We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal mountain getaway within an easy walk to...”
other traveller has booked this property
Varenna is your 5-star self-contained luxury esape in the heart of the Blue Mountain.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Varenna is your 5-star self-contained luxury esape in the heart of the Blue Mountain.
Mountain Whispers winner at the Blue Mountains Regional Business Awards including Hall of Fame. Varenna is your 5-star self-contained luxury esape in the heart of the Blue Mountain.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
147 reviews
Varenna is your 5-star self-contained luxury esape in the heart of the Blue Mountain.
Mountain Whispers winner at the Blue Mountains Regional Business Awards including Hall of Fame.
Varenna is your 5-star self-contained luxury esape in the heart of the Blue Mountain.
NSW Tourism SILVER award winner in luxury accommodation.
Varenna dusted in snow
Queen four-poster master bedroom
Bluebell - second bedroom with four-poster queen bed complete with fine linen
Third queen bedroom complete with fine linen all oozes French chique
Customer Service Hall of Fame winner
Fourth bedroom complete with two single brass beds and fine linen
Every detail matters at Varenna. Fourth bedroom with two single brass beds and fine linen.
Lounge/dining room complete with gas log fireplace bathed in luxury.Prepare to step into yesteryear
Finalist in Customer Service & People's Choice - Awards Australia
Fully equipped Kauri kitchen with all that you'll need to cook up a storm. As used by MKR in 2012.
Antique claw-foot bathroom complete with heated floors and fluffy towels.
Soak your cares away in our second spa bathroom
Complimentary Molton Brown of London toiletries provided.
Enjoy alfresco dining complete with gas BBQ and whilst watching the colourful birdlife feasting
Enjoy tea in the front garden watching the world go by.
The iconic Three Sisters are only minutes away overlooking the Jamison Valley. Feel small again.
Care for a refreshing swim in our pristine waterfalls? They're here ready and waiting for you.
Open every day, Jenolan Caves are the largest, most spectacular and most famous caves in Australia.
Be greeted by many of our colourful locals you'll find feasting in our garden.
Enjoy horse riding, driving a sulky, mountain trail riding all within majestic surrounds.
Autumn in the Blue Mountains is a sight to be seen - always have your camera on hand.
Short drive to Scenic World which is home of the Scenic Railway, Skyway, Cableway & Walkway.
There are so many wonderful bushwalks around the Blue Mountains right on your doorstep.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Leura, Blue Mountains, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 147 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Sharyn_et...
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Ideal mountain getaway within an easy walk to Leura.”
Reviewed June 4, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Varenna is beautifully appointed, immaculate, and presented with pride. We had originally booked a different cottage in Leura for a girls birthday celebration. Unfortunately, the owners of that property double booked and left us stranded. We found Varenna at the 11th hour and were fortunate to be able to make a booking. Lorraine called to ask a few questions about the occasion, including preferences in wine, bread, etc. and then rushed to the house to prepare for our stay. An hour later the house had been made ready for us. Heating on, fridge stocked with wine, milk, bacon and eggs; robes, slippers, and chocolates in the rooms; and port by the fire. After experiencing Lorraine's attention to detail I would confidently book any of her Mountain Whispers properties.

Date of stay: June 2018
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2018
Thank you for your lovely review of Varenna and my services Sharyn. So happy I could assist you at the 11th hour and to assist with making Melissa's milestone birthday a memorable one. We certainly couldn't have the birthday girl unhappy. Very happy to oblige and I certainly look forward to the opportunity to welcome you all back to a Mountain Whispers property in the future. Until then, take care and with thanks again, Lorraine :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
drdixsone...
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“The perfect romance”
Reviewed January 8, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

The property is absolutely magnificent. It was beyond our expectations. It felt like home and we really didn’t want to leave.

The home is warm, inviting and elegant, just magestic!!!

Starting from the moment we arrived and having Michael buble playing...he is our favourite... to the delicious antipasto platter and goodies in the fridge.

In the evenings we would lie in the grass listening to the sounds of wildlife all around us.

We had the best nights sleep in the master bedroom and we cooked up a storm in the fantastic kitchen.

It was absolutely perfect!!

We can’t thank you enough for all your assistance in making this weekend truly unforgettable.

We certainly look forward to returning.

Maria and Andrea XX

Date of stay: January 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2018
Thank you for your review of Varenna, Maria & Andrea. It was a pleasure and thank you for your opportunity to do so. I sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to another Mountain Whispers property in the near future. Take care and have a lovely New Year, Lorraine :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JXXK
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed September 23, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

As soon as you step in side this beautiful house, you feel instantly relaxed as you are greeted by music playing and port, wine and chocolates on the living room table. The location is a few minutes walk from the station so easy to get to if you travel by train like we did. There are plenty of provisions in the kitchen for tea, coffee, hot chocolate which you can enjoy relaxing by the open fire in the spacious living room once night sets in and it gets colder. The house is beautifully decorated and has everything you need for a relaxing weekend. As well as being close to the station, it is not far to walk into town for shops or places to eat. This was out third stay here and we have loved it every time. I am sure we will be back.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2017
Thank you for your lovely review of Varenna and my services Jeanette. It's always a pleasure welcoming my guests who become repeats who keep coming back - we love that! Sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to Varenna or another Mountain Whispers property in the near future. Take care and with thanks, Lorraine :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nejaim201...
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Making Family Memories”
Reviewed September 13, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

All six of our family (three generations) arrived at Varenna on a cool winter's afternoon for a return visit. We opened the front door to a wonderfully warm and welcoming home once again. The lights were switched on, as well as the heating and relaxing music was playing quietly in the background. After our trip from the city it was so thoughtful to find afternoon tea ready in the kitchen.
All the facilities are perfect and the very comfortable beds induced a perfect night's sleep for all. Our granddaughters were thrilled with their own beautiful room with their favourite packets of sweeties on their beds. We did enjoy the bountiful supply of fresh eggs, bacon, toasting bread and tea and coffee which is very adequate for several lingering breakfasts. Many thanks Lorraine for the French champagne for my hsuband's birthday. The position of Varenna is ideal and a short walk to the village of Leura.
The garden is enchanting too and we all enjoyed exploring it's little nooks and crannies.
Thank you so much Lorraine for a wonderful return stay. Can't think of anywhere that we would rather return to.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2017
Thank you for your returned family visit Helen to celebrate Vincent's birthday. It's always such a pleasure to welcome guests and when they become repeats, it oh so humbling. Thank you for your lovely review and I sincerely look forward to welcoming you all back once again. Until then, take care and with warmest regards, Lorraine :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex K
Marsfield, Australia
1 review
“Perhaps the most beautiful house in the blue mountains”
Reviewed April 29, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Stunning house with a beautiful garden. Could easily spend an hour just walking around the house and checking out all the great little decorations, ornaments, statues etc. Didn't even want to leave the house. Great shops just down the road with lots of cool things to buy for your home.

Plenty of extra comforts such as heated floors in the bathroom. Option of a personal chef was nice. Lorraine is very easy to deal with. Already planning a return.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Apr 2017
Thank you for choosing Varenna and the Blue Mountains as the perfect location to pop the BIG proposal question Alex. So pleased for you both and wish you all the happiness in the world. I sincerely look forward to welcoming you back perhaps for your pre-Wedding plans. Take care and with thanks, Lorraine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken S
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic old world charm in a great location”
Reviewed April 23, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

If you want to stay in Leura, you cannot do better than Varenna. Perfect location with a walk to everything in Leura Mall. The house is fully featured, very comfortable and the host, Lorraine, is very welcoming and accommodating to your needs. This was a great find!

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2017
Thank you for your lovely review of Varenna and my services Ken. It certainly was a pleasure to have welcomed you and your family over the Easter long weekend. Sincerely look forward to the opportunity to welcome you all back in near future. Until then, take care and with warmest thanks, Lorraine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M
Kenthurst, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb”
Reviewed December 13, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Fabulous property, Lorraine's attention to detail is stunning. Lovely house, great decor and excellent location just a few minutes walk from Leura.
The food supplied was great quality and very generous quantities.
We enjoyed just relaxing in the house and exploring all the fabulous decor. Great place for a couple or sharing with friends.

Date of stay: November 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Dec 2016
Thank you for your lovely review of Mountain Whispers and my services Linda. It certainly was a pleasure welcoming your group of lovely ladies to Varenna with all the wondering pampering as well. Wishing you and your family a wonderful Festive Season and hope to welcome you all back very soon. Take care, Lorraine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
US$USD
Canada (English)
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.