an honoured guest. Kurrara is delightful. Comfortable, cosy and full of "stuff". No pretensions; a lovely, old, well cared for home. A huge collection of DVDs and books if you're staying long enough to make use of them. Our welcome (we arrived after dinner) included "help yourself to a cuppa or port". How many guest houses leave out a decanter of port for their guests? Our room was small, but pretty, with a pleasant view, and the electric blanket was a welcome addition when we turned in. Breakfast was a large range of cereals, breads and spreads, which you could eat in the sitting room or on the verandah looking out on the leafy garden. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Check the Kurrara website - all the rooms have their own video tour
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianavd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Booked online through their website Saturday.
Called to confirm during business hours - no answer, so left a message.
No response 24 hours later.
Called again on Sunday to confirm - room since booked.

Thanks.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank p n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlueMountainsToni, Manager at Kurrara Historic Guest House, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
When submitting online booking enquiries, a room may be sold in the mean time via an external booking agency, as was the situation in this case (the room sold on Saturday).
The other lovely deluxe spa room, the White Flowers was available and was offered to the customer, we aim to accomadate our guests in every way we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My partner & I stayed at Kurrara for two nights on our way to Victoria. We didn't have a huge budget but were very impressed at the value for money at Kurrara. The nightly rate is great & breakfast was included!
We stayed in the Marguerite Room which was gorgeous, made us feel like we had been transported back decades but still retaining a sense of luxury and comfort. The bed was so comfortable! I loved seeing all of the decor, the house is tastefully furnished.
Elizabeth was very friendly & accommodating, we would highly recommend Kurrara to anyone looking for an inexpensive but still pleasurable stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caitlin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tea Gardens NSW
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2012

House was a bit old but comforting.Just like Grandmares place in years gone by. Close to hotels, cafes, restraurants. Also close to a lot of tourist destinations like Echo Point, scenic world,and Jenolan Caves. We extended our tour to Parksand stayed 1 night there as well returning to do the caves the next day.
Elizabeth and Stephanie were very helpful and obliging. Teriffic people.

Room Tip: Lowers rooms are bigger and more comfortable but also a lot dearer than other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bear B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

My partner and i booked in for one night only but we immediatley decided to stay for 2 nights after seeing our room.It was a double with spa bath and a sun room.We felt so chilled out after doing alot of walking in the mountains,it was the perfect retreat.The house was really quiet at night so we got a great nights sleep too.Lizzy looked after us and she was great.
Breakfast was cereal and toast which was perfect for us and the room was really clean. If we didnt live in the uk we would definatley go back.

Room Tip: ground floor with spa and sun room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicki_2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kelowna, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

My wife and I have travelled extensively over the past 35 years and I can honestly say this is the worst place we have ever stayed! We booked the place on wotif.com and it was rate 4 Star. WHAT A JOKE! We indicated it would be a late arrival, approximately 9 pm. Our GPS took us to the location and it was pitch black, no apparent or visible signs, no lights on at the property and furthermore, the street the property was located was pitch black. We finally lucked out and found the place quite by accident. The parking lot was dark and all the doors appeared locked. There were paper signs plastered on the windows but you could not read them it was so dark. The bigger surprise was when we were finally taken to our room. What a dismal disappointment, nothing like the photos on the site. We upgraded to a "Premium Ensuite" which was to have a TV and DVD Player. The TV didnt work and there was no DVD Player.

Avoid this place at all costs!! The positive reviews must have been written by the owners!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank glenandleslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KurraraHouse, Owner at Kurrara Historic Guest House, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
We regret that your experience at Kurrara Guesthouse did not meet your expectations, but are pleased to advise that Kurrara was recently sold and is under new management. An ambitious program of sustainable refurbishment is now underway with some projects already completed. This beautiful old building has been a guesthouse since 1902 and will continue to provide comfortable accommodation for visitors to the region.

We have received positive feedback from our guests, evidenced by recent reviews, acknowledging that we are on track.

We hope that we may welcome you back some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Katoomba
1.0 km away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
932 reviews
1.0 km away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
577 reviews
9.6 km away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
0.2 km away
Lurline House
Lurline House
#2 of 19 in Katoomba
685 reviews
1.9 km away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurrara Historic Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurrara Historic Guest House

Property: Kurrara Historic Guest House
Address: 17 Coomonderry St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kurrara Historic Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kurrara Guest House was built in 1902 as one of the first guest houses in Katoomba. In 2012, it was handed over to new owners and has undergone a transformation. Our beautiful Mountains Guest House is centrally heated, and offers 3 spa en suites, with 4-poster beds and period furnishings. 5 Upstairs shower en suites are individually decorated and have been recently refurbished. Our guests enjoy relaxing in our communal lounges around Victorian gas log fires and a large screen TV/DVD & library. Enjoy tea & coffee on arrival, and complimentary Port. We offer a full continental breakfast of homemade muesli, cereals, freshly baked bread, fruit, yogurt, and fresh juice. Free wifi is available in all rooms. Kurrara has its own private carpark and off street parking. Situated on a quiet and peaceful corner, surrounded by rhododendrons and mature trees. We are within walking distance to Katoomba town centre and wonderful restaurants, Echo Point and The Three Sisters and the many bushwalks in the surrounding area. We welcome you to stay with us and become part of an 110 year tradition of visitors to Kurrara. You won't want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Kurrara Historic Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurrara Guest House Hotel Katoomba
Kurrara Historic Guest House Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing